c_jit

Jan 18, 2002
Nikon announces world's first f/2 aperture SLR lens to
feature Vibration Reduction
AF-S VR Nikkor 200mm f/2G IF-ED

and it's not a DX lens !!

So, I guess Nikon is still consider going full frame after all.

details here:

http://www.dpreview.com/news/0405/04052801nikkor200.asp

nikkor200.jpg

Also a new teleconverter for Nikkor SLR photographic lenses
AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II
nikkortc17.jpg

image and news courtesy to dpreview.com

wah... swee...

price oso very swee... 9k SGD. sigh.

kongg said:
wow could this be the ultimate micro lens???I predicted a 105 afs vr.......they come out with a 200 AFS VR G 2.0. hmmmmmmm
at 1.9m focussing distance... a bit hard leh. haha..

I think no need DX lenses for tele lenses......
DX format and other format has problem with MF for wide angle. DX lenses are aimed to solve wide angle problem for non full frame DSLR

It had better be really great, in order to match up to the Canon 200/1.8L which was around US$3450 (~= S$5900).

Jin Ho !! But oredi got the 70-200mmf2.8 liao ... unless strike TOTO .. :bsmilie:

AJ23 !!! BUY BUY BUY

It will replace my 200mm f1.8 Canon lense.. hehe.. it is a great lense for fashin photography..

4.9K pounds.. hmm not that bad.. will be about 3.9K when sold.. then that is about 8.5K here.. hmm.. can manage..

gadrian said:
It will replace my 200mm f1.8 Canon lense.. hehe.. it is a great lense for fashin photography..

4.9K pounds.. hmm not that bad.. will be about 3.9K when sold.. then that is about 8.5K here.. hmm.. can manage..

Did not know you HAVE one! So, when you wanna sell it?

Nikon can build this lens smaller and lighter (as well as cheaper) if it is in DX format due to reduced image size.
See Olympus E-1 (4/3rd) lens system for comparative example.
However, Nikon chose not to do so but rather going full fledged 35x24 image circle.

Hence, my speculation about next generation Nikon DSLR.

Plus that the TC-17E II is also 34x24 image circle instead of DX format.