Noob Alert! Help required with selecting lenses for a newbie

retardo_supreme_25

Sep 5, 2019
Hey Everyone,

I am a new member of the community and recently jumped into photography, currently shooting with sony a73 with the standard kit lens for the past couple of months. I have some knowledge about ISO, shutter speed, aperture settings and exposure settings. With my recent pictures, i have been noticing some lack in sharpness especially in the corners and the background blur, bokeh, etc not being that good in portraits, it could either be me or the lens as well.

So i have been researching a few lenses which i think are decent but they all have a much better, more expensive versions as well. So i have stumbled on a few questions and was hoping for some answers.

1. With only limited experience, should i still be sticking with the kit lens or should i go for an upgrade?

If yes,
2. For portraits, i have been looking at sony's fe 85mm f1.8 which definitely seems to be better than the kit lens. However it has two different versions as well, the one is the zeiss badis f1.8 and sony fe 85mm f1.4. I did try the lens at sony's store and honestly, atleast looking into the camera screen i couldn't really differentiate between the two, apart from the bokeh in some cases. Which one would you guys recommend?

3. I have been considering two more lenses, 16-35mm f4 Zeiss OSS (quite old lens 2014 one, but currently getting it for 1200) and 70-200nm f4 lenses as well (mostly for trip to south africa, and in some cases i read reviews people using this for landscapes as well. Both of them have their expensive versions as well. Should i go all out and buy the expensive one's or are these more than good enough.

I am really confused as to whether its the right time to upgrade and whether its worth buying the expensive versions of those lenses for a newbie. would appreciate if someone can help me solve my dilemma.

Last edited: