Newbie photo

Status
Not open for further replies.

mongmong

Jan 25, 2004
Dear all senior photographer,
I am a newbie in digital photography so please pardon me for my mediocre skill. I shoot this when on my trip to the nostalgic changi village. Please comment frankly n kindly give me some pointers so i can learn from that. I am using a canon ixus v2. Thank you

Hi MOng Mong

welcome to CS...
there is actually wrong with your photo except that it lacks a subject.

I see some people but there are too small to make an impact in your photo... the one interesting thing might be the bumboat 381... if the boat was moving you could wait for it to come closer and even wave to the uncle piloting the boat. Smile and gesture you would like to take a photo and if he smiles and waves back, you would automatically have a wonderful shot.

the sephia tone you tends to be overly orangy and yellowish... its your preference but I don think it gives any added "punch" to the photo.

keep shooting... its a long journey of self discovery... 8)

Thank you very much for your comments n guidance sebastiansong,will bear that in mind next time. Here another photo i have taken using b/w (not yet process with photoshop). Please feel free to give any comments.

http://www.pbase.com/image/25866088&exif=N

A quick question, what were you trying to capture? :)

From the file name I can see you're trying to capture the taxi stand, but did you realise the right side of the taxi stand signboard has already been framed outside?

For this shot, I think a sepia, or mixture of the taxi stand in colour and the tree/background in b/w would be slightly more outstanding :)

In short, keep shooting :)