Pro-consumer vs DSLR

Status
Not open for further replies.

alwayschampion

Feb 20, 2004
Which one suits a beginner ? my friend looking for one... :)

alwayschampion said:
Which one suits a beginner ? my friend looking for one... :)

2nd hand digicam

Better to go with prosumer unless he has prior SLR experience or have existing lenses with his film SLR....

If he is a total newbie to photography in general......prosumer digicam is the best....... ;)

yup i agree... a prosumer, and a 2nd hand one too would be the best option for a newbie. Hee... I got my first prosumer Sony F717 second hand too. Works like a charm :)

go for a pro consumer. master the basic and the cam till u feel it's limitations, and if yr interest in photography is getting hotter, then upgrade to SLR :)

Get a 2nd hand digicam. Prices keep crashing like PC prices. Someting like a G3 is a good option. No point getting a new one since the price will crash in 6 months.

sriram said:
Get a 2nd hand digicam. Prices keep crashing like PC prices. Someting like a G3 is a good option. No point getting a new one since the price will crash in 6 months.

a 2nd hand G3 shld cost ard??

acetylcholine said:
6mths ? how come

'cos when new model comes out, the old model prices got slash to clear stock mah! Anyway, 6 months is a bit too extreme lah! It would normally take a year or so for the price to really fall. It also depend on whether it's a good year or a bad year for the manufacturer!

In that case, why not just start off with a consumer camera instead of a prosumer?

better start off with a slr, manual one better i think, i learn alot of the basics and discipline well myself with a manual slr.

but its just your friend's personal perferences.

enjoy photography!

iceberg said:
OT a bit.,... wat distinguishes between consumer and prosumer?

consumer cams are those: power on, aim and shoot.