Query on telephoto lens


Status
Not open for further replies.

maisatomai

Deregistered
Oct 26, 2006
357
0
0
#1
Hi, I am a newbie in DSLR. Recently purchased a canon DSLR and a canon fixed 50mm lens. When I try to shoot the street (the street will consist of below me using the 50mm lens f1.8 at night @ ISO 1600, I will get shutter speed of 1s. I am just wondering if I buy a tamron 200-500mm and aim at the street (so that the street will fill more of the frame), will I get a faster shutter speed? But I quite worried that the tamron @ its max zoom is f6.3.
 

Legoz

New Member
Mar 7, 2008
1,003
0
0
#2
Hi, I am a newbie in DSLR. Recently purchased a canon DSLR and a canon fixed 50mm lens. When I try to shoot the street (the street will consist of below me using the 50mm lens f1.8 at night @ ISO 1600, I will get shutter speed of 1s. I am just wondering if I buy a tamron 200-500mm and aim at the street (so that the street will fill more of the frame), will I get a faster shutter speed? But I quite worried that the tamron @ its max zoom is f6.3.

if u just wanna fill the frame, why dont you crop?

Regards
 

Oct 11, 2006
347
0
16
Little Red Dot
#3
maybe you should try changing to spot metering and target the area you want to shoot? Not sure if that will help though.. the experts here may have more ideas :)
 

maisatomai

Deregistered
Oct 26, 2006
357
0
0
#4
if u just wanna fill the frame, why dont you crop?

Regards
Yes, can crop but cropping still give me such a slow shutter speed. My question is if I buy a tamron 200-500mm (which will fill more of the street in the frame), will I have a higher shutter speed since the street is lighted whereas when I use a 50mm lens, the camera is taking in consideration the dark sky+a little of the street (which explain the low shutter speed). Hope is not too confusing :):) sorry for my english.
 

nixontkl

New Member
Nov 12, 2007
585
0
0
Punggol
nixontang.multiply.com
#5
Yes, can crop but cropping still give me such a slow shutter speed. My question is if I buy a tamron 200-500mm (which will fill more of the street in the frame), will I have a higher shutter speed since the street is lighted whereas when I use a 50mm lens, the camera is taking in consideration the dark sky+a little of the street (which explain the low shutter speed). Hope is not too confusing :):) sorry for my english.
if u are using aperture mode, controlling your aperture while letting the camera select the shutter speed and u got 1s while the actual interest in that frame is litted quite well. then you should change your metering mode.

i suspect u are using metric metering thus the brightness of the entire frame is taken into consideration, but since u interested in only the street, use spot metering on the street. you should get a faster shutter speed
 

crapex

New Member
Aug 11, 2007
253
0
0
#6
try switching to spot metering.. and i dont think a tighter lens helps, a faster f1.2 lens might do you good tho! :)
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#7
if you are using f1.8, 1sec and getting a correct exposure, how to get a faster shutter with a smaller aperture still able to get a correct exposure?
 

Diavonex

Senior Member
Sep 23, 2008
3,641
0
0
Admiralty
#8
With a 50mm lens, you can still get the exposure right for which-ever area you want by using exposure compensation (i.e. EV +/-)

The only thing you can't do is to zoom in close with your standard lens.
 

ahbian

Senior Member
May 23, 2006
2,467
0
0
#9
Seems like you want
1)a long lens with large aperture + your current camera
2) a long lens with not as large an aperture + a camera with good noise control at very high ISO

I think both will not come cheap.
 

Lomographer

Senior Member
Apr 27, 2009
2,047
0
0
Paterson Road
#10
Seems like you want
1)a long lens with large aperture + your current camera
2) a long lens with not as large an aperture + a camera with good noise control at very high ISO

I think both will not come cheap.
Definitely won't.

However, if at the moment you have no budget,

You can try a tripod first to compensate your slow lens or body with poor noise control.
 

daredevil123

Moderator
Staff member
Oct 25, 2005
21,660
68
48
lil red dot
#11
Dear TS,

This is why some of us spend so much for tripods. For exactly the situation you are facing. All you need now is a tripod and a remote shutter controller (be it wired or wireless).
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom