Newbie Shot at Zhong Shan Park

Weilun537

Jan 26, 2014
Singapore
Hey guys, I'm really new to photography; only a couple of months old haha. Really hope to get some comments and critiques from you about this photo. I tried learning about Lightroom 5 on Youtube and have given it a try on my photos. This photo was taken at Zhong Shan Park (at Balestier) at night. I was walking back home after work hoping to grab a nice shot of the streets when I came across the park and felt that the light atmosphere was really nice. I just wanted to bring that out in the photo.

I really hope you guys can help me out on the following:
1. How is the composition? (I'm really struggling with this as I don't usually find myself an intuitive person when it comes to creation. I usually try to follow the rules, but in this case, I went with my gut feel and not sure if that turned out alright)
2. Did I overdo it on Lightroom?
3. What else could I do to make it better?

12148193826_9c62f0bd1a_c.jpg

Cheers guys!

BTW, I can take harsh criticisms, so shoot away if necessary :cool:

Welcome.

I'm not familiar with this place so I can't give any constructive comments in terms of visual elements for composition.You can ask yourself what do you want the audience to see in this picture.Do you think the lines,shapes,edges form a pleasing picture? Most people see with their left or logical brain but are not taught
to see with their right brain which is the artistic side.You can learn to "see" in this book: Photography - The art of composition Bert Krages.

http://www.amazon.com/Photography-The-Composition-Bert-Krages/dp/1581154097

I just feel there are too may details and don't know where to focus my eyes on.The book should help you much
and there are excercises to do and train your right brain to see.Psst,psst can find pdf?

Last edited:
i see no subject in the photo. i dont know what i should look at. simply put, there is no composition