Pentaxians July 2010 Outing - Mandai Orchid Garden on 10th July 2010

fengwei

Aug 25, 2004
Queenstown
www.pbase.com
Hi All,

Thanks to pinholecam and seefei's suggestion, let's go to Mandai Orchid Garden for July outing. From the following thread, seems Mandai Orchid Garden will be gone by the end of the year :( What a pity if so:
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?p=6265776

Let's go there to look around before it's gone.

Date: 10th July 2010
Time: 8am to whenever we wanna stop
Venue: Mandai Orchid Garden

Plan: we visit the garden first, then either head to the Zoo or somewhere else, or just stop there. There are a lot stuff to see and shoot there, but mainly flowers and birds.

Please put your name here in the list if you wanna join the fun.

Here is the place:

How To Get Here:

By Car / Taxi
From the city, take the Pan Island Expressway (PIE) towards Jurong, turn off at the Bukit Timah Expressway (BKE, Exit 7) and follow the tourism signage to the Orchid Garden. The journey takes approximately 30 mins.

By Bus
From the city, take SMRT bus 171 to Mandai Road, cross the road then transfer to SBS Transit Bus 138. Alternatively, from Woodlands Bus Interchange, take SMRT bus 926 (only on Sundays and Public Holidays). Journey takes approximately 1 hr 15 mins.

By Mass Rapid Transit (MRT)
Alight at Ang Mo Kio Station and take SBS Transit bus 138. Alternatively, alight at Choa Chu Kang Station, take SMRT bus 927. Journey takes approximately 1 hr.

8.00am - 7.00pm Tuesday - Sunday

Vanilla Pod Restaurant and Bar
Monday - Friday Lunch
11.30 am -
3.00 pm Last order at 2.30pm
Tuesday - Friday Dinner
6.30 pm -
11.00 pm Last order at 10.30pm
Saturday and Sunday All Day
9.00 am -
11.00 pm Last order at 10.30pm

Admission Charges
Per pax Groups with >20 pax
Adult: S$3.50 S$1.50
Senior Citizen: S$1.50 S$1.50
Child (below 12 years old): S$1.00 S$1.00

Plan: we visit the garden (which only opens on the last Sat. of each month) first, then either head to the Zoo or somewhere else, or just stop there. There are a lot stuff to see and shoot there, but mainly flowers and birds.

So its open on the 10th ?

Plan: we visit the garden (which only opens on the last Sat. of each month) first, then either head to the Zoo or somewhere else, or just stop there. There are a lot stuff to see and shoot there, but mainly flowers and birds.

The butterfly garden at HortPark is open on the last sat of each month. Mandai Orchid Garden is open every day :bsmilie:

1. fengwei (94281380)
2. flowerpot - if my baby is not too cranky in the morning....
3. JK

Great! Its this coming Sat ;p

1. fengwei (94281380)
3. JK
4. Darren

1. fengwei (94281380)
3. JK
4. Darren
5. cyk13

Must be his typo lah! If open only last Sat of the month. The garden "pa mong":bsmilie:

I paid the full admission fees when I last visited the garden. Then somehow a fellow Pentaxian informed the admission staff that he is from some photo forum. He got discount and paid less than S$2.

1. fengwei (94281380)
3. JK
4. Darren
5. cyk13
6. Pentriot

Sorry, I copied and pasted from previous outing :embrass:

Looks like I have to missed another outing due to travelling. Have fun everyone. Do not get too poisoned by the DFA 100mm WR.

fengwei (94281380)
3. JK
4. Darren
5. cyk13
6. Pentriot
7. Gummy73

I chope #8... :bsmilie:
Wah, haven't been there in donkey years... last time I remember I was doing a wedding shoot and was using erm... Nikon :eek:

1. fengwei (94281380)
3. JK
4. Darren
5. cyk13
6. Pentriot
7. Gummy73
8. creampuff

[1. fengwei (94281380)
3. JK
4. Darren
5. cyk13
6. Pentriot
7. Gummy73
8. creampuff[/QUOTE]
9. hypy13

Sorry, I copied and pasted from previous outing :embrass:

And you didn't edit the thread title too?Its July and you put June:sweat:

Man, I guess I drank too much in the past two days ... it's all WC's fault!

1. fengwei (94281380)
3. JK
4. Darren
5. cyk13
6. Pentriot
7. Gummy73
8. creampuff
9. hypy13
10. Brianskivvy

Might be bringing my gf and my colleague along for this outing

Aiyah why on the 10th Jul.:sweat: Might give it a miss as I have another shooting in SBG.

1. fengwei (94281380)
3. JK
4. Darren
5. cyk13
6. Pentriot
7. Gummy73
8. creampuff
9. hypy13
10. Brianskivvy
11.Greg0222