newbie tulip fotos... need some help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rev

Aug 15, 2004
nothing innovative about the composition or lighting but I feel these flower fotos are able to 'punch my face' compared to my old stuff. appreciate any advise, or links on how to improve. if I wanna do a higher-mag macro, how do I go about doing that?

Shot with d300 & shitty sigma70-300 lens... no lighting equipment, my matte black cabinet & blue suitcase as ghetto backgrounds...

Rev

Aug 15, 2004
hi guys... any comments? or they're just really boring fotos?

proust80

Mar 12, 2008
1 & 2 looks like parachutes, brilliant colours... i like 3,4,5... very zen and still.
May i ask what lens you were using? I'm a newbie too, using nikon D40 with kit lens. Would like to learn to shoot macro closeups.

crocs

Apr 30, 2007
Singapore
1 & 2 looks like parachutes, brilliant colours... i like 3,4,5... very zen and still.
May i ask what lens you were using? I'm a newbie too, using nikon D40 with kit lens. Would like to learn to shoot macro closeups.
sigma70-300 lens as stated :)

Elgaris

Jul 2, 2007
I think for the first 2 top view shots there's too much open space on the left, perhaps you can crop some off. Other than that I think the photos have good clarity and colour saturation, based on these photographs I don't see why you can consider the Sigma lens as 'shitty', it worked well for you didn't it?

Rev

Aug 15, 2004
thanks for the advice & comments guys..

i'm really newbie la, I think this simple composition done before... and the leaves idea sounds good. didnt think of that. I just wonder any other guidelines to share... I think a closeup macro lens would be good when I have the budget...

the sigma lens honestly is not that bad, I just exaggerate since I find its soft at 300mm so in essense, I feel its basically a 70-200mm.

anyway, any lighting techniques to backlight the flower? I used a simple flashlight but that didnt work so well...

emerald

Dec 17, 2007
Bukit Gombak