Protection for Lens/DSLR

Blue125

Mar 15, 2011
East
Hi Guys,

I'm a beginner photographer, I just bought a Sony 290 kit with a free SAL50F18 lens. Here goes my 1st question, should I buy the filter and lens hood for both of my lens?

Regrads,
Blue125.

If you have to buy a filter, get a good filter. If not, theres no point in getting cheap filter, because they degrades your image quality badly.
I think lens hood is sufficient to protect your camera lens

Blue125 said:
Hi Guys,

I'm a beginner photographer, I just bought a Sony 290 kit with a free SAL50F18 lens. Here goes my 1st question, should I buy the filter and lens hood for both of my lens?

Regrads,
Blue125.

For such a cheap lens I won't bother getting a filter, just becareful with you lens or use a lens hood as mentioned before

You don't need any filter to protect this lens, it's recessed into barrel by more than 0.5". The front element is also relatively small.

DSC06283.jpg

You don't need any filter to protect this lens, it's recessed into barrel by more than 0.5". The front element is also relatively small.

DSC06283.jpg

hmm.... I don't really understand what you mean. Can you make it simple? >.<

Meaning the "front glass" is deep inside the barrel. Very unlikely to get scratched.

If u want protection from dust, u can always get a uv filter. 49mm uv filters are generally not that exp.. Just get a normal and affordable 1 (not those B+Ws)

If u want protection from dust, u can always get a uv filter. 49mm uv filters are generally not that exp.. Just get a normal and affordable 1 (not those B+Ws)
Dust on front element will become visible when it starts forming colonies. A blower would help much earlier. But as mentioned already by others: there is simply no point getting any filter because of the construction of the lens. The big distance between front element and filter will support impressive flares, though. If that's required or intended ..

Last edited: