Problems on my new Hasselblad 500C/M. Please help!

bimbim1207

Jul 19, 2010
Dear all CSers,

I just got my Hasselblad 500C/M from eBay and this is the first roll I shoot with it.

Though I got into Medium Format for quiet long ago but this roll is really disappointed me and since I'm new to Hassy world, pls advice me if there is any common problems abt Hassy that at least I need to know. I really appreciate your kindly help.

The system looks good and quiet new and it made me more disappointed for the 1st roll.

Some of the photos are really blur, not a sign of hand shake as I shot at a high shutter speed and some with a tripod. However there are some are quiet sharper. I do not know the reason why. Aperture I have used was abt 4 to 8. The lens is Planar CF T* 80 2.8.

The first few pics lost a lower part of it and even the first 2 had light leaking, I though the magazine have some problem, I tried my best to load the film rightly.

I tested the meter of the prism, and it is totally crap. I am so unlucky.

If you can point out any of the problems, can you please also advise me where in SG can fix it? Thank you guys very much !

All the best.

Looks like something wrong with the lens itself - all photos are blur in bottom-left corner and most of the bottom. As shutter in the lens, inaccurate speeds could make an impression that prism metering is wrong. I'd recommend to bring it to Shriro or other master but if damage to repair is too high or impossible to fix, send it back

Have a look from viewfinder if it focus correctly top and bottom is clear and sharp, then most likely your film/magazine is out.
Remove your film back place a pc of matt foil/glass and double check to see the focus in order.
(use a pc of black or any cloth to cover your head for easy viewing.

I had similar issues previously, it was crappy shots for a few rolls before i realised one shutter blade has broken off. Have you looked at your shutter blades?