Nite shoot 4 G2

Phil

Apr 10, 2002
Sembawang
Hiya folks.. my 1st post down here.. :)

Trying real hard 2 learn how 2 handle my new G2 4 e past days.

Day shoot r fine with auto & program mode, likewise 4 niteshoot @ close range..

E big challenge 4 me now is how 2 master e techniques of taking nite shoot for distant object.

Had a field trip last week @ nite... took quite a no. of nite shoot in town but oni a few came out fine.. all looks fine on e LCD but blurry on PC. Main prob is I did not use a tripod most of e time..

I will be goin 4 a long holiday real soon & need some advice.. dun think I would like 2 carry along a big tripod when holidaying..

Txs folks

Phil

Originally posted by Phil
Hiya folks.. my 1st post down here.. :)

Trying real hard 2 learn how 2 handle my new G2 4 e past days.

Day shoot r fine with auto & program mode, likewise 4 niteshoot @ close range..

E big challenge 4 me now is how 2 master e techniques of taking nite shoot for distant object.

Had a field trip last week @ nite... took quite a no. of nite shoot in town but oni a few came out fine.. all looks fine on e LCD but blurry on PC. Main prob is I did not use a tripod most of e time..

I will be goin 4 a long holiday real soon & need some advice.. dun think I would like 2 carry along a big tripod when holidaying..

Txs folks

Phil

I think you've identified the problem yourself. No offence but there is absolutely no excuse not to use a tripod for night shots if you want them to come out right. Its as simple as that.

Originally posted by Kit

I think you've identified the problem yourself. No offence but there is absolutely no excuse not to use a tripod for night shots if you want them to come out right. Its as simple as that.

I c.. no offense @ all..

My fren /w a C2040 suggest using higher ISO like 400 to solve e prob w/o tripod.. Have tried but e picture quality drops quite badly.. not more blurry edge but more noise.

BTW, I oso got a vintage Nikkon manual SLR inherit from relative.. but lense is very dirty.. worth repairing?

Phil

I c.. no offense @ all..

My fren /w a C2040 suggest using higher ISO like 400 to solve e prob w/o tripod.. Have tried but e picture quality drops quite badly.. not more blurry edge but more noise.

BTW, I oso got a vintage Nikkon manual SLR inherit from relative.. but lense is very dirty.. worth repairing?

Phil

It depends. Take it down to one of those shops in Peninsula and have it assessed. It might cost more to repair it then buying a new slr. Then again, you might have a gem.:)

Originally posted by Kit

It depends. Take it down to one of those shops in Peninsula and have it assessed. It might cost more to repair it then buying a new slr. Then again, you might have a gem.:)

I think its a FM2... got accessory like ext. flash, telephoto len & etc.

Phil

Originally posted by Kit

Then I think it depends on when it was bought. The FM2 was still available until recently replaced by the FM3.

Should be in e early 90s...

BTW, Kit, any recommendation for tripod?? Might as well buy 1 & try it out again... how much should I expect 2 pay??

Phil

Should be in e early 90s...

BTW, Kit, any recommendation for tripod?? Might as well buy 1 & try it out again... how much should I expect 2 pay??

Phil

I recommend the Manfrotto 190. Sturdy enough for your DC and FM2. As for the head, depends on what you shoot. if you do architecture, the 141 3 way pan head is good. Not really sure about the price in Singapore but I think it wouldn't be over $150 for that combination.

Originally posted by Kit

I recommend the Manfrotto 190. Sturdy enough for your DC and FM2. As for the head, depends on what you shoot. if you do architecture, the 141 3 way pan head is good. Not really sure about the price in Singapore but I think it wouldn't be over $150 for that combination.

Txs 4 e info...

Juz called CP.. they quote me $110 for e tripod & $50++ for e cheapest Manfrotto head.

Pheeweee...

Phil

Originally posted by Kit

Two alternatives r a monopod or a shoulderpod
(which is more like a shoulder sling) which r
more practical 4 travelling. Don't ask me where
2 buy these in S'pore.

Another idea is 2 shop 4 those when u r abroad
unless u r going 2 some ulu place like Afghanistan.
Than the monopod can come in handy 4
self-defence or s a weapon.

I think I've to stop watching those action
movies like Blade 2.

Have a good trip,

Michael

Originally posted by mikey2tan

Two alternatives r a monopod or a shoulderpod
(which is more like a shoulder sling) which r
more practical 4 travelling. Don't ask me where
2 buy these in S'pore.

Another idea is 2 shop 4 those when u r abroad
unless u r going 2 some ulu place like Afghanistan.
Than the monopod can come in handy 4
self-defence or s a weapon.

I think I've to stop watching those action
movies like Blade 2.

Have a good trip,

Michael

Hmmm... shoulderpod?? Chim....

Me goin 2 States.. New York..

hahaha... violent wor!

Phil

Phil, note that the monopod or shoulder-pod (?) will most prob not guarantee you a blur-free night shot, unless you are sniper-trained like kamwai. A tripod is still imperative. For me, I use a cheapo compact tripod for travelling. It is flimsy, but it can still hold up a typical camera under non-adverse weathers, and the portability and lightweight are the plus points.

Originally posted by Tweek
Phil, note that the monopod or shoulder-pod (?) will most prob not guarantee you a blur-free night shot, unless you are sniper-trained like kamwai. A tripod is still imperative. For me, I use a cheapo compact tripod for travelling. It is flimsy, but it can still hold up a typical camera under non-adverse weathers, and the portability and lightweight are the plus points.

Got good recommendation?

Phil

Got good recommendation?

Phil

just go to your neighbourhood labs lor...they usually will have. I'm using one of Tristar brand, about $20+.

Or u can take a look at SLIK tripods. They are quite sturdy and their cost is relative low too.

Originally posted by Tweek

just go to your neighbourhood labs lor...they usually will have. I'm using one of Tristar brand, about $20+.

Wow.. thats very affordable!! Goodie!!! kekekee...

Phil

Originally posted by Goose
Or u can take a look at SLIK tripods. They are quite sturdy and their cost is relative low too.

Where can I get it... & how much?? $50???

Sorry.. so many question..

Phil

Hmmm... shoulderpod?? Chim....

Me goin 2 States.. New York..

hahaha... violent wor!

Phil

We're planning a September trip probably by NorthWest
& landing in JFK airport & taking a 2 week Amtrak
pass 4 New England touring - Boston, Maine &
Vermont & exiting US to Montreal.

Which hotel to book 4 around US$100/- in