newbie to SLR

Status
Not open for further replies.

mimeow

Feb 24, 2003
Visit site
Hi!
I am thinking of taking up photography as a hobby but I am not familiar and don't know which option to take.

I have currently my dad's old Canon EOS1000FN and my own canon prima zoom.
Can the old canon EOS still be used, i.e. add-ons? Good enough?

I don't have a very big budget as i am a newbie. Was thinking of getting a DC but on second thought, pic quality will not be good and i can't push the camera to its limit without getting all the digital glitch such as CA problems (budget does not included DSLR).

Hi there, I'm also a newbie. Am also using an old camera. A Nikon F601.
Some ppl say its old, dun have the latest features & such.

But my question to them is: Its still a decent SLR that is able to snap photos & produce pretty acceptable results. Of course hardware & better specifications does help.
I believe its more of a person's creativity & skill is still more important rather than the equipment.
Give a professional an entry level SLR, he should be able to get good results as compared to an average photographer with expensive equipments.

Therefore, I personally believe that ur Canon SLR should be sufficient for a beginner, provided its in good working order.
Either than that, I'm not sure if Canon has compatibility issues with later lenses. That, I cannot advise.

I think the more advanced features like eye control, DOF preview is nice to have, but all these can still be achieved in manual mode if u know the know how.

I think most important is u know how to use the camera well in manual mode & master it, b4 moving on.

Cheers ;)

Originally posted by mimeow
Hi!
I am thinking of taking up photography as a hobby but I am not familiar and don't know which option to take.