Problem with continuous shots for 450D


Status
Not open for further replies.
#1
Hi all, i'm not sure if it's a problem for my 450D. I switched to continuous shooting mode but oni 2 fast shots were taken, followed by abt 2 sec of delay afterwhich another 1 shot was taken.

I tried my friend's 450D and it was very smooth..fast clicks without any delay. So is there a problem with it? Any 450D users here experience it also? Luckily still got warranty...if it's a technical fault i no nid to pay rite?
 

J-Chan

Senior Member
Sep 21, 2005
2,361
1
0
#2
sounds like a shutter button problem or maybe its just the card not writing fast enough.. if you can get hold of a shutter release try with that, or try with your friends CF to narrow down the possiblilties..
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#4
Also, are you shooting in good light? What was your shutter speed? Were you trying to focus on a moving object? Were you shooting in live view or normal mode?
 

chiangkxv

Senior Member
Jul 5, 2008
1,790
18
38
33
Tiong Bahru
www.flickr.com
#5
a few possible problems. :)

1. card writing speed problem. (cos of fake card) since u mention u gt a superior card.
2. try switching off high ISO noise reduction, highlight tone priority.
3. is your shutter speed fast enough?
4. are u comparing with raw vs jpg? iirc jpeg transfer is slower than raw due to processing. (correct me if im wrong) :D
 

Last edited:
#6
Also, are you shooting in good light? What was your shutter speed? Were you trying to focus on a moving object? Were you shooting in live view or normal mode?
I was shooting in the day..yeah, at same spot with both cameras but only mine got this prob.

a few possible problems. :)

1. card writing speed problem. (cos of fake card) since u mention u gt a superior card.
2. try switching off high ISO noise reduction, highlight tone priority.
3. is your shutter speed fast enough?
4. are u comparing with raw vs jpg? iirc jpeg transfer is slower than raw due to processing. (correct me if im wrong) :D
I used auto thou...in fatc the first 2 continuous shots are fast..just that after that got prob, so i assume it isnt the shutter speed? As for point no. 4, i'm not sure thou. Perhaps i shd just bring it to service centre? Or anyone staying at admiralty can help me??
 

chiangkxv

Senior Member
Jul 5, 2008
1,790
18
38
33
Tiong Bahru
www.flickr.com
#7
I was shooting in the day..yeah, at same spot with both cameras but only mine got this prob.



I used auto thou...in fatc the first 2 continuous shots are fast..just that after that got prob, so i assume it isnt the shutter speed? As for point no. 4, i'm not sure thou. Perhaps i shd just bring it to service centre? Or anyone staying at admiralty can help me??
Is the red light up? if yes the memory buffer is full. i suggest u use your friends card and try if the problem persist. try to isolate the problem first. :D
 

Dec 11, 2008
440
1
18
#8
lol i have the same problem here with my 450D... takes 2 shots continuous, den need to release and re-press...

settings were definitely more than adequate, shutter speed at 1/500 for example. i believe its a shutter release issue, but so far im lazy to send it to canon cos i use my 1D3 when i need to do sports related shoots... otherwise the 450D is for casual stuffs :)

but i think you should send it in to canon, do let me know what they say as well? haha!
 

Diavonex

Senior Member
Sep 23, 2008
3,641
0
0
Admiralty
#9
Suggest you try shooting with your friend's card. Maybe your card is a fake.
 

#11
lol i have the same problem here with my 450D... takes 2 shots continuous, den need to release and re-press...

settings were definitely more than adequate, shutter speed at 1/500 for example. i believe its a shutter release issue, but so far im lazy to send it to canon cos i use my 1D3 when i need to do sports related shoots... otherwise the 450D is for casual stuffs :)

but i think you should send it in to canon, do let me know what they say as well? haha!
Haha..i will! I'm not rich like u to use 450D as backup! :p

Suggest you try shooting with your friend's card. Maybe your card is a fake.
I will try using my other card then to test it..thx!
 

#13

chiangkxv

Senior Member
Jul 5, 2008
1,790
18
38
33
Tiong Bahru
www.flickr.com
#15
Btw 450D supports SDHC cards rite? Or shd i get a CF card? Does it supports?

But my friend was using a normal SD card when i tried the shots too...and no problem for his cam.
Oh..im currently using Transcend Class 6 8GB
450D does not use CF cards.

Identify the problems first. dont make any unnecessary purchase. :nono:

Be reminded that settings slows down the cam too. (hmmm think i repeated myself. :D)
 

#17
Dec 11, 2008
440
1
18
#19
nahh its not a card problem... i've been switching around normal SD and SDHC cards, and class 2, 4, 6 ones...

my 450D cld do quick bursts of 4-5 at first, until this period where i shot intensively and then it became like tt... haha!
 

Apr 20, 2006
1,087
0
0
#20
There is nothing wrong with the camera or the card. If you turn on noise reduction, you will only get 2 shots buffer. Read the manual. It says so in there. If you turn off noise reduction, you will get 6 shots buffer. This happened to a friend and we solved the mystery together.

The speed of the card only comes into play once the in-camera memory buffer runs out. So, you should get at least 6 shots continuous, even in RAW, and even when you use the worse crappy SD card on earth.

However, if you get a uber fast card, you may get more than 6 shots buffer since the camera can shoot 3.5 frames in a second. The really fast cards can save up to around 13mb/s for this camera, so it should get you another shot buffer in RAW, or quite a few more in JPEG.
 

Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom