Query on telephoto lens

Status
Not open for further replies.

maisatomai

Deregistered
Oct 26, 2006
Hi, I am a newbie in DSLR. Recently purchased a canon DSLR and a canon fixed 50mm lens. When I try to shoot the street (the street will consist of below me using the 50mm lens f1.8 at night @ ISO 1600, I will get shutter speed of 1s. I am just wondering if I buy a tamron 200-500mm and aim at the street (so that the street will fill more of the frame), will I get a faster shutter speed? But I quite worried that the tamron @ its max zoom is f6.3.

Legoz

Mar 7, 2008
Hi, I am a newbie in DSLR. Recently purchased a canon DSLR and a canon fixed 50mm lens. When I try to shoot the street (the street will consist of below me using the 50mm lens f1.8 at night @ ISO 1600, I will get shutter speed of 1s. I am just wondering if I buy a tamron 200-500mm and aim at the street (so that the street will fill more of the frame), will I get a faster shutter speed? But I quite worried that the tamron @ its max zoom is f6.3.

if u just wanna fill the frame, why dont you crop?

Regards

Oct 11, 2006
Little Red Dot
maybe you should try changing to spot metering and target the area you want to shoot? Not sure if that will help though.. the experts here may have more ideas :)

maisatomai

Deregistered
Oct 26, 2006
if u just wanna fill the frame, why dont you crop?

Regards
Yes, can crop but cropping still give me such a slow shutter speed. My question is if I buy a tamron 200-500mm (which will fill more of the street in the frame), will I have a higher shutter speed since the street is lighted whereas when I use a 50mm lens, the camera is taking in consideration the dark sky+a little of the street (which explain the low shutter speed). Hope is not too confusing :):) sorry for my english.

nixontkl

Nov 12, 2007
Punggol
nixontang.multiply.com