please help! stuck with a strange problem for the sd card


Mar 14, 2013
265
1
0
Singapore
#1
hi, i just bought my 650D with a SDHC card. for some reason, i am unable to delete pictures on the card from the computer. images can only be deleted from the camera.

1.the lock on the card is not enabled
2.i made sure to un-protect all images on the camera

I then tried formatting the card on the camera, which worked for the first time; i could delete images on the comp. However, the moment i started taking pictures again, the card would again revert to the same problem when i tried deleting images on the comp. what is going on here?! or am i missing something....
 

Hinata76

Senior Member
Apr 15, 2009
2,126
0
36
Singapore
www.flickr.com
#2
if urs is sandisk branding...good luck..
i reported this matter last year at HWZ forum..guess wat...im not the only one facing the problem..

seems its a same batch having the problem etc..both sd and cf type.

might wanna get the receipt if u have and do a exchange..and hope the shop honor it.


btw i got mine during last year IT show..shop is at SIM LIM SQUARE.
 

Mar 14, 2013
265
1
0
Singapore
#3
ur right, it IS a sandisk. got mine from tk foto. shall go down again to exchange then....omg, i have really bad luck =_=
 

May 1, 2006
231
0
16
#4
The Lone Ranger, I think you shld bring it back to the shop. TK foto I would say have a good after sales service. I am quite sure they will honour it...
 

Hinata76

Senior Member
Apr 15, 2009
2,126
0
36
Singapore
www.flickr.com
#5
Yeah..keep the receipt for a while..problem again change.im not so lucky...changed 3 times..4th time changed to a class 6..zzz sucks big time..
 

Jun 5, 2011
192
0
0
#6
just try to bring them back to the shop, dont forget to bring along your receipt...

i have 3 sandisk sd cards... i have never experience this because i always format these cards before using on the camera and I haven't try to delete from the computer before...
 

ricohflex

Senior Member
Feb 24, 2005
3,353
8
38
sing
#7
Maybe a file attribute matter. Set the file attribute - untick Read Only
 

edutilos-

Senior Member
Dec 28, 2010
6,041
17
38
The Universe
www.facebook.com
#8
Move the lock to lock and unlock and try again. I also have this problem sometimes because the computer thinks that the SD card is being write-protected. Small issue.
 

Mar 14, 2013
265
1
0
Singapore
#9
Maybe a file attribute matter. Set the file attribute - untick Read Only
hmm shall try this out before i head down! edit: it is already unchecked. =(
Move the lock to lock and unlock and try again. I also have this problem sometimes because the computer thinks that the SD card is being write-protected. Small issue.
already tried this previously, nada =( thanks!
 

Last edited:

ZerocoolAstra

Senior Member
Mar 13, 2008
9,522
0
0
rainy Singapore
#10
hmm shall try this out before i head down! edit: it is already unchecked. =(

already tried this previously, nada =( thanks!
Have you experienced this issue with different card readers?
Reason i ask is that the lock/unlock tab pushes a little pin in the card reader when you insert the SD card. That may be the issue...
 

edutilos-

Senior Member
Dec 28, 2010
6,041
17
38
The Universe
www.facebook.com
#11
already tried this previously, nada =( thanks!
I get it sometimes and sometimes not. But my camera always reads the card fine. :bsmilie: So maybe try more, you never know. One way to check if it is indeed the SD card problem is to try another reader as ZCA has suggested.
 

ricohflex

Senior Member
Feb 24, 2005
3,353
8
38
sing
#12
Try formatting the card with the computer; instead of formatting in the camera.

Another possibility is that you card reader is not sufficiently advanced to handle SDHC. Can read but cannot delete.
 

Mar 14, 2013
265
1
0
Singapore
#13
hi guys, i'll try formatting it in the comp; and actually, i don't really use a card reader...my desktop has built in slots for specific cards...its only a year old, so im pretty sure the slot can read SDHC cards. and now i realise the problem is on/off; i couldn't replicate it at tk foto...i guess its one of those things i'll have to live with -_- thank you so much for all your help guys! much appreciated =)
 

ZerocoolAstra

Senior Member
Mar 13, 2008
9,522
0
0
rainy Singapore
#14
hi guys, i'll try formatting it in the comp; and actually, i don't really use a card reader...my desktop has built in slots for specific cards...its only a year old, so im pretty sure the slot can read SDHC cards. and now i realise the problem is on/off; i couldn't replicate it at tk foto...i guess its one of those things i'll have to live with -_- thank you so much for all your help guys! much appreciated =)
I hope THIS site provides you with the solution. It may be the issue.
Your desktop's card reader uses the same principle to determine whether the SD card is write-protected, just that it's neatly built into your desktop :)
Do try another card reader to at least determine if it could be the issue. At the very least you eliminate another possible cause.
 

lightrules

Senior Member
Mar 20, 2007
515
0
16
#15
my experience was the card reader
somehow it didn't or couldn't detect the lock /unlock status.

a change of card reader did the trick.
 

Mar 14, 2013
265
1
0
Singapore
#16
Your desktop's card reader uses the same principle to determine whether the SD card is write-protected, just that it's neatly built into your desktop :)
Do try another card reader to at least determine if it could be the issue. At the very least you eliminate another possible cause.
my experience was the card reader
somehow it didn't or couldn't detect the lock /unlock status.

a change of card reader did the trick.
thanks!
will try as advised! just redeemed the free sdhc card reader from canon( i think it's pretty cute hahaha )
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,516
30
48
Pasir Ris
#17
thanks!
will try as advised! just redeemed the free sdhc card reader from canon( i think it's pretty cute hahaha )
Do spend some $ to get quality equipment. I had issues when using these cheap readers, since I have the Kingston card reader no issue anymore, regardless which card or camera.
 

daredevil123

Moderator
Staff member
Oct 25, 2005
21,657
68
48
lil red dot
#18
Sometimes the lock/unlock tab gets loose and shifts around when inserted. It happened to one of my sandisk cards and the tab gets moved when i insert it into my camera. The simple solution is to use a tape and tape it down at thr unlock position
 

Mar 14, 2013
265
1
0
Singapore
#19
hi all ,thanks for all your kind input. the final conclusion is, i guess

1.some card readers are not really that "good"
2.the tab gets shifted as suggested by daredevil

the card works fine most of the time now! hopefully this thread will be useful for anyone else with the same problem =)
 

CScsCS

New Member
Mar 3, 2013
101
0
0
SG
#20
TheLoneRanger said:
hi all ,thanks for all your kind input. the final conclusion is, i guess

1.some card readers are not really that "good"
2.the tab gets shifted as suggested by daredevil

the card works fine most of the time now! hopefully this thread will be useful for anyone else with the same problem =)
I have same problem but not able to solve it till date, despite the advices given above. Anyway, I just format thru camera lor, what to do haha
 

Top Bottom