Pulau Tekong - wat happened ?

ranger

Jan 21, 2003
hiya all,

past and present, good or bad, i'm sure every male citizens who's been to Tekong for NS will have something to share with others ...

SO LET"S DO IT ............ :)

this is mine :

from 93-94

1. a beautiful stretch of beach which you can climb down from a slope near the instructor bunks of camp 1.
> nice clean beach facing the ocean, lots of fish esp stingrays

2. a hill at camp 3 something like receiving signal or wat, nice place of green overseeing a lot of places

3. doing duties at camp 1 weekend. happen to have the annual aeroplane show at Changi. can see clearly the stunts with really bird's eye view

no such things as Thu no trainings. but do heard some recruits with special sight can see things in the forest.

:D :D :D :D :D

Long long forgotten, I am the last batch belongs to ITD. The new batch start with BTS.

Last quater of 1991 having BMT there, just mere 10 weeks.

My NS stretched from 1991-1994 ... 2yrs5mths ;)

1984 - dunno what month and day
went to tekong for 2 weeks field exercise...
bought 2 cartons of ciggies (softpacks), plus a pack of DRUM tobacco...all finished...

also did coastal hook from marine parade to tekong, on an amphibious vehicle (the Duck) and ended up there for few days exercise...main purpose was to feed the mosquitoes... ;( :complain:

anyone went to the hot spring at tekong, heard quite dirty and swampy. saw in phot but never been there.

oh yeh, at oil palm plantation near fibua area, lots of wild boar moving in herds.

this is mine from 97.

1) Posted to camp 3. Saw the six storey building really low morale. Thank God i 4th storey. Pity those fellas on the fifth and sixth.

2) 1st guard duty saw a family of wild boars running across the road at night. After posted to unit went to TK for A tec. I was sleeping on a stretcher near a jeep and a wild boar came as close to me around 2m. My platoon mates was goin to take out an ET stick to throw at it before it ran away. Of course i din know a thingie until they told me.

3) Will not forget the RPs at jetty always finding chance to tekan the new recruits.

Did my BMT at 3BTS Nee Soon but we went to Tekong for one of our field camps. Dunno which part of Tekong but the bunks there power. No mattress on the bed one. Just sleep on the floor. And the toilet all the flush not working, so you take a deep breath, dash in, do wat you have to do, then rush out gasping for air!

Place was muddy like hell. By the evening of day 1 already my boots were coated with mud all the way up to above the ankles. Half of the taps were labelled "non potable water". It sucked big time.

Mine 1990. Camp 3. Always kena stay back on saturday morning to do s.o.c...cos I always failed to clear the "low wall".

Still went there occasionally on mission exe after being posted to infantry unit either by coastal hook, heli insert or more commonly by "super fiat".

I was one of the last recruits of the 'Old Tekong'. Was posted to Camp 3 in Jan 97' as a blur recruit and then later on as a specialist.

1) Recruit: Eating old cookhouse food, by genuine SAF cooks. Rice hard and lumpy, you could throw it at the enemy and still win the war. Living on the 6th floor of Camp 3, with 40 men in a single room (the photos remind me of jail). Toughest company some more.

2) Specialist: Spending my 20th birthday as a specialist on an exercise in Tekong. Huddled under a basha, pouring rain, trying to save my cigarette. Dropping my instant mee while harbouring, having a huuge wild boar eating it barely 4 metres away from me when I was standing-to.

3) ORD: 5 days to ORD, without license stole the rover on a weekend COS day, and took the rover for a spin. Slacking and playing PS with the other COSes in their company line. Climb up to the roof of my company, watch the sunset.

Me practically whole NS in Tekong.
92-94 BMT in camp 3 then posted back there after pass out..

A lot of funny stuff like toilets that are permanently locked up, bunks with extra door that is used as storeroom only etc etc ...

Been to the hotsprings before.. long way in and eventually just a small bubbling pool... lucky got some wooden walkway thingy I think.

Wandering around the northen side (I think) during training.. got a lot of those big shiny spiders the size of a frisbee :p

Served BMT at P. Tekong beginning Sep 88 and returned there as a Vehicle Mechanic in Camp 2 (CCO Tekong) until ROD in Mar 1991.

Have you tasted Tekong durians? They are so good that the Sergeants would not tell us where they got them from. There was once, a fellow mechanic returned to the workshop with almost a full Land Rover load of the fruit. To prevent the smell from escaping the nose of the RPs at the jetty, some would even tape steadfastly the sides of their containers containing the fruit when leaving the island.

If you are out collecting the fruit at night, beware! No, not due to the wild boars but be careful of the fruit from falling onto your unprotected head, unless you put on a helmet!

my BMT was in dec11 1997, PTP batch coz i failed running in school days. those guys of my batch who didnt have to go PTP, they enlisted in late jan 1998.

pulau tekong i went there for field training during SISPEC(that time still @ Pasir laba); and during 2nd year in unit (armoured infantry battalion) for 300m life firing. that one..i missed marksman by 7 shots :angry: :bsmilie:

but given a choice...i wouldnt go to tekong on my own :p :cool:

haha.. sian.. going NS end of this yr after a levels.. or january i guess...

junyang said:
haha.. sian.. going NS end of this yr after a levels.. or january i guess...

Look on the bright side, it really is much much better then last time (I did 2 reservists there as well so I know). At least you dun need to march 2/3 km to Camp I/III everytime you book in. And they use fastcraft now so no more RPL I think, sitting in the sun/rain/whatever.

P.S. Yes tasted Tekong durian before... went out to pick with my OC and CSM in the morning... also got a lot of those round mangoes ard Camp I parade square.. used to pluck then get sugar, dark soy sauce and chilli from cookhouse to eat it with... :bsmilie:

wantunn said:
Me practically whole NS in Tekong.
92-94 BMT in camp 3 then posted back there after pass out..

A lot of funny stuff like toilets that are permanently locked up, bunks with extra door that is used as storeroom only etc etc ...

Been to the hotsprings before.. long way in and eventually just a small bubbling pool... lucky got some wooden walkway thingy I think.

Wandering around the northen side (I think) during training.. got a lot of those big shiny spiders the size of a frisbee :p

hi wantunn,

we could be same batch. i also nearly whole ns in tekong :

>BMT in delta, then Amoy Qwee camp, then sispec, went back tekong foxtrot (commander trainees batch), then finally in delta.

last time book in at night may need to match in as company back to camp 1, same for book out may need to walk out.

take rpl if book in with recruits, otherwise take bum boats at early morning from changi. if take rpl always climb upstairs outside control rm sit down, enjoy breeze and chitchat.

eating durians - BOS duty together with guard commanders take spotlight and went to roadside near camp 1 cookhouse wait for durian drop.

if after report RSM morning after duty, sire will go camp 3 canteen makan the roti prata.

oh yeh, anyone knows or see 2 dolphins at the jetty at fibua area. can sometimes see the fins at faraway whenever do road march.

memories keep coming, any more from you guys ! :bsmilie:

BMT 99 Dec Gryphon Coy.

SISPEC 00 Apr Delta Coy

spent 6-7months on the island.. been to every corner and took a pee :p

feel like being in chalet.. well i was lucky.. both my camps were new and we had King Coil Mattress and the new cabinet, food was better compared to my brother's time.

Have to admit i abit siao on in BMT,, but posted to SISPEC i give up.. haha
Suffer In Silence but Please Endure and Carry on.

been to the hot spring,, in the day time not too bad,, nite time.. the hot spring creates mist.. then when the wind blows.. EeeeeeeEEeeeee :p the floor there is all muddy and soggy.. cannot really walk.

well i got lucky.. being a slacker i was posted to the airforce.. some of my friends went on to ASLC on tekong and then posted to BMT as Sect coms.. crap 2.5yrs spent on that island..

those entering army should not worry lah.. if i can survive the army.. anyone else can! :p

durians.. wait till you try sembawang airbase's durian.. got around 20 over durian trees.. everytime season eat until i pee durian.. red meat, bitter durian..

For me i dun have much chance to go tekong, my BMT was at Nee Soon Camp, SISPEC & Sniper course was at PLC. I only went to tekong probably less than dozen times during my whole 2.5 years.

Used to bring a P&S with me and shoot during training or exercise ;p Too bad now go back ICT cannot bring cam. Anyway, the most memorable was combat survival training at tekong and also went to river side near reclaim land to catch cockle

shell.jpg

These gaint cockle are as huge as a tennis ball, and they are live one! Just soak in warm water to remove the salt water, then open it up, put lemon juice, chilli and eat RAW!

the flesh is bigger than an egg after u remove the shell, at first quite er xin to eat such a huge cockle raw, but later found that it taste really fresh, clean and no sand inside. Eat a few already full.

I remember my finger was cut quite badly when i went inside the river to collect these cockle. The mud was soft and the mud was waist knee level already. On our way back, i was the last man becos i was greedy and still digging for bigger ones, but i lost my balance and fall inside the mud ;( when i tried to stand up the mud already reach my waist level. I can't move and shout for help but my platton mate tot i am playing a fool and ignore me ;( I struggle somemore and i sank until the mud reach my chest level!

I stuck there for quite sometimes, until some of them already reach the shore, then they notice that i was stuck and come rescue me :embrass:

Wai said:
For me i dun have much chance to go tekong, my BMT was at Nee Soon Camp, SISPEC & Sniper course was at PLC. I only went to tekong probably less than dozen times during my whole 2.5 years.

Used to bring a P&S with me and shoot during training or exercise ;p Too bad now go back ICT cannot bring cam. Anyway, the most memorable was combat survival training at tekong and also went to river side near reclaim land to catch cockle

shell.jpg

These gaint cockle are as huge as a tennis ball, and they are live one! Just soak in warm water to remove the salt water, then open it up, put lemon juice, chilli and eat RAW!

the flesh is bigger than an egg after u remove the shell, at first quite er xin to eat such a huge cockle raw, but later found that it taste really fresh, clean and no sand inside. Eat a few already full.

I remember my finger was cut quite badly when i went inside the river to collect these cockle. The mud was soft and the mud was waist knee level already. On our way back, i was the last man becos i was greedy and still digging for bigger ones, but i lost my balance and fall inside the mud ;( when i tried to stand up the mud already reach my waist level. I can't move and shout for help but my platton mate tot i am playing a fool and ignore me ;( I struggle somemore and i sank until the mud reach my chest level!

I stuck there for quite sometimes, until some of them already reach the shore, then they notice that i was stuck and come rescue me :embrass:

The middle of the "Hum" shelf look like a face :) hehe.

Wai said:

shell.jpg

You should have tried the oysters then..

If I can recall from Camp I the SOC side (near the jacobs ladder I think) there is a path down to the beach/lagoon. We used to go out in the evening and put a driftnet across the lagoon mouth and collect back in the morning... you can get HUGE crabs there... of course also got a lot of other stuff like sea snakes, catfish and stingrays. Anyway all ended up in the instructors stomachs. There was also a collapsed jetty somewhere, only the pillars sticking out.. thats where we got the oysters (or at least some kind of shell fish). Just bring hammer and screwdriver to pry them off the supports.

My OC also organised regular BBQs at the ladang jetty .. overnite fishing/bbq... always catch either catfish or small sharks (dogfish?) only.

wantunn said:
You should have tried the oysters then..

If I can recall from Camp I the SOC side (near the jacobs ladder I think) there is a path down to the beach/lagoon. We used to go out in the evening and put a driftnet across the lagoon mouth and collect back in the morning... you can get HUGE crabs there... of course also got a lot of other stuff like sea snakes, catfish and stingrays. Anyway all ended up in the instructors stomachs. There was also a collapsed jetty somewhere, only the pillars sticking out.. thats where we got the oysters (or at least some kind of shell fish). Just bring hammer and screwdriver to pry them off the supports.

My OC also organised regular BBQs at the ladang jetty .. overnite fishing/bbq... always catch either catfish or small sharks (dogfish?) only.

wantuun,

you very familar with camp 1 is it ? which co. you from.

ranger said:
wantuun,

you very familar with camp 1 is it ? which co. you from.

Alpha :D Tink OC was a Cpt GOH if I'm not wrong...
Also familiar with the Delta OC and PCs ... All dem fierce looking one cos is WOs. I think if not wrong the D COY OC before they started the WO thingy is Yoges?