Quick Develop edits saved automatically (LR3)?


electron

New Member
Jan 11, 2008
577
0
0
#1
Say I do some adjustments to exposure, clarity, presets, etc in the Library Module of Lightroom (3), if i then close Lightroom will these edits be automatically saved? That is to say if i reopen LR, will the 'adjusted' Jpeg still be there or will the untouched jpeg appear? I know how to 'export' edited Jpegs to another folder but just wondering what happens if i do nothing after editing then closing Lightroom. SOrry for newbie question - i did a bunch of edits and now wondering if i should close LR! (Btw can they be saved by backing up the catalog?)
 

Gengh

New Member
May 6, 2007
1,984
0
0
Florida
#2
I believe that LR would treat jpgs just like raw files? So whatever changes you made should be automatically saved in the catalogue file that is currently in use or the sidecar files. The original jpgs will still be untouched, while in LR you can see the changes that you have made. No extra saving/backing up necessary.

At least that's my understanding, no experience working with jpg in LR yet.
 

Michael

New Member
Apr 5, 2005
829
0
0
47
Thailand
www.pbase.com
#3
All edits are automatically saved into the catalogue. You close LR and reopen it and you will find things the way you left them. The original jpeg is not touched.
 

electron

New Member
Jan 11, 2008
577
0
0
#4
I believe that LR would treat jpgs just like raw files? So whatever changes you made should be automatically saved in the catalogue file that is currently in use or the sidecar files. The original jpgs will still be untouched, while in LR you can see the changes that you have made. No extra saving/backing up necessary.

At least that's my understanding, no experience working with jpg in LR yet.
All edits are automatically saved into the catalogue. You close LR and reopen it and you will find things the way you left them. The original jpeg is not touched.
Thanks guys, thats exactly what i wanted to know! So now i don't have to worry about saving my edited photos separately. However, it would be nice if i could see the adjusted photos and the original ones side by side but that's another story.
 

Gengh

New Member
May 6, 2007
1,984
0
0
Florida
#5
Thanks guys, thats exactly what i wanted to know! So now i don't have to worry about saving my edited photos separately. However, it would be nice if i could see the adjusted photos and the original ones side by side but that's another story.
You could make a virtual copy in LR, and make your edits on just the virtual copy, so you have both versions in the catalogue. Or just use the before/after view in LR if you don't really need to keep both versions.
 

electron

New Member
Jan 11, 2008
577
0
0
#6
You could make a virtual copy in LR, and make your edits on just the virtual copy, so you have both versions in the catalogue. Or just use the before/after view in LR if you don't really need to keep both versions.
I just checked how to create virtual copies and once again it's exactly what i wanted it to do! I'm loving LR more and more. THanks for the suggestion Gengh!
 

Gengh

New Member
May 6, 2007
1,984
0
0
Florida
#7

Michael

New Member
Apr 5, 2005
829
0
0
47
Thailand
www.pbase.com
#8
No need to do virtual copies. Just hit the backslash key and it shows you the original. Hit the Y (?) key and it goes into comparison mode and shows by default the imported version. You can also set a later version if the edit fir comparison
 

electron

New Member
Jan 11, 2008
577
0
0
#9
You're welcome. :) I'm also quite new to LR, there're really quite a lot of neat stuff you can do with it! You may find these websites useful:
http://tv.adobe.com/product/lightroom/
http://kelbytv.com/lightroomkillertips/
Thanks again Gengh, Im watching the videos even as i speak (type!)

No need to do virtual copies. Just hit the backslash key and it shows you the original. Hit the Y (?) key and it goes into comparison mode and shows by default the imported version. You can also set a later version if the edit fir comparison
When I press the backslash key, all it does is 'deselect active photo' :dunno:
Also, when i press the compare view I can't get the before and after to show side by side. It always shows two different photos. Must be doing something wrong but don't knw what!
 

Oct 14, 2006
43
0
6
#10
You need to be in the develop module when u press Y if u want to see the before and after side by side. Same for the backslash
 

Michael

New Member
Apr 5, 2005
829
0
0
47
Thailand
www.pbase.com
#11
You need to be in the develop module when u press Y if u want to see the before and after side by side. Same for the backslash
Yes you need to be in Develop Module. When using Y, have the taskbar ( T ) active as well so you can choose different comparison modes.
 

electron

New Member
Jan 11, 2008
577
0
0
#12
You need to be in the develop module when u press Y if u want to see the before and after side by side. Same for the backslash
Yes you need to be in Develop Module. When using Y, have the taskbar ( T ) active as well so you can choose different comparison modes.
Thanks guys. As you said I went to the Develop Module and the 'Y Y' comparison view now works. But the '/' (backslash) still goes to 'No Photo Selected' or 'No Active Photo'. Never mind at least virtual copy works!
 

Top Bottom