Newbie saying HI and needs help.

Enigman

Feb 21, 2010
Hi everyone,

total newbie to photography here so I would really need and appreciate your advice.

I have never own a camera and I intend to get one soon. Besides general use, I like to focus on taking sport, landscape, animals/nature photos. For sport, particularly the sport of Olympic Weightlifting which consists of 2 lifts/events: the Snatch and the Clean & Jerk. Both lifts are executed very quickly and are done with within 2-3 seconds. Please take a look at a video of the snatch if you haven't seen it before.

[youtubehq]D--uhjvj-Fk[/youtubehq]

Thus, the camera needs to able to take multiple quick shots so that the motion can be captured into sequences like this http://www.flickr.com/photos/38313689@N00/, different stages of the lift.

Video recording function will be required as well to record the lifts.

Should I get a DSLR? My budget is about $1k. I browsed the forum and some are saying Pentax k-x?

Your advice is greatly needed!

Last edited:
DSLRs with very fast "rate of fire" are usually the more serious (read: expensive) models.
The cost goes up almost exponentially as the fps rate increases 1 by 1 (ignoring all other differences in specs, hehehehe)

K-x is probably the best "bang for your buck" camera out there.
Do you have any brand preference?
Best is to go down to your friendly camera store (clubsnap has a list... search for it) and try the shooting speed if possible. Get a friend to simulate the action and see if you can capture it.

For videos, I'd rent a handycam. For fast FPS, you could rent a pro-level cam (or 2 or 3). This way you could video while taking the lift at the same time from 2-3 different angles.

For videos, I'd rent a handycam. For fast FPS, you could rent a pro-level cam (or 2 or 3). This way you could video while taking the lift at the same time from 2-3 different angles.