Nikon Singapore's exhorbitant charges?


Status
Not open for further replies.

Minimalis

Senior Member
Feb 25, 2002
1,051
0
36
42
Bukit Batok
I called Nikon today to enquire about the cost for programming my F90X to rewind with a little film leader left out. The price quoted to me was $35. I felt that is a little steep for a simple programming process? Is there any other place/way I can do this without going through Nikon?
 

ckiang

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
6,405
0
36
47
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
www.ckphoto.net
Originally posted by Minimalis
I called Nikon today to enquire about the cost for programming my F90X to rewind with a little film leader left out. The price quoted to me was $35. I felt that is a little steep for a simple programming process? Is there any other place/way I can do this without going through Nikon?
That is indeed exhorbitant. It costs the same to do it for an F100, so why not just buy a cheap film picker and save all the trouble? It's not like you need the leader out for every single roll right?

Regards
CK
 

Jed

Senior Member
Jan 19, 2002
3,904
0
0
UK
Visit site
Hmm, that's what it was before. And the whole problem is that no one else can do it so they can charge what they like. Thing is, I didn't know it could be done for the F90x.

BTW, when I had mine done last time around, when it was still Shriro, they said it was free first time, and only after that did they charge.
 

sriram

New Member
Mar 10, 2002
1,253
0
0
Easy. Sell your F90x, get any old Canon EOS body like the EOS-50 ($350-400) or EOS-630 ($250-300) and set up custom function 2 to leave the film leader out :)
 

kraterz

New Member
Mar 10, 2002
204
0
0
Visit site
Originally posted by denizenx
I paid $2xx to have the shutters replaced for an FM2....
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Ogod!!! Thatz more than half the cost of a used FM2.

Look at Canon lens hoods. Some tele hoods cost $50-60 for a stupid piece of plastic. Time to go third party yeah ;p
 

extreme2

Senior Member
Jan 18, 2002
628
0
16
Lion City
extreme2.clubsnap.org
Originally posted by denizenx
I paid $2xx to have the shutters replaced for an FM2....

I paid $240 to have my F-801s shutters replaced and $195 just to get my FM re-sponge clean up. They really know how to suck blood. :devil:

If possible try not to send in. :dunno:
 

zhapchit

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
693
0
16
North-East
Visit site
Question.. when u send in the camera for repair, do they quote u the fee first? :embrass:
 

Ian

Senior Member
Feb 20, 2002
2,532
0
0
59
Perth Australia
Sometimes I wonder what planet people live on ...

Those costs are about 1/2 what we pay in Australia.
 

Jed

Senior Member
Jan 19, 2002
3,904
0
0
UK
Visit site
Not necessarily true. You need to clarify that you want an estimate before proceeding. Usually there will be a small (relatively) fee involved if they quote you the repair price and you decide not to go ahead - after all they have expended tech time to look at the equipment, dismantle it, diagnose it, etc.

Usually you can also say, if it costs less than X, then just go ahead. Otherwise ring me. But specify first whatever.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.