Quadro or FireGL


Status
Not open for further replies.

tunster

New Member
Oct 26, 2003
1,452
0
0
36
Hong Kong
antony.sofohk.com
#2
Graphic card won't affect your editing speed. It only affects your gaming. Any NEW card in the market (fast or slow) will be just as good.
 

Del_CtrlnoAlt

Senior Member
Feb 15, 2003
16,268
0
0
Outside the Dry Box.
Visit site
#3
tunster said:
Graphic card won't affect your editing speed. It only affects your gaming. Any NEW card in the market (fast or slow) will be just as good.
erm... these are not gaming cards... i tried on my 64bit, X800, seem awfully slow if i were to render a image at home... and imagine i'm just going to render a 3D image as 2D takes me an hour... so was thinking if i get a workstation type of graphics card, will it help?
 

Verywierd

New Member
May 29, 2005
242
0
0
#4
Are you talking about rendering images on something like 3D Max or Bryce? That type of rendering is sheer number crunching and the graphics card is only of limited help in speeding the process up.
 

Del_CtrlnoAlt

Senior Member
Feb 15, 2003
16,268
0
0
Outside the Dry Box.
Visit site
#5
Verywierd said:
Are you talking about rendering images on something like 3D Max or Bryce? That type of rendering is sheer number crunching and the graphics card is only of limited help in speeding the process up.
ya something like 3Dmax, i am using another software...

so graphics card limited help, whats the best thing to get to speed up? :think:
 

art2d3d

Senior Member
Dec 15, 2003
1,305
1
38
#7
What 3d software u using?
Different 3D softwares work faster this than that other chipsets.
 

ortega

Moderator
Staff member
Nov 2, 2004
23,694
10
38
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
#9
workstation graphic accelerators are different from gaming cards
they provide hardware accelerated rendering specific for CAD/CAM software.

Of course Processor and ram helps as well. But the graphic accelerator also
plays a part, where got workstation with gaming video card?
 

Del_CtrlnoAlt

Senior Member
Feb 15, 2003
16,268
0
0
Outside the Dry Box.
Visit site
#11
ortega said:
find out what works best with the software of your choice.
dedicated drivers for your software
I bought Sketch 5, overall no problem, unless i increase the polygon count, like dome normal is 9, i increase to 50, den i will see lagging.. otherwise its fine... on their site, they recommend using nvidia... seem to have some problems with ATI, but for me so far so good

i gotten the Vue demo, den i tried to render the background and a car from the samples. the rendering at Ultra is damn slow... normal rendering is fast... just that want those high quality output is slow...

maybe i go increase my ram to 4gig 1st...
 

Oct 11, 2005
174
0
0
#12
maybe you would want to invest in a dual core processor if you have the budget to?
heard that these processors (as they have two cores) are much faster in things like video editing, image editing, video encoding etc.
 

Oct 11, 2005
174
0
0
#13
Del_CtrlnoAlt said:
I bought Sketch 5, overall no problem, unless i increase the polygon count, like dome normal is 9, i increase to 50, den i will see lagging.. otherwise its fine... on their site, they recommend using nvidia... seem to have some problems with ATI, but for me so far so good

i gotten the Vue demo, den i tried to render the background and a car from the samples. the rendering at Ultra is damn slow... normal rendering is fast... just that want those high quality output is slow...

maybe i go increase my ram to 4gig 1st...
are you sure your motherboard supports up to 4gig? most mobos only support 2gig max. also, it won't make a significant difference once past 2gig. the jump in performance from like 128mb to 1gig is alot, but once u have 2gig, the difference is minimal.
 

glensky

New Member
Aug 11, 2004
758
0
0
49
#15
Del_CtrlnoAlt said:
I bought Sketch 5, overall no problem, unless i increase the polygon count, like dome normal is 9, i increase to 50, den i will see lagging.. otherwise its fine... on their site, they recommend using nvidia... seem to have some problems with ATI, but for me so far so good

i gotten the Vue demo, den i tried to render the background and a car from the samples. the rendering at Ultra is damn slow... normal rendering is fast... just that want those high quality output is slow...

maybe i go increase my ram to 4gig 1st...
ive been using 3d lab graphic card.for over a year.happy abt it.does it help?..it does.but i think e overall performance of ur pc is directly in proportion to ur rendering time.Vue program is more of an environmental 3d package..so ur toking about raytracing all e object on ur scene 360 degrees.im sure there is a setting for the rendering and raytracing.:lovegrin:
 

kitkat

New Member
Mar 5, 2005
568
0
0
#16
Del_CtrlnoAlt said:
I bought Sketch 5, overall no problem, unless i increase the polygon count, like dome normal is 9, i increase to 50, den i will see lagging.. otherwise its fine... on their site, they recommend using nvidia... seem to have some problems with ATI, but for me so far so good

i gotten the Vue demo, den i tried to render the background and a car from the samples. the rendering at Ultra is damn slow... normal rendering is fast... just that want those high quality output is slow...

maybe i go increase my ram to 4gig 1st...
HI DCA,

I am doing some rendering , find that upping the RAM and dual processor helps. you may consider network rendering to speed up stuff.

It depends greatly what hardware your rendering software is optimise for.
 

Beserk

New Member
Jul 14, 2005
523
0
0
Tampines
www.flickr.com
#17
the graphic card only helps to speed up your viewing of your model when u are doing a quick shading or rotating your camera angle, especially when your wireframe models are heavy. a slow card results in jerkyness when rotating or zooming camera angle. fast rendering depends on ram and cpu. do note not all 3D programs support dual processing.
 

Hoky

New Member
Mar 17, 2004
1,182
0
0
Singapore
hoky.multiply.com
#19
Del_CtrlnoAlt said:
New to this...

Anybody know which is better? and for beginners with limited budget (for learning) which card is better, in AGP or PCI express.
These graphic accelerators (quadro Pro, FireGL) are meant for workstation, most of the time for MCAD software like Pro/Engineer, Unigraphics, Catia... etc.
 

Ian

Senior Member
Feb 20, 2002
2,548
0
0
56
Perth Australia
#20
Del_CtrlnoAlt said:
New to this...

Anybody know which is better? and for beginners with limited budget (for learning) which card is better, in AGP or PCI express.
Frankly for 3D animation work you need more Horsepower in the CPU and RAM department first. A couple of clients of mine who do animaiton work professionally swear by the Matrox Parhelia cards for general animation work and also for their accuracy when creating mapping textures in 2D using PhotoShop.

AGP or PCI-E makes little difference until you get in to real workstation level cards and they cost a lot of $$.

Ian
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom