newbie here! HELP!


Jun 7, 2010
10
0
0
#1
hi, i'm new to these forum and also dslr.
i got a Sony A230 in March and been using it quite frequently.
however, i just found out there are spots in the pictures. I panicked! i dunno what to do now. Should i just clean the sensor, using the blower? or send to shop for them to clean for me (if there's such thing). Also, after cleaning the dslr, there will be no more spots right?

ur advises/help are really much appreciated!
 

egofufu

New Member
Sep 6, 2009
85
0
0
#2
try cleaning yourself first.. use the blower... and a lens pen... u gotta clean the lens front and back.. and if u can.. lift the mirror and clean inside... use blower.. be careful not to scratch.. den do test shot against empty white background.. if still have.. send in for service.. yours still new sure no charge.. but may wait for up to a week before they return to you cleaned..
 

voxies09

New Member
Apr 11, 2010
651
0
0
Singapore
#3
cleaning the sensor is more difficult then the lens..
 

Jun 7, 2010
10
0
0
#4
try cleaning yourself first.. use the blower... and a lens pen... u gotta clean the lens front and back.. and if u can.. lift the mirror and clean inside... use blower.. be careful not to scratch.. den do test shot against empty white background.. if still have.. send in for service.. yours still new sure no charge.. but may wait for up to a week before they return to you cleaned..
Thanks! i hope i can clean it myself and the spots be gone, gotta get the cleaning kit tomorrow.:S
 

voxies09

New Member
Apr 11, 2010
651
0
0
Singapore
#6
not sure, but you can try to clean the lens first.. what Aperture did you notice the spot?

try to use torch to see your lens, got dusk or wat?
 

Numnumball

Senior Member
Mar 6, 2009
13,899
0
0
Central
#7
Dust is inevitable, they will find their way there (to ur sensor) someday, practice good lens changing outfield to minimize exposure to the dusty environment. Can try to use a blower to blow off hose dust specks using the shuttle lock up function (if ur cam have any) lifting the cam up, facing u.. If all else fails, send for sensor cleaning.. Norm it work for me.. HTH :)
 

ovaltinemilo

Senior Member
Sep 12, 2009
2,819
0
0
Sin jia Po lah
#8
spots on photos usually come from dust on sensor...you can clean the sensor by using a blower...mirror up your camera(read your manual) and you will see something rectangular..that's the filter(often said to be a sensor)...just blow repeatedly around..then mirror down...check it's cleaned by shooting white wall/sky at at least f16...look for dust spot on your computer screen...:D
 

Last edited:
Jun 7, 2010
10
0
0
#9
not sure, but you can try to clean the lens first.. what Aperture did you notice the spot?

try to use torch to see your lens, got dusk or wat?
i'm not sure.. as i'm a newbie, i usually use the auto mode to snap the pictures...
 

Jun 7, 2010
10
0
0
#10
Dust is inevitable, they will find their way there (to ur sensor) someday, practice good lens changing outfield to minimize exposure to the dusty environment. Can try to use a blower to blow off hose dust specks using the shuttle lock up function (if ur cam have any) lifting the cam up, facing u.. If all else fails, send for sensor cleaning.. Norm it work for me.. HTH :)
ohhh.. thanks! btw, how much do you pay for the sensor cleaning? any idea?
 

Jun 7, 2010
10
0
0
#11
spots on photos usually come from dust on sensor...you can clean the sensor by using a blower...mirror up your camera(read your manual) and you will see something rectangular..that's the filter(often said to be a sensor)...just blow repeatedly around..then mirror down...check it's cleaned by shooting white wall/sky at at least f16...look for dust spot on your computer screen...:D
Thanks lots! the blower does sounds useful! should have gotten them earlier. will def try it out!
 

Jun 7, 2010
10
0
0
#12
BTW, if i wanna get a filter for my camera, does it have to be the same 'size' as my lens? i'm using the standard 55mm lens. can i use 58mm filter too?
 

ovaltinemilo

Senior Member
Sep 12, 2009
2,819
0
0
Sin jia Po lah
#13
Thanks lots! the blower does sounds useful! should have gotten them earlier. will def try it out!
Buy a good one, don't be conned by getting those tiny blower...they are not powerful enough...

BTW, if i wanna get a filter for my camera, does it have to be the same 'size' as my lens? i'm using the standard 55mm lens. can i use 58mm filter too?
Yes. If not you will have to buy an extra step up ring to attach.:sweat:
 

ovaltinemilo

Senior Member
Sep 12, 2009
2,819
0
0
Sin jia Po lah
#16
Thanks lots! the blower does sounds useful! should have gotten them earlier. will def try it out!
alamak, tiny blower no good? any type you can recommend me? planning to get them tmr! :D
Giottos AA1900. It's a rocket blower. Thnk MS sells at 16.
 

Treetrunk

New Member
Nov 6, 2009
1,545
0
0
#18
MS Colour at AMK. Try the price guide section for the address.:)
 

pokiemon

Senior Member
Mar 5, 2005
2,039
0
0
#20
hi, i'm new to these forum and also dslr.
i got a Sony A230 in March and been using it quite frequently.
however, i just found out there are spots in the pictures. I panicked! i dunno what to do now. Should i just clean the sensor, using the blower? or send to shop for them to clean for me (if there's such thing). Also, after cleaning the dslr, there will be no more spots right?

ur advises/help are really much appreciated!
to test if the spots are coming from your sensor, try this method...

set your shutter speed to 2s. take a shot and shake your camera until the shot is taken. the picture will look all white. if you still see spots, it must be your sensor. if there are no spots, it must be your lens.
 

Top Bottom