prices increase before gst kicks in

denniskee

Oct 26, 2003
bukit batok
from 10pm news, prices of condense, evapourated milk went up by 10-60 cents where as "house brand" remains unchange, so case not taking action.

also, the increase is much more than 2% increase in gst (more than 10% increment here).

i cant understand their logic here. this is what i will call 变相涨价。

whats more, is the ang pow we got to reduce the impact of gst increment cater for this kind of price increment?

feel so sad and helpless.

kopi prices are also rising soon... kopitiam un-ti tel me bo pian one.... really wat is the reason for all these rise sia? my transport alone is nearly 100 liao lor.... pity ppl who earn less then 1k in sg.....

heard over the radio, a caller reflected that the coffee (3 in 1, i think) went up by $1.40. so drinking coffee is going to $$$, be it diy at home or having it in coffee shop.

sigh. life keeps getting tougher.

sigh, camera gear can buy 2nd hand, but milk and coffee?? how??

i think i must give up shooting film and shoot only in digital, channel the $$ to coffee liao.

from 10pm news, prices of condense, evapourated milk went up by 10-60 cents where as "house brand" remains unchange, so case not taking action.

................... is the ang pow we got to reduce the impact of gst increment cater for this kind of price increment?

feel so sad and helpless.

perhaps perhaps perhaps..........people now looking forward to the money and do not realise this is all happening.....even if they do.......they only know how to blah blah blah...put pen to paper

tot rising prices oso happened yrs back when GST started, den increase to 5%, den all happening again now. :(

is there such an unhealthy pattern of price increase or is it jus me? :embrass:

can't imagine after the gst hike next month, the milk products goes up again.:confused:

:sticktong :sticktong :sticktong :sticktong :sticktong <---use up all 5.

yah my regular chee chiong fun breakfast oso increase 10 cts........ un-ti tel me bo pian......
garment up..... they oso up.... but they up more than 2% :think:

life getting harder :(

I have been dining at Han's very often at Marina Sq. Popped by recently and found that price increases from 50 cents to $1.50! Told my colleagues I'll never go in again. This is just ridiculous. GST increases only by 2% and their increase in price is about 10 to 20%! ;(

The garment knows singaporeans well... NATO. no action talk only. When public transport fare increase, most ppl blah their way in parliament and in ST forums. Then slowly the heat dies down and shift target. Next is casino... talk talk and more talks. Next comes minister pay... debate here and there in parliament and ppl write in to forum. Then again, ppl suddenly drop this topic and now move to... ENTRY INTO UNIVERSITY!!

Even tho we complain these and that, ultimately garment's words will still be law. Say will have open discussion. Discuss and discuss, talk and talk, debate and debate... At the end:
-Casino is up
-Price of transport still increase
-Minister pay still increase
-GST still increase

Is there a time when the public voice out or debate, the garment will change their mind?? Name one.

The garment very smart..noes Singaporean weakness. Talk and talk and will soon sure forget the topic and move on to the next topic. Have you realise that???:bsmilie:

Singaporeans and their gov deserve each other. Gave them a choice, they chose to Pay And Pay, so don't complain.

GST "Get Suckers Toe the Line" apply to every goods. End of the day the people suffer. GST rebates is one time only but we suckers pay for a lifetime until we die..

Actually we pay more than what we sometimes think.

Let's do some maths:

Assume you earn $35k p.a. and CPF is at 20&#37; as per employer-employee agreement.

You have $28k cash collectively.

Assume you commit to savings 20% of that $28K, you are left with $22.4k which you will inevitably spend- whether paying neccesities, bills or other payments for purchases.

And it is agreed that all your purchases are made locally (and we know that all our consumer prices has 7% GST amortized in them).

7% x $22.4k = $1,568.

Therefore if you earn $35k p.a., the average amount paid to GST is $1.6k

(Note that in the calculation above, you have not paid your annual income tax yet.)

Below are some examples:

Income / yr - Gross / mth - Avg.GST paid
$91,000.00 - $7,000.00 - $4,076.80
$65,000.00 - $5,000.00 - $2,912.00
$52,000.00 - $4,000.00 - $2,329.60
$39,000.00 - $3,000.00 - $1,747.20
$26,000.00 - $2,000.00 - $1,164.80
$19,500.00 - $1,500.00 - $873.60

The garment knows singaporeans well... NATO. no action talk only. When public transport fare increase, most ppl blah their way in parliament and in ST forums. Then slowly the heat dies down and shift target. Next is casino... talk talk and more talks. Next comes minister pay... debate here and there in parliament and ppl write in to forum. Then again, ppl suddenly drop this topic and now move to... ENTRY INTO UNIVERSITY!!

Even tho we complain these and that, ultimately garment's words will still be law. Say will have open discussion. Discuss and discuss, talk and talk, debate and debate... At the end:
-Casino is up
-Price of transport still increase
-Minister pay still increase
-GST still increase

Is there a time when the public voice out or debate, the garment will change their mind?? Name one.

The garment very smart..noes Singaporean weakness. Talk and talk and will soon sure forget the topic and move on to the next topic. Have you realise that???:bsmilie:
wat to do.... protest here is useless.... no point lah... tks to who for the increase i know....