New Pentax user

Anthony Lee

Feb 12, 2009
Shunfu Road, Singapore
Hi Pentaxians,

Decided and ordered my Pentax K5, hopefully to pick it up tomorrow. Will meet up with Frank later when he is free to re-organize my manual lenses and maybe pick up some more from him. Being a complete novice in Pentax DSLR, I need some help on a simple casual zoom, 17-50f2.8 type. Should I go Pentax, Sigma or Tamron? Thanks for your input.

Anthony Lee

Feb 12, 2009
Shunfu Road, Singapore
Welcome to Pentax family :) I'm sure you'd love it here.

Hope to see you again soon ;)
Thanks, will see you as soon as the K5 is in my hands. One question, I have a KPS 1.35x VF magnifier that comes with 3 base plates, for Canon, Nikon and Pentax. Will this fit the current K5?

pinholecam

Staff member
Jul 23, 2007
Anthony, welcome!

Hope you will like the community here.
Your viewfinder should fit. I recall it fits K10D and K20D on the instruction sheet.

Anthony Lee

Feb 12, 2009
Shunfu Road, Singapore
Many thanks for the warm welcome friends. I am not new as I have been crawling in the Pentax threads for at least 1 year.Hope to learn from all of you.

I have budget for one of the 3 FA ltd lenses, which one should I start first? I have been answering such questions on the Canon forum, now I am asking here. I am more interested in ultimate lens IQ as compared to those in its own class that can be used on Pentax DSLR.

felixcat8888

May 8, 2005
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
Many thanks for the warm welcome friends. I am not new as I have been crawling in the Pentax threads for at least 1 year.Hope to learn from all of you.

I have budget for one of the 3 FA ltd lenses, which one should I start first? I have been answering such questions on the Canon forum, now I am asking here. I am more interested in ultimate lens IQ as compared to those in its own class that can be used on Pentax DSLR.
I have both the FA43mm and the FA77mm but there are some here who also have the FA31mm.