Question about max Aperture


Status
Not open for further replies.

ombre

Senior Member
Sep 3, 2008
1,458
0
36
#1
Hi guys, I was given a lens and its supposed to be F4-5.6 (Canon 22-55)

I couldn't get the Aperture up to F4 even at the widest focal length, is there a problem with my lens or body? Or what am I missing out? I'm on a 350D
 

PyeeL

New Member
Sep 3, 2008
606
0
0
26
#2
At the widest focal length that the lens is capable of, the maximum aperture of the lens is correspondently F/4.
If you're asking how to go for a wider aperture (lower F number), then it wouldn't be possible.

Maybe your camera has its aperture set to a higher value, you could press the exposure compensation button and turn the dial at the same time. The numbers should change.
 

ombre

Senior Member
Sep 3, 2008
1,458
0
36
#3
Apologies, I left out some crucial points.

At f=22, I couldn't get the aperture lower than F5.6, I was under the impression that it should be able to go down to F4.
 

Flashbulb

New Member
Jun 20, 2008
530
0
0
#4
for F4 should be 22mm, were you using manual or autofocus?
 

ombre

Senior Member
Sep 3, 2008
1,458
0
36
#5
for F4 should be 22mm, were you using manual or autofocus?
I tried both.

Its just stuck at F5.6, I can go up.. like F32 but not down to F4 (at 22mm)
 

Flashbulb

New Member
Jun 20, 2008
530
0
0
#6
for my 18-55mm, it has no problem reaching f/3.6 at 18mm on Manual mode.

check your camera settings.
 

Jul 27, 2008
472
0
0
Singapore
www.flickr.com
#8
Relax...try the following:

1) Move the lens to the Widest or shortest focal length.
2) Under Manual Settings, check if you have manually overidden the lens aperture through the camera itself. i.e. there is a aperture dial on the camera body itself. lower it.

Voila~ you have the lowest aperture.

Hope this helps.
 

Flashbulb

New Member
Jun 20, 2008
530
0
0
#9
Relax...try the following:

1) Move the lens to the Widest or shortest focal length.
2) Under Manual Settings, check if you have manually overidden the lens aperture through the camera itself. i.e. there is a aperture dial on the camera body itself. lower it.

Voila~ you have the lowest aperture.

Hope this helps.
but interesting question...supposing still cannot get, can it be resolved at Canon Service Center and likely how much would it cost?
 

ombre

Senior Member
Sep 3, 2008
1,458
0
36
#11
Relax...try the following:

1) Move the lens to the Widest or shortest focal length.
2) Under Manual Settings, check if you have manually overidden the lens aperture through the camera itself. i.e. there is a aperture dial on the camera body itself. lower it.

Voila~ you have the lowest aperture.

Hope this helps.
what aperture dial on the body itself? Do you mean the command dial? I know how to lower the aperture normally, but in this case it just refuses to go where I want it to.

I'm starting to conclude that its the lens at fault... possible damage?
 

Jul 27, 2008
472
0
0
Singapore
www.flickr.com
#12
Relax...try the following:

1) Move the lens to the Widest or shortest focal length.
2) Under Manual Settings, check if you have manually overidden the lens aperture through the camera itself. i.e. there is a aperture dial on the camera body itself. lower it.

Voila~ you have the lowest aperture.

Hope this helps.
Ok~ Basically, if i am not wrong,

1) there is a AV+/- button next to the LCD screen, then pressing that, turn the top dial. (this is done in the Manual mode.)
2) an easier option would be to set the the setting to Aperture Priority/ AV Mode and then lower the aperture from the top dial.

If the above does not work...... God Bless~ you will then have have the following two options:

1) Go to CSC if the repair costs aren't great.
2) You must be glad that u have seen the other pretty lens you wanted the other day~
 

Flashbulb

New Member
Jun 20, 2008
530
0
0
#13
2) You must be glad that u have seen the other pretty lens you wanted the other day~

hahaha..classic!
 

ombre

Senior Member
Sep 3, 2008
1,458
0
36
#14
Took me very long to register number 2.

Well yes haha, I'm getting myself a 20mm F1.8. So I really don't know what to do with this lens now. lol.
 

Flashbulb

New Member
Jun 20, 2008
530
0
0
#16
Took me very long to register number 2.

Well yes haha, I'm getting myself a 20mm F1.8. So I really don't know what to do with this lens now. lol.
if under warranty can try send for service. call CSC tmw.
 

ombre

Senior Member
Sep 3, 2008
1,458
0
36
#17
not under warranty, I dont think I wanna service also. Was given by this very nice gentlemen who threw it in free on top of his very cheap 350D because I was a student. Actually the lens has fungus too, but it doesn't show up on the pics. So no point trying to repair it I guess. I just wanted to know if the aperture problem has any concern with the body. Imagine if I get a F1.8 lens and can't go below F5.6? ...
 

maximize

Senior Member
Jun 14, 2008
854
0
16
#18
i believe its ur setting. you shld read the manual on the aperature and aperature mode... btw how long you been using ur 350d?
 

ombre

Senior Member
Sep 3, 2008
1,458
0
36
#19
i believe its ur setting. you shld read the manual on the aperature and aperature mode... btw how long you been using ur 350d?
Hi maximize, I remember you. =X

I believe its my camera. I just bought a 20mm F1.8 and I am able to bring it all the way down to F1.8, since the other lens seems to be in bad condition, I shall just assume that its simply not working. Oh well.
 

Apr 15, 2008
2,291
0
0
Singapore, east-ish
#20
Hi maximize, I remember you. =X

I believe its my camera. I just bought a 20mm F1.8 and I am able to bring it all the way down to F1.8, since the other lens seems to be in bad condition, I shall just assume that its simply not working. Oh well.
well, you got it free anyway right? haha :)
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom