Newbie needs advice.


Status
Not open for further replies.

ajR

New Member
Oct 11, 2004
33
0
0
#1
Went around shooting in the neigbourhood in the morning, took a couple of pictures but alot all quite blur while some are still acceptable to me. any tips or tricks to get the pictures sharp? heres some of the shots..

blur ones



slightly not so blur ones



thanks in advance dudes! :D
 

evq

Senior Member
Jul 27, 2004
546
0
0
44
The 13th floor
#2
Shuttle speed should be at least 1/focal length to prevent 'camera shake'.
eg use 1/50sec or faster when using 50mm.
 

ajR

New Member
Oct 11, 2004
33
0
0
#3
okok thanks.

And what really does the aperture does to the picture, dont really under stand this..

just swap from a P&S digicam, didn't do much settings on the previous cam..
 

evq

Senior Member
Jul 27, 2004
546
0
0
44
The 13th floor
#4
ajR said:
okok thanks.

And what really does the aperture does to the picture, dont really under stand this..

just swap from a P&S digicam, didn't do much settings on the previous cam..
1st of all, Welcome to ClubSnap & SLR! ;)
There's a thread regarding this:
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=102177
 

evq

Senior Member
Jul 27, 2004
546
0
0
44
The 13th floor
#6
ajR said:
Haha, thanks dude.
Gawd, bringin my cam out for a walk is real heavy man compared to my old P&S!

Woah, the water "explaination" to aperture sure makes it clear boy.
No problem! I'm also new to SLR. Still learning.
 

Flare

New Member
Jan 24, 2002
1,734
0
0
36
Bukit Batok West Avenue 2
public.fotki.com
#7
The first few pictures are blur due to camera/hand shakes. As stated by evq and solution is also provided by evq. Avoid camera shakes by learning proper camera handling and holding, and if light is really insufficient, use a suitable camera support like a tripod/monopod.

For aperture value other than controlling the exposure, it's also used to control the Depth of Field, which is the region that is in focus. This DOF effect is more profound in DSLR and SLR compared to compacts and prosumer digicams due the the lens used. Maybe you could tell us what camera you are using and we may be better to help. Or better, go find our nice Adam Goi and gang during a SEED session with your camera to learn more. Or even better, join a photoshoot event such as Azure's AG which is organised regularly.

Welcome and Shoot!
 

evq

Senior Member
Jul 27, 2004
546
0
0
44
The 13th floor
#8
Flare said:
The first few pictures are blur due to camera/hand shakes. As stated by evq and solution is also provided by evq. Avoid camera shakes by learning proper camera handling and holding, and if light is really insufficient, use a suitable camera support like a tripod/monopod.

For aperture value other than controlling the exposure, it's also used to control the Depth of Field, which is the region that is in focus. This DOF effect is more profound in DSLR and SLR compared to compacts and prosumer digicams due the the lens used. Maybe you could tell us what camera you are using and we may be better to help. Or better, go find our nice Adam Goi and gang during a SEED session with your camera to learn more. Or even better, join a photoshoot event such as Azure's AG which is organised regularly.

Welcome and Shoot!
Azure's AG? I'm interested, when will be the next?
Thanks!
 

ajR

New Member
Oct 11, 2004
33
0
0
#9
Oh, using a D70 with kit lens at the moment.

hmm, yar i think so..my hands tremble..

haha, sure..will try to meet up with the dudes to gain knowlegde bout stuff.. :D
 

evq

Senior Member
Jul 27, 2004
546
0
0
44
The 13th floor
#10
ajR said:
Oh, using a D70 with kit lens at the moment.

hmm, yar i think so..my hands tremble..

haha, sure..will try to meet up with the dudes to gain knowlegde bout stuff.. :D
Maybe u can join us on 27th Nov. Pls refer to:
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=102353
This is the 1st time we are meeting up, hee.
 

evq

Senior Member
Jul 27, 2004
546
0
0
44
The 13th floor
#12
Flare said:
Think you just missed the last one, see here.

Well, I guess you'll have to pm Azure yourself to check. :D

I'm also new to DSLR. ;p Had been stuck with prosumers since I picked up photography until recently.

Hahha, I also jus found out. Thanks anyway.
 

plinius

New Member
May 22, 2003
669
0
0
44
Singapore
Visit site
#14
for tripod, try to get stable one esp for DSLR which is much heavier than ur P&S, try tripods from Manfrotto, Slik, etc etc.....

do a search in CS on tripod, and you will get all the info u would need........

cheers.........


ajR said:
hmm...was wondering if a tripod like this is sufficent..

http://www.nb-jinhui.com/images/product/sl-1200b.gif

when i mount my cam on it...seems to tilt abit eh...
 

#15
ajR said:
hmm...was wondering if a tripod like this is sufficent..

http://www.nb-jinhui.com/images/product/sl-1200b.gif

hen i mount my cam on it...seems to tilt abit eh...
Hee, isn't that the free tripod with the D70? It may just be sufficient when mounted with a standard lens, but anything heavier, it's stability may be in question.

Maybe you could look at the Manfrotto 190 pro?
 

plinius

New Member
May 22, 2003
669
0
0
44
Singapore
Visit site
#16
yup...190Pro is a good choice...

Best is go down to the Tripod Section at CP (Penisular), the staffs there very frenly (forgot their name liao, Steven?), just tell them what you need and looking for and i'm sure they will give you a good recommendation....

Flare said:
Hee, isn't that the free tripod with the D70? It may just be sufficient when mounted with a standard lens, but anything heavier, it's stability may be in question.

Maybe you could look at the Manfrotto 190 pro?
 

ajR

New Member
Oct 11, 2004
33
0
0
#17
Ok thanks for the advice again.. will pop by to have a look at the tripods.

Whats the price range of the Manfrotto 190 Pro?

Do i have to get a ball/pan head for the tripod? or issit included?
 

plinius

New Member
May 22, 2003
669
0
0
44
Singapore
Visit site
#18
yes, u do need to get a ball/pan head (again, depend on what u need and want) in addition to the tripod.

haha...to make it more fun, you may consider monopod too! haha.....

all info on ball heads, tripod & monopod could be found in CS.....

take your time to do some research before committing..........

enjoy!!!

cheers...........

ajR said:
Ok thanks for the advice again.. will pop by to have a look at the tripods.

Whats the price range of the Manfrotto 190 Pro?

Do i have to get a ball/pan head for the tripod? or issit included?
 

student

Senior Member
Jul 26, 2004
3,078
0
0
#19
Flare said:
The first few pictures are blur due to camera/hand shakes. As stated by evq and solution is also provided by evq. Avoid camera shakes by learning proper camera handling and holding, and if light is really insufficient, use a suitable camera support like a tripod/monopod.
I am not quite sure if the blur images are ALL due to camera/hand shakes.

Picture #2 - I am sure this is due to camera shake. And probably also #3. Look at the TV antennae. There is a double image. This picture is taken in low light (I see window lights) and the shutter speed slow. Causing double images -> blur.

#1 is taken in good light. I do not think this is due to camera shake. I am not familiar with you camera. But I think the focussing is off. Many possibilities. An example (not necessarily THE REASON!) is that the camera may be focussing in a textureless area like between 72 and 159, causing it to fail to focus properly.
 

#20
student said:
I am not quite sure if the blur images are ALL due to camera/hand shakes.

Picture #2 - I am sure this is due to camera shake. And probably also #3. Look at the TV antennae. There is a double image. This picture is taken in low light (I see window lights) and the shutter speed slow. Causing double images -> blur.

#1 is taken in good light. I do not think this is due to camera shake. I am not familiar with you camera. But I think the focussing is off. Many possibilities. An example (not necessarily THE REASON!) is that the camera may be focussing in a textureless area like between 72 and 159, causing it to fail to focus properly.
Hmmm... actually possible, but I thought I saw some 'double imaging' at the bus diagram...
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom