Nikon Remote Controller


Kopred

New Member
Jul 25, 2010
160
0
0
#1
Hi all,
Need some advise. Advance thanks for the info!
Was looking for remote controller for my D90. Came across 2, Wired and Wireless.
But somehow the Wireless controller($18) is cheaper than the Wired controller ($33), which is strange to me.
Perhaps the Wired (MC-DC2) is better than the Wireless (ML-L3)?

MC-DC2: http://www.nikon.com.sg/productitem.php?pid=1287-1c0bd461f3
ML-L3: http://www.nikon.com.sg/productitem.php?pid=1011-5e393cb0a2
 

Last edited:

daredevil123

Moderator
Staff member
Oct 25, 2005
21,662
69
48
lil red dot
#2
Hi all,
Need some advise. Advance thanks for the info!
Was looking for remote controller for my D90. Came across 2, Wired and Wireless.
But somehow the Wireless is cheaper than the Wired controller, which is strange to me.
Perhaps the Wired (MC-DC2) is better than the Wireless (ML-L3)?

MC-DC2: http://www.nikon.com.sg/productitem.php?pid=1287-1c0bd461f3
ML-L3: http://www.nikon.com.sg/productitem.php?pid=1011-5e393cb0a2
Price has nothing to do with good or bad. It is all about cost of materials. The wireless one is really really simple. Imagine your DVD player remote. It is the same, just that it only has one button and one function, compared to the many buttons and functions on the DVD remote.

For D90, just get the wireless one.

If you really want a wired remote control, buy a china brand one for cheap. Works the same.
 

Kopred

New Member
Jul 25, 2010
160
0
0
#3
Price has nothing to do with good or bad. It is all about cost of materials. The wireless one is really really simple. Imagine your DVD player remote. It is the same, just that it only has one button and one function, compared to the many buttons and functions on the DVD remote.

For D90, just get the wireless one.

If you really want a wired remote control, buy a china brand one for cheap. Works the same.
Morning Daredevil123. Just posted and you replied almost instantly. :D

I've have actually did some research on it.
Understand that for the wireless controller, you need to shoot infront of the camera, is that correct?

That mean not necessary to buy Nikon remote controller, use any type also can? ;p
 

Last edited:

madmartian

Senior Member
May 2, 2009
20,218
11
0
Outer Space
#4
Hi all,
Need some advise. Advance thanks for the info!
Was looking for remote controller for my D90. Came across 2, Wired and Wireless.
But somehow the Wireless controller($18) is cheaper than the Wired controller ($33), which is strange to me.
Perhaps the Wired (MC-DC2) is better than the Wireless (ML-L3)?
I use the ML-L3. Only set back is the 15 mins timer. I'll be getting a wired one soon
Or you can try here . They have a dual remote, wireless/wired in one ;)
 

ZerocoolAstra

Senior Member
Mar 13, 2008
9,522
0
0
rainy Singapore
#5
.
.
.
.
Understand that for the wireless controller, you need to shoot infront of the camera, is that correct?

That mean not necessary to buy Nikon remote controller, use any type also can? ;p
don't quite understand your question.
Yes, for the wireless remote (ML-L3) to work with the D90, you have to first enable the remote function by setting it on the camera, then you have to aim the remote at the camera's sensor (above the 'D90' label) and pressing to activate it.
You can't just use ANY remote controller... (i think that's your question). You have to use one that can trigger the camera with the appropriate signals. I guess there are 3rd party options, but the ML-L3 is so cheap, why bother? :)
 

Numnumball

Senior Member
Mar 6, 2009
13,899
0
0
Central
#6
Hi all,
Need some advise. Advance thanks for the info!
Was looking for remote controller for my D90. Came across 2, Wired and Wireless.
But somehow the Wireless controller($18) is cheaper than the Wired controller ($33), which is strange to me.
Perhaps the Wired (MC-DC2) is better than the Wireless (ML-L3)?

MC-DC2: http://www.nikon.com.sg/productitem.php?pid=1287-1c0bd461f3
ML-L3: http://www.nikon.com.sg/productitem.php?pid=1011-5e393cb0a2
i will get the wired one if i am u.

It provide more accuracy and control and u can use bulb mode at ease.
 

Kopred

New Member
Jul 25, 2010
160
0
0
#7
i will get the wired one if i am u.

It provide more accuracy and control and u can use bulb mode at ease.
:) Was actually seeking opinions from Nikon User, who use remote controller
Which is the best option.. stability & ease of use especially.
 

nice1888

New Member
Nov 9, 2008
246
0
0
Singapore
#9
:) Was actually seeking opinions from Nikon User, who use remote controller
Which is the best option.. stability & ease of use especially.
Daredevil123, madmartian, zerocoolastra & numnumball are all Nikon User.
 

daredevil123

Moderator
Staff member
Oct 25, 2005
21,662
69
48
lil red dot
#10
Morning Daredevil123. Just posted and you replied almost instantly. :D

I've have actually did some research on it.
Understand that for the wireless controller, you need to shoot infront of the camera, is that correct?

That mean not necessary to buy Nikon remote controller, use any type also can? ;p
Below and on top will also work.

In any case, you can get a 3rd party wireless one, should cost you around $8. Then get a 3rd party wired one as well. Should cost you around $15. Get both and you are covered.

Wireless one will be good if you are doing shoots of yourself or group shots with yourself inside. No need to run back and forth. Wired one is a little more accurate but have the hassle of having a wire dangling out.
 

Last edited:

Kopred

New Member
Jul 25, 2010
160
0
0
#11
perhaps you can enlighten us your style of shooting? when did you use the wireless remote most? generally, each type do serve a major practicality purpose.:)
Eh, shooting style?
Sorry i'm a newbie, dun really understand what you mean by shooting style.
But i like natural landscape.. river, sea, mountain. Anything that is natural :cool:
 

Last edited:

madmartian

Senior Member
May 2, 2009
20,218
11
0
Outer Space
#12
:) Was actually seeking opinions from Nikon User, who use remote controller
Which is the best option.. stability & ease of use especially.
If you shoot lots of self portrait, then the wireless one is good coz you are not restrained by the cable. If you shoot lots of lowlight landscape shots for example, the wired ones or wireless remote also can. Only thing is with the wireless remote, if someone who is near you doing the same thing, you guys might be firing off each other cameras..................:bsmilie: And the other thing about the wireless remote is the 15 mins timer
So to have both wired & wireless in one, chk out the link I gave you. They have other remotes that might interest yoo too ;)
 

Last edited:

Kopred

New Member
Jul 25, 2010
160
0
0
#14
If you shoot lots of self portrait, then the wireless one is good coz you are not restrained by the cable. If you shoot lots of lowlight landscape shots for example, the wired ones or wireless remote also can. Only thing is with the wireless remote, if someone who is near you doing the same thing, you guys might be firing off each other cameras..................:bsmilie: And the other thing about the wireless remote is the 15 mins timer
So to have both wired & wireless in one, chk out the link I gave you. They have other remotes that might interest yoo too ;)
Ah yes..
What is this 15mins timers? Mean shoot 1, and wait 15mins then can trigger next shot?
 

Numnumball

Senior Member
Mar 6, 2009
13,899
0
0
Central
#15
:) Was actually seeking opinions from Nikon User, who use remote controller
Which is the best option.. stability & ease of use especially.
The problem with ML-L3 remote is that the sensor to pick up the signal (IR) on the upper right hand side of the body facing u, so u need line of sight for it to work, so its not 100% foolproof. Got it for my D90 for macro work, use it once and sold it, nw using MC-DC2
 

huggable

Senior Member
Nov 2, 2004
3,702
0
0
East side
#16
No, you can trigger as many shots as you want, as long as there is LOS between the ML-L3 and your camera.

There is a timing that the IR receiver on the camera will be switched on. Max is 15mins. After that you have to enable the IR remote timer for another 15mins again.

Ah yes..
What is this 15mins timers? Mean shoot 1, and wait 15mins then can trigger next shot?
 

Kopred

New Member
Jul 25, 2010
160
0
0
#18
No, you can trigger as many shots as you want, as long as there is LOS between the ML-L3 and your camera.

There is a timing that the IR receiver on the camera will be switched on. Max is 15mins. After that you have to enable the IR remote timer for another 15mins again.
Thanks for the clarification.
Tyty.
 

daredevil123

Moderator
Staff member
Oct 25, 2005
21,662
69
48
lil red dot
#19
No, you can trigger as many shots as you want, as long as there is LOS between the ML-L3 and your camera.

There is a timing that the IR receiver on the camera will be switched on. Max is 15mins. After that you have to enable the IR remote timer for another 15mins again.
Actually, isn't that 15mins of inactivity?

Sorry I forgot... been a while since my D90.
 

huggable

Senior Member
Nov 2, 2004
3,702
0
0
East side
#20
It is CSM c5, "Remote on duration", that can be set to 1, 5, 10 or 15mins. So it is a timer.

Mine's set to 1min only, don't usually use the IR remote. Prefer the MC-DC2 anytime.
 

Top Bottom