Nissin 866 with non ttl av mode


xpression

New Member
Nov 27, 2010
87
0
0
#1
Hi guys, i'm a newbie who needs help on this flash. I was about to place order but decided to do a final google on it to reread the reviews. Realize tat pp r mentioning tat nissin 866 does not have auto ttl when using av mode. It doest take the apeture n iso from the body n u got to go to advanced manual to key them urself. Tis is quite surprising but there r quite a few pp saying that.

I'm a bit confused now. Anyone using 866? When i'm using av mode, do i reali need to input manually the aperture n iso into the flash itsrlf since it cant read from body as stated in reviews? How bout other modes like manual mode or tv?

Pls advise, i hav tried asking my friends to help me ask around but not many pp own tat flash. Tks guys!
 

xpression

New Member
Nov 27, 2010
87
0
0
#2
Was jus thinking wouldnt tat be a bit troublesome. Hope some seniors can shield some light on this n help me out. Tks again!
 

SilverPine

Senior Member
Jul 8, 2007
4,539
6
38
Singapore
#3
Do not know the detail specification about 866, but my Nissin Di622 has automatic exposure E-TTL/E-TTL II. 622 just read the apeture and ISO from my camera and fire as simple as that, E-TTL do all the detail job. :)

.
 

daredevil123

Moderator
Staff member
Oct 25, 2005
21,660
68
48
lil red dot
#4
Hi guys, i'm a newbie who needs help on this flash. I was about to place order but decided to do a final google on it to reread the reviews. Realize tat pp r mentioning tat nissin 866 does not have auto ttl when using av mode. It doest take the apeture n iso from the body n u got to go to advanced manual to key them urself. Tis is quite surprising but there r quite a few pp saying that.

I'm a bit confused now. Anyone using 866? When i'm using av mode, do i reali need to input manually the aperture n iso into the flash itsrlf since it cant read from body as stated in reviews? How bout other modes like manual mode or tv?

Pls advise, i hav tried asking my friends to help me ask around but not many pp own tat flash. Tks guys!
Maybe you can share the link to site(s) where you read this?
 

Dream Merchant

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 11, 2007
9,659
6
38
#5
Apparently, that appears to be the case, according to the specs.

Av priority: The flash light can be automatically controlled by the photo sensor built-in the flash unit instead of TTL metering. The F. Stop can be set from F1.4~F16. The distance at the F-stop set on the flash and camera is shown in the display.
http://www.nissindigital.com/en/Di866-1.html

It however, does not specifically say that ETTL can be used on AV modes, but I suppose that that's an expectation of a more affordable flash.

Also according to some other forum members

Like you, I have expected Av mode to set the ISO automatically. However, it makes sense that it does not. "Av" mode is really a subset (or variation, perhaps) of "manual". [DM's note: 'Manual' here refers to a 'manual setting' of the flash, and NOT selecting 'Manual Power Output', something entirely different and which some people might get confused with] Setting the ISO is a "dedicated" function. It would be confusing to have to set your aperture manually but not ISO. In addition, both the aperture and ISO settings are in the same sub-menu.
Hopes this helps.

I don't have this model of flash, so I'm only going by the specs. No idea of Manual power settings nor TV settings.
 

Last edited:

daredevil123

Moderator
Staff member
Oct 25, 2005
21,660
68
48
lil red dot
#6
Apparently, that appears to be the case, according to the specs.



http://www.nissindigital.com/en/Di866-1.html

It however, does not specifically say that ETTL can be used on AV modes, but I suppose that that's an expectation of a more affordable flash.

Also according to some other forum members



Hopes this helps.

I don't have this model of flash, so I'm only going by the specs. No idea of Manual power settings nor TV settings.
Wow.. a SB900 killer it ain't. ;)

So it seems it is still pretty lacking when compared Nikon speedlites. Considering the price, SB700 might be a better buy than the Nissin.

I considered this flash. I am very glad I did not buy it in the end.
 

xpression

New Member
Nov 27, 2010
87
0
0
#7
Hi all tks for all the replies. I guess i will giv it a miss. Not sure bout the av mode thingy. Will get a 622 mark 2 instead. Btw as i'm new, i hav a q. Will the 622 mark 2 be able to be used with pocket wizard etc for wireless ttl on cams like 500d for eg? Can it be used for wireless ttl even? Hope u guys can help me with tis. Tks again everyone!
 

daredevil123

Moderator
Staff member
Oct 25, 2005
21,660
68
48
lil red dot
#8
Hi all tks for all the replies. I guess i will giv it a miss. Not sure bout the av mode thingy. Will get a 622 mark 2 instead. Btw as i'm new, i hav a q. Will the 622 mark 2 be able to be used with pocket wizard etc for wireless ttl on cams like 500d for eg? Can it be used for wireless ttl even? Hope u guys can help me with tis. Tks again everyone!
Not sure about Canon, But have been reading some users having some issues with the pocket wizards Nikon version. But nothing specific to the Nissin.
 

kenny888

Senior Member
Oct 24, 2003
804
0
16
Visit site
#9
Hmm i've read about the AV mode thingy and got confused as well. I've nv tried an 866 thoroughly before so i cant really comment. But i think a lot of people are using it and it seems pretty good, but u may wanna try it out first from ur friends who own it, before making any decision. 622 i've tried b4, okie to me though tsk tsk except that the version 1 cant work with most triggers.

Cheers.
 

Top Bottom