Preperation for a Safari trip

Status
Not open for further replies.

pommie

Jan 2, 2007
Hi, I'm a proud newbie owner of a D80. I'm looking at taking a trip to Kenya and wanted some advice on equipment.

I was thinking of buying the Sigma 70-300 APO DG lens, would this be sufficient for a newbie?
Also What lightweight tripod or monopod would you recommend?

Any other pointers appreciated.

Hi, I'm a proud newbie owner of a D80. I'm looking at taking a trip to Kenya and wanted some advice on equipment.

I was thinking of buying the Sigma 70-300 APO DG lens, would this be sufficient for a newbie?
Also What lightweight tripod or monopod would you recommend?

Any other pointers appreciated.
:think: don think you will need a monopod with that lens, its better handheld...

congrats on your purchased!
There is a saying that once u been to Africa, u will be hooked for life! haha ... at least I am.
few things ...
A lot of times, u will be shooting from vehicle (it is too dangerous to get down from vehicle). so a bean bag is necessary (bring the bag but buy the grain there). At lake nakuru, u will need tripod.
for wildlife, 70-300 will be ok but birds, u may need a longer lens.
if u r new to the equipment, I would highly recommend you familiarise with them before you embark on the trip.
several other things
Photography
1. bring enough hard disk to store pics. i shoot Raw, so I need approx 3G to 7G per day.
2. need to gauge how much batteries u need. some places has no electricity. u will need to clarify with your tour operator
3. type of vehicle. it affect your shooting. best is 4x4 with open top
4. some tools to clean equipment - alot of dust
5. wide angle for scenery
6.they may bring you to a masai warrior camp to see performance. so portrait lens if u have
7. flash light for fill in flash

general
1. per driver will need US$5 per person per day. cook is US$4 person per day as a rough guide. ask your tour operator. they will feel very offended if you did not give