Noise in night shots


Status
Not open for further replies.

Jayan

New Member
Jan 18, 2002
1,338
0
0
Hougang, SG
Visit site
#2
Originally posted by nutz
How do i take a decent night shots without those irritating noise?
Noise is always present in long exposure....even in DCs with NR features (just that NR reduces the amt the noise thru s/w in the DC itself).

Try keeping nite shots to max 2 sec if possible to keep noise to a minimal...if can't then gotta do post-processing lor! ;)
 

Jed

Senior Member
Jan 19, 2002
3,911
0
0
UK
Visit site
#3
Perform a dark frame subtraction if you can. Take a similar exposure (with the same shutter speed) but with the lens cap on. Then use the blank frame, which will have a similar noise structure, to form a subtraction layer in Photoshop to get rid of the noise pattern. Works like a charm.
 

YSLee

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
2,326
1
38
Visit site
#4
Noise is caused by heat buildup in the CCD, so that is unaviodable.
 

duckling

New Member
Jan 19, 2002
41
0
0
Tiong Bahru
Visit site
#5
What noise are you guys talking about - picture itself has got no sound?

I am a Newbie, pls pardon me for my ignorant.

Thx.
 

Klause

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
1,417
0
0
34
Bedok
Visit site
#6
Originally posted by duckling
What noise are you guys talking about - picture itself has got no sound?

I am a Newbie, pls pardon me for my ignorant.

Thx.
Noise usually occur when you take pictures at night with slow shuttle. Take a pic at night with shuttle lag of more than 2 sec and you probably see some noise.
 

marlin

New Member
Jan 24, 2002
133
0
0
42
AMK
Visit site
#7
yup that quite true....but that bring me to think ..why the hell my camera need 16 sec exposure for what !!!...since at more than 2 sec exposure there already so much noise..think the manufacturers better improve on their CCDs!!
 

Jayan

New Member
Jan 18, 2002
1,338
0
0
Hougang, SG
Visit site
#8
Originally posted by duckling
What noise are you guys talking about - picture itself has got no sound?

I am a Newbie, pls pardon me for my ignorant.

Thx.
The unwanted dots of all colors in a digi-pix that is cause by heat built-up of the CCD, long exposure, or by turning up the ISO.
 

Blitz

New Member
Jan 18, 2002
517
0
0
40
Singapore
www.blitzstorm.com
#9
Originally posted by marlin
yup that quite true....but that bring me to think ..why the hell my camera need 16 sec exposure for what !!!...since at more than 2 sec exposure there already so much noise..think the manufacturers better improve on their CCDs!!
If more than 2 sec, every pic will sure got noise? *concern*
 

Jayan

New Member
Jan 18, 2002
1,338
0
0
Hougang, SG
Visit site
#10
Originally posted by Blitz


If more than 2 sec, every pic will sure got noise? *concern*
Depends lah....when the DC is cool it's negligible but the noise level will creeps up when the DC gets warmer in my experience. :)
 

Blitz

New Member
Jan 18, 2002
517
0
0
40
Singapore
www.blitzstorm.com
#11
Originally posted by Jayan


Depends lah....when the DC is cool it's negligible but the noise level will creeps up when the DC gets warmer in my experience. :)
So maybe we should all take pictures inside Air con environment :D
 

Jayan

New Member
Jan 18, 2002
1,338
0
0
Hougang, SG
Visit site
#13
Originally posted by Blitz


So maybe we should all take pictures inside Air con environment :D
No use one...sometimes the 'heat' is due to the residual charge in the CCD...need some time to dissipitate.
 

azone

New Member
Jan 20, 2002
1,454
0
0
40
azone.clubsnap.org
#14
I guess the Olympus DCs are not designed for use in the SEAsia region, esp in a hot and humid country like Spore. Used my C700 in Genting a week ago. Surprisingly, I can use the DC continuously without noise/hot pixels, something which is not possible here. Of coz, the temp at Genting was constantly around 18-19 degrees. :(
 

Klause

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
1,417
0
0
34
Bedok
Visit site
#15
Originally posted by azone
I guess the Olympus DCs are not designed for use in the SEAsia region, esp in a hot and humid country like Spore. Used my C700 in Genting a week ago. Surprisingly, I can use the DC continuously without noise/hot pixels, something which is not possible here. Of coz, the temp at Genting was constantly around 18-19 degrees. :(
Shall all the C700uz and C2100uz camera owner all migrate to genting? haha..
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom