News: Singapore short film snags grand prize at top Tokyo festival

dudezuav

Jun 17, 2018
@ https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/east-asia/spore-short-film-snags-grand-prize-at-top-tokyo-festival :

23795116_284337788754029_8026914996053102683_n.jpg

I'm not very good at saying thanks, but I must pay tribute to the many good men and women who have made this project a reality.

This is my first short film in more than 10 years - the last being "My Blue Heaven" in 2007. And man do I love shorts. They allow me the freedom to do things that are out of my comfort zone and just experiment. I want this to be a showcase piece of many firsts - immersive technologies, 4K HDR, Dolby Atmos 3D Audio & 8K RAW workflow. And I wouldn't have been able to try out all these tech without the people below.

"Benjamin's Last Day At Katong Swimming Complex"(BLD) is not possible without the support first and foremost from the good folks of THECREATIVEROOM. Ric Aw and Pok. Thank you for allowing me to do what I want, and standing behind it. It was a tale that might have been rejected right from the concept stage, but you guys saw it through and helped me deliver it. Heni and team, you guys were the most dedicated and obliging producers and project managers. Kudos. And of course, the filmmakers Gladys, Nicole, & Shuming in the VOID DECK project - this project is also possible only because you guys are onboard!
Lee from Red, you guys were there with 4K RED ONE in my first feature film Blood Ties, and now the 8K Helium in this latest. From the first SG feature film to be printed from 4K RED to 35mm in 2009, to the first SG production to be delivered in 4K HDR + Dolby Atmos. My films wouldn't have looked so good without you.