Newbie! I need help. SB-600 underexposure.


Jan 28, 2009
130
0
0
#1
Hey guys, I need help on my new flash. Even when I use flash, it doesnt reflect on my photo. I read the manual and they said

" If the ready-light blinks after shooting, the light might be
insufficient for correct exposure.
When the flash has fired at its maximum output in the TTL auto flash mode and
underexposure possibly occurred, the ready-lights on the SB-600 and in the
camera’s viewfinder blink for approx. 3 seconds. Depending on the camera in
use, the ready-light on the SB-600 or in the camera’s viewfinder lights up.
To compensate, use a wider aperture after setting the camera’s exposure
mode to Aperture-Priority Auto (A) or Manual (M), or move closer to the subject
and reshoot.
Display of the amount of underexposure
The amount of underexposure (0 to –3.0 EV) appears for approx. 3 seconds on
the SB-600’s LCD panel when used with cameras compatible with CLS, digital
SLRs not compatible with CLS and cameras in Group I in the TTL auto flash
mode. The above ready-lights will also blink at the same time."

I dont understand. Can someone kindly explain and help me on this.

Many many thanks!
 

Dream Merchant

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 11, 2007
9,659
6
38
#2
I am not familiar with SB units, but going by what was written ...

Hey guys, I need help on my new flash. Even when I use flash, it doesnt reflect on my photo. I read the manual and they said

" If the ready-light blinks after shooting, the light might be
insufficient for correct exposure.

Not enough light.

When the flash has fired at its maximum output in the TTL auto flash mode and
underexposure possibly occurred, the ready-lights on the SB-600 and in the
camera’s viewfinder blink for approx. 3 seconds.

Flash wack FULL POWER but still not enough light.

Depending on the camera in use, the ready-light on the SB-600 or in the camera’s viewfinder lights up.

For some bodies, an indicator light might light up.

To compensate, use a wider aperture after setting the camera’s exposure
mode to Aperture-Priority Auto (A) or Manual (M), or move closer to the subject
and reshoot.

Exactly that. All those actions will help brighten up the photo.


Display of the amount of underexposure
The amount of underexposure (0 to –3.0 EV) appears for approx. 3 seconds on
the SB-600’s LCD panel when used with cameras compatible with CLS, digital
SLRs not compatible with CLS and cameras in Group I in the TTL auto flash
mode. The above ready-lights will also blink at the same time."

Flash when used with bodies compatible with Nikon's Creative Light System (CLS), will let you know by how much the photo is underexposed.

I dont understand. Can someone kindly explain and help me on this.

Many many thanks!
 

pokiemon

Senior Member
Mar 5, 2005
2,039
0
0
#3
TS - can you help us help you by posting the picture with exif?
 

cichlid

Senior Member
Dec 2, 2006
5,074
4
38
S'pore
#4
One reason the SB600 will underexpose is when the camera body is set to Commander mode but the SB600 is mounted on the camera body.
 

Jan 28, 2009
130
0
0
#6
pokiemon - Sorry I'm out of town now but when I come back I will post. It's just like a normal underexpose picture. Even I put a soft toy in a dark corner and I take with let's say 1/25, 3.5f iso 200 with sb-600, it will still turn on the same photo as the same settings without flash. It is my description.

cichlid - I'm using TTF mode not commander and it is still like that. :cry:

Thanks!
 

pokiemon

Senior Member
Mar 5, 2005
2,039
0
0
#7
TS -
So what you are saying is flash is fired but your picture is still underexposed?

try resetting the flash by holding the two buttons down.

also what mode did you set on the camera body? have you tried using P and compare the results?
 

HVB88

New Member
Dec 9, 2005
1,297
0
0
#8
Happened to have the same experience, but I am using 420ex.
The flash is firing but the photo is still under expose...
After check with canon service center, they said that the main board is spoilt... and the cost is $200.
At the end, I decided to get a 2nd hand flash from BnS.

For your case, maybe you could bring it to Nikon service centre?
 

aspenx

New Member
Aug 10, 2008
1,350
0
0
here
#9
One reason the SB600 will underexpose is when the camera body is set to Commander mode but the SB600 is mounted on the camera body.
I don't get what you mean. Setting commander mode on the body only affects the built-in flash no? I have my built-in flash set to commander mode all the time and don't face the same problem as TS.

pokiemon - Sorry I'm out of town now but when I come back I will post. It's just like a normal underexpose picture. Even I put a soft toy in a dark corner and I take with let's say 1/25, 3.5f iso 200 with sb-600, it will still turn on the same photo as the same settings without flash. It is my description.

cichlid - I'm using TTF mode not commander and it is still like that. :cry:

Thanks!
Maybe you can try charging/replacing the batteries...
For my case, the batteries couldn't keep up after 300+shots in FP sync mode and even after the flash recharges, it couldn't output enough power to expose correctly.

Anyways, you might need to visit NSC if changing the batteries doesn't help.
 

cichlid

Senior Member
Dec 2, 2006
5,074
4
38
S'pore
#10
I don't get what you mean. Setting commander mode on the body only affects the built-in flash no? I have my built-in flash set to commander mode all the time and don't face the same problem as TS.

It did happened to me once. When I switched the camera body back to TTL, the under exposure went away.
 

nadzri

New Member
Apr 17, 2009
21
0
0
#11
Hi TS,

I had almost the same problem with my SB600. Sent to NSCand found out that the flash bulb was spoilt. changed itfor $10 but the service fee was the killer. Regardless everything works well now.

Cheers!
 

Jan 28, 2009
130
0
0
#12
pokiemon

yes

tried resetting and is the same thing.

TTF mode on camera body. yup and it's the same :(

HVB88

yup will be bringing it down to Nikon to check.

aspenx

I will try to change the batteries and if it still doesnt work, I will bring it down to Nikon service centre.

Thanks all !
 

Top Bottom