Qn from PS newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

taymw

Nov 21, 2004
J.W, Singapore
Would like to ask from all the PS gurus here, I've a slight problem. I'm relatively new to PS and I'm trying out some stuffs.

How do I create a border template, where I can in future, open this template & drag the picture I want into this template? Thus, resulting in the picture having a border. Coz I'll like to use that specific border everytime.

And 2ndly, if the size of the template is much smaller (eg, 500 x 340) than the picture taken from my camera (eg, 2240 x 1488), how to I make the picture fit into that small template of mine? How do I go about cropping it & dragging it into my template?

Erm, hope you guys can understand what I'm trying to say here, coz I'm not very good in expressing. :sweat:

Anyway, thanks for reading & for your help! Very much appreciated! ;)

taymw said:
Would like to ask from all the PS gurus here, I've a slight problem. I'm relatively new to PS and I'm trying out some stuffs.

How do I create a border template, where I can in future, open this template & drag the picture I want into this template? Thus, resulting in the picture having a border. Coz I'll like to use that specific border everytime.

I think you just pretty much answered your own question. By your description I assume you already know how to make a border, just save it as an 'empty' template (PSD format) with the same dimensions of your final output, e.g. 500 x 340. To put in the photo into your template, just drag and drop the layer from your photograph to the template or do a copy and paste.

Be sure to save the result (border + photo) in a separate file instead of overwriting your template (use "File"->"Save As") - output as JPEG (use "File"->"Save for Web" instead if you are output for web display) or whatever format that suits your need.