Point-and-Shoot or Mirrorless ?

lolandra

Sep 15, 2008
Hi

I’m sort of a newbie here. I own a Pentax Optio W60 which is about 5 years old. I am thinking of getting a new camera and I couldn’t decide between a point-and-shoot or a mirrorless.

Perhaps a bit about my usage habit:
I travel about once or twice a year and like to take photos during trips
When I’m not travelling, I like to attend festivals such as the Night Festival, Kite Festival and so on
Sometimes I will just bring camera along to take photos of streets and structures around Singapore when I’m out

I prefer camera that is small enough to carry around easily but also gives me the option of fiddling with settings. My current camera is great for day-shots and still shots. But when comes to low-light and fast moving shots, it is not so good.

I tried to do some homework but I am seriously lost in the vast world of information and all those jargons.
I read the threads on How to choose a camera (the sensor format method) and When Newbies Ask For Help in NEWBIES CORNER ...... and I am sorry to say, I got real lost on the first thread and I am very sorry I don’t even know where to begin my search.

Also I got to confess, I haven’t gone to the shops to do hands-on yet, only reading from the web. I am looking at brands like Nikon, Cannon, Fujifilm, Panasonic, Olympus and maybe Samsung.

So I was hoping experts here can give me pointers and perhaps recommend some brands/models. Any help will be greatly appreciated and please don’t “scold” me.

Lolandra

"Nikon, Cannon, Fujifilm, Panasonic, Olympus and maybe Samsung" You're misisng one of the biggest players: Sony.

For your needs, sounds like the RX100 (mark 1 or Mark 2) will be all you'd need.

"Also I got to confess, I haven’t gone to the shops to do hands-on yet," - this is the most important part.

Hi