Price of DVD media nowadays

StreetShooter

Jan 17, 2002
Katong
streetshooter.clubsnap.org
How much does a DVD+R and DVD-R cost nowadays? Plain vanilla 2X or 4X good enough.
Would appreciate if someone can give me an idea so that I decide whether it's worth it to go down to Sim Lim or just get from neighbourhood.

Thanks!

Found 25pc Imation 4X DVD-/+R at $23. I think it was at Audiohouse in Liang Court

I'm using Mitsubishis, DVD+ 8X, 5pc for $13 with jewel case.

I use Fujifilm 8X With Taiyo Yuden. Its highly recommended by hardcore HMW'ers. Other 'branded' ones can be 'die' quite soon.(fewmths). Its better to spend a bit more for a trusted product. Price ard $25+++ for $25. Z-nix@SLS.

DVD-DL is still ~$10. Damn ex, else can back up DVD-9s more easily

di0nysus said:
I use Fujifilm 8X With Taiyo Yuden. Its highly recommended by hardcore HMW'ers. Other 'branded' ones can be 'die' quite soon.(fewmths). Its better to spend a bit more for a trusted product. Price ard $25+++ for $25. Z-nix@SLS.

DVD-DL is still ~$10. Damn ex, else can back up DVD-9s more easily

TDK and Mitsubish are not bad and Z-Nix at SLS sells pretty reasonabily for their products.. been their loyal customer for many yrs liao.. :thumbsup:

But hor with DVD-5 can only allow abt 4.5GB at most with overburnt.. How come cannot burn 4.7GB leh although the additional 200MB is not much lah..?? :think: :dunno:

Well, let me try my best to explain.

1GB = 1024MB, 1MB = 1024KB, 1KB = 1024B

You know the above eh?
Manufacturers claim that their dvds are able to burn 4.7GB which is actually wrong since they used the method 4.7GB = 4700MB = 4700,000,000 Byte. Their dvds are able to burn 4700,000,000 Byte which is correct but not 4.7GB since 4.7GB and 4700,000,000 Byte is not the same. They assume its the same due to simplistic reasons. So if you calculate using the correct method, you should divide 4700,000,000 Byte by 1024 three times to get the correct space the dvd can actually burn in GB which is around 4.33GB.

Erm understand? Same theory goes with your hard disk.

If you're not buying in bulk, why not just get from Popular book, which is available in almost all neighbourhood?

they have Fujifilm, imation, verbartim (all branded). and all about $26-28 / 25pc.

Ayumi said:

You know the above eh?
Manufacturers claim that their dvds are able to burn 4.7GB which is actually wrong since they used the method 4.7GB = 4700MB = 4700,000,000 Byte. Their dvds are able to burn 4700,000,000 Byte which is correct but not 4.7GB since 4.7GB and 4700,000,000 Byte is not the same. They assume its the same due to simplistic reasons. So if you calculate using the correct method, you should divide 4700,000,000 Byte by 1024 three times to get the correct space the dvd can actually burn in GB which is around 4.33GB.

That's because most consumers do not understand how the calculation goes and no point explaining why 1KB = 1024b... easier lor.

If you read your HDD label, it's mentioned 1MB = 1,000,000 Bytes. :rolleyes: I bought a 200GB so that means -> 200, 000, 000, 000 / 1024 = 195GB. I was cheated of 5GB :bsmilie:

It should be 2^8

i bought frm funan chamoxa last week verbatim - $20/- for 25 pc pak

Ayumi said:

You know the above eh?

perhaps i do get ur point.. but then again.. wat abt cd_writer? coz i manged to burn a full 700MB data on a 700MB disc (no overburn).. and if based on ur calculation shdn't it only be 667.57MB worth of data maximum??

i'm sorry if it sounds anal to u.. but i'm juz trying to learn the correct stuffs.. hope u dun mind.. :sweat:

destiny_star said:
perhaps i do get ur point.. but then again.. wat abt cd_writer? coz i manged to burn a full 700MB data on a 700MB disc (no overburn).. and if based on ur calculation shdn't it only be 667.57MB worth of data maximum??

i'm sorry if it sounds anal to u.. but i'm juz trying to learn the correct stuffs.. hope u dun mind.. :sweat:
Somehow, for CDRs, it's as specified 700MB = 700 x 1024 = 716.8MB. So burning 700MB is not an issue since there's 16.8MB 'extra'

However I've no idea why DVDs are calculated as 4.7GB x 1000 and not 1024. But the calcluations by Ayumi is correct.

thanx espn, for the clarification.. :)

Bought my LG DVD writer last weekend, then got ripped off at another shop for media since I didn't have time to run upstairs to ZNIX.. paid $20 for 10 pieces of TDK DVD+R (4x).. sian.. next time will go to ZNIX and get the Fujifilm TY DVDs :confused:

BTW, after reading the horror stories on HWZ about the limited lifespan of DVDs, I'm wondering if you guys bother burning 2 copies of your photos for archival purposes? I already burned copies on the media mentioned above, just wondering if it might be a good idea to have a secondary backup of my photos. HDD already crashed once causing me to lose a few FOLDERS of pictures :cry: