Nikkor 18-70mm vs 18-200mm

cyberkid

Apr 2, 2005
Talking about 18-70mm(kit lens) and 18-200mm VR:

1. Which 1 is bigger and heavier? (any size comparison pic?)
2. Which 1 takes a better pic at Wide Angle?
3. Which 1 is faster at focusing and zooming?
4. Which 1 has better resell value (2nd hand value)?
5. Which 1 is a better choice for amateur who own D70s? Is it wise to let go 17-70mm and take 18-200mm to start photography life?
6. Which 1 is more valuable for money?
7. Which 1 provides more versatility for lens upgrade in future?
8. And lastly, which 1 is more professional?

Advice pls sifus, thanks! :)

cyberkid said:

5. Which 1 is a better choice for amateur who own D70s? Is it wise to let go 17-70mm and take 18-200mm to start photography life?

You should REALLY do some research first before coming in with a post of so MANY questions.

here is a review site with both the 18-70 and 18-200 lens reviews.

slrgear.com

Hehe, juz answer me in short for every question la, as my question start with "which 1", juz state 18-70 or 18-200.

Need ur opinion only.. :cool:

cyberkid said:

So many questions, my friend :bigeyes:

Let me try help you here :think:

(1) http://www.nikon.com.sg/products.php?categoryid=21
(2) http://forums.clubsnap.org/search.php
(3) http://forums.clubsnap.org/search.php
(4) maybe try http://forums.clubsnap.org/forumdisplay.php?f=20
(5) http://forums.clubsnap.org/search.php
(6) http://forums.clubsnap.org/search.php
(7) http://forums.clubsnap.org/search.php
(8) Probably this: http://www.nikon.com.sg/productitem.php?pid=75-d8aa3b9508 ... this http://www.nikon.com.sg/productitem.php?pid=82-8945b55bdb ... or ... this http://www.nikon.com.sg/productitem.php?pid=88-38b05c950e

Regards:)

So evil...

Lazy to search around laa...
Summore no time mah!
Could somebody really devote his time to help me?
I am seriously considering between the two before buying the D70s!
Thanks in advance

cyberkid said:
Summore no time mah!
Thanks in advance

u are seriously asking for people to flame u... :rolleyes:

lazy? then dun use a camera.
no time? then got time to post such questions?
devote time to help u? can... if u are willing to pay tuition fees, i'm sure a lot of people will help u....

nightwolf75 said:
devote time to help u? can... if u are willing to pay tuition fees, i'm sure a lot of people will help u....

Wooo.. I can give you a very inside view of the glasses to buy and what to buy.... personal tuition... $100/ hr, how's that? Gaurantee to make you buy only what you need and after that never need to buy again. :devil:

Since nobody willing to help, i shall close this thread, thanks all

cyberkid said:

1. 18-200VR http://www.nikon.com.sg/compareproductitems.php?c[]=825-ff2662b928&c[]=95-c26da0b380

2. 18-200, overall sharper at 18mm, corners less aberration

3. about the same, 18-70 faster because shorter zoom range. 18-200 zoom ring a bit heavier because of the longer extension length.

4. In terms of how much money you lose or percentage of the new price?

5. depends on what you want to use it for. 18-200 is a very versatile lens for almost everything.

6. again depends on your definition. if you have spent another $2k on a trip overseas and you just want to bring 1 lens for travelling light, the 18-200 is already worth more than the price.

7. Depends on what you mean by upgrade. With either lens, buying another 17-55 would be considered an upgrade to me. So I guess the answer is it does not really matter in this case.

8. Professional? As long as you make money with it, it automatically become professional. It really depends on you.

cyberkid said:
Walao.. wait lah.. not everyone online all the time one leh! Your thread barely 2 hours old only!! At least wait a day. Some people only get to log in at night.

cyberkid said:
Orrhhh you all die liao, going to kena PM for not posting helpful posts :nono:

cyberkid said:
Summore no time mah!
Thanks in advance
My advice, buy D70s body only, don't get the kit. Then buy the 18-200VR. The 18-70 does not have much resale value only about $250.

lsisaxon said:
My advice, buy D70s body only, don't get the kit. Then buy the 18-200VR. The 18-70 does not have much resale value only about $250.
Problem is thread starter doesn't even know what he wants to shoot... you this kind of advice migt backfire in the long run.

then, I suggest he buys both :cool: