Nikon D750 with 24-70mm

Status
Not open for further replies.

reedrichard

Sep 10, 2013
Singapore
Hello,
As I am new to photography I would like to ask some question about my D750 with 24-70mm non VR len. I feel like something wrong with the photo I took with 24-70mm. I am not satisfy with every photo i took with 24-70mm len, it always give me normal photo like I took with normal camera, like phone camera. I always shoot with RAW and the colour of raw photo is not good looking. I have 85mm prime len which give really good photo and colour. I would like to ask if something wrong with the len I bought or it just normal as I bought from a friend, second user. Kindly advices if something wrong with the len then I will try to buy other len.

I have put the NEF raw file in my dropbox share as below link.

Landscape NEF
https://www.dropbox.com/s/qomii0h8hhjszbq/_7502860.NEF?dl=0

Portrait NEF
https://www.dropbox.com/s/a1sapqhgzbe3ce3/_7502856.NEF?dl=0

Thanks you so much.

Hi I think you mean "lens" because "len" is not the correct word

I looked at the pictures and I think the main problem is that you are shooting during late evening lighting

If you want to compare then I think you should shoot 2 pictures at the same subject and same time of day

Shoot the 24-70 at 7mm f/4

The 85mm at f/4

then compare side by side if the colors look different

I think it is not a lens problem but maybe the camera is too advanced for the user

Maybe some cropping and post processing might help.

Last edited:
Reactions: reedrichard
Post processing and aligning the second picture would be good. And for landscap try to get a wide angle like a 14mm from samyang? It would definitely look nicer than a 24-70mm. And if you are new to editing, try to shoot in JPG fine instead.

Reedrichard, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with your 24-70 lens, try reading up more on photography, brushing up your skills and taking more photos. It takes time to be really good at photography. Keep at it!