photoshop montage query(CS3)


Status
Not open for further replies.

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#1
Hey guys,
need help.
i open a new canvas of a specific size, eg A4.

i want to do a collage of 9 pictures in it.
I drag all the pics into the new canvas, but how do i set it in such a way that all these 9 pics are of the same size?(question 1)
so far, what i did was manually using Apple-T and do a shift pull, so it's really by visual estimation.

(ques 2)if i want to align them in a square grid and making sure the spaces in between the 9 pics are the same, how do i do that?

appreciate all help.
thanks very much.
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#2
Hey guys,
need help.
i open a new canvas of a specific size, eg A4.

i want to do a collage of 9 pictures in it.
I drag all the pics into the new canvas, but how do i set it in such a way that all these 9 pics are of the same size?(question 1)
so far, what i did was manually using Apple-T and do a shift pull, so it's really by visual estimation.

(ques 2)if i want to align them in a square grid and making sure the spaces in between the 9 pics are the same, how do i do that?

appreciate all help.
thanks very much.
A1, if all the original 9 images are same size, once you Ctrl T the first image, remember resize percentage, apply the same percentage to the rest of the images when your Ctrl T them.

A2, that's a little tricky, if you want to decide the dimension of the spacing between the images, use marquee tool with fix size (set the dimension of the spacing as the fix size), then drag the grid to snap it as borders, lay out each images at one time, drag a grid, put the fix size selection next to it, drag another grid, pull the next image over, so on so fore till all done.

if you want to lay them within a certain space, drag four grids as outer boundary of the space, lay out all nine images roughly (one image at one layer), but the images at four corners must snap on the grids, than you can use "move" tool with auto align to arrange them nicely, btw, you need to link the layers in each individual row and column to do auto align one at a time.

hope this help.
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#3
catch, manage to get what you taught me.

but this one still puzzles me...

if you want to lay them within a certain space, drag four grids as outer boundary of the space, lay out all nine images roughly (one image at one layer), but the images at four corners must snap on the grids, than you can use "move" tool with auto align to arrange them nicely, btw, you need to link the layers in each individual row and column to do auto align one at a time.


is is easy for you to sort of rephrase or explain further for the part in blue?

thanks so much for your help.
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#4
ok, if you have four grids liao
layout top row three images,
first snap top left and top right images to the grid at two corners,
center image is snap to the top grid, but still not space out equally
link 3 layers together, and you should select the layer with the top right image,
the use the auto align of the MOVE tool,
then click on the forth set of icon from the left (each set have three small icon, and the any one of the small icons of the forth set will do what you need.

now you do on the left 1st column, you should using the third set of the icon to arrange the center image of the left column

now if you can understand this and able to work it out, you should no problem to figure out what to do to the rest of the images.

hope this help.
 

jfoo

Senior Member
Apr 7, 2004
1,347
3
38
#6
I drag all the pics into the new canvas, but how do i set it in such a way that all these 9 pics are of the same size?(question 1)
so far, what i did was manually using Apple-T and do a shift pull, so it's really by visual estimation.
since you have dragged all the images into your new canvas you can select all the image layers and hit Apple-T. all images are now selected and when you resize, all layers are resized at the same time.
 

Mar 22, 2008
300
0
0
www.alteredvision.net
#7
Might be easier to resize them before dragging, and use guides for layout (view -> new guide). But for guides, you probably need to do some maths. Eg. A4 is 210mm x 297mm, so if portrait divide by 3 is 210mm divide by 3 = 70mm and 140mm vertical guides. Might or might not need to leave bleed also, if you're printing.
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#8
thanks for ALL help rendered.
got it already.;)
 

theRBK

Senior Member
May 16, 2005
2,048
1
0
#9
in case anyone is interested... one could use the Contact Sheet function for a quick and auto process...

1) select File/Automate/Contact Sheet II
2) for A4, document size is 21cm by 29.7cm
3) select "Flatten All Layers" if you want the final image flattened... don't, if you want the layers
4) for 3x3 in a sq, have "Columns" 3 and "Rows" 3
5) select "Rotate For Best Fit" to maximize size
6) if you don't want file name to be on image, don't select the option...
7) not satisfied with the size of the individual images? just select all layers and resize them together...

tada :)
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#10
in case anyone is interested... one could use the Contact Sheet function for a quick and auto process...

1) select File/Automate/Contact Sheet II
2) for A4, document size is 21cm by 29.7cm
3) select "Flatten All Layers" if you want the final image flattened... don't, if you want the layers
4) for 3x3 in a sq, have "Columns" 3 and "Rows" 3
5) select "Rotate For Best Fit" to maximize size
6) if you don't want file name to be on image, don't select the option...
7) not satisfied with the size of the individual images? just select all layers and resize them together...

tada :)
since you have dragged all the images into your new canvas you can select all the image layers and hit Apple-T. all images are now selected and when you resize, all layers are resized at the same time.
Yeah, there are many ways to skin a cat in photoshop..... :)
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom