PetaPixel New SD Express Memory Card Costs $300, Is Slower Than ‘Old’ SD Cards

RSSNewsFeeder

Apr 9, 2018
The World
www.clubsnap.com
New-SDExpress-Memory-Card-Costs-300-Is-Slower-Than-Old-SD-Cards-800x420.jpg

Ritz Gear is currently offering a brand new SD Express memory card that it promises boasts up to 820 MB/s read and 500 MB/s write speeds for $300. In real-world use cases, it will never come close to these promises and it says so right on the box.

I have been beating this drum now for two years, but it looks as though I need to do it again as more than 1,200 people have reviewed this card on Amazon and graced it with a 4.5-star total score. Unfortunately, this is likely filled with users who have no idea what they have bought and did not ever check to make sure they were getting what they paid for.

Because if they had, they would realize they most certainly did not.

Why SD Express is Not Worth the Money

The SD Association, and those who signed on to the specification, would love consumers to believe that it is the future format that is poised to compete with CFexpress and its many configurations. The main talking point of SD Express is that it is backward compatible with current devices that use an SD card slot.

This is technically true. But only technically.

While yes, this $300 card will fit into a current SD slot on a computer, card reader, or camera and work, it will only work to the UHS-I specification (which caps out at 104 MB/s transfer speeds, mind you) and will come nowhere near the promised speeds emblazoned on the front of the box. As Wes Brewer, the CEO of ProGrade Digital explained back in 2019, this specification is deeply flawed.

“They came out and made a design that was compatible form-factor wise with the SD card, but it only supports one lane of PCIe. So it’s a bit inhibited for the maximum potential that PCIe brings to the industry,” Brewer says. “They really just bolted a single lane of PCIe onto the form factor of an SD card.”