New medical problem - how to seek help from SAF medical board?

Andreq

Jul 12, 2007
I was just diagnosed to have a slipped disc that has been causing pain to my lower back.

Does anyone know what's the procedure or who should I see in order to get a medical excuse/downgrade from Army? I cannot attend my ICT or be outfield.

I suppose I need to see the Medical Board with my specialist letter? I went to ns portal but there is no mention on such issues man....

Just wondering... It's been almost 15 years since I last enlisted. They should still have my records bah? I used to have some backaches then but wasn't downgraded. My condition just got worse along the way. :( Not sure if they can refer to my old records.

Appreciate any advice. Thnx!

I was just diagnosed to have a slipped disc that has been causing pain to my lower back.

Does anyone know what's the procedure or who should I see in order to get a medical excuse/downgrade from Army? I cannot attend my ICT or be outfield.

I suppose I need to see the Medical Board with my specialist letter? I went to ns portal but there is no mention on such issues man....

Just wondering... It's been almost 15 years since I last enlisted. They should still have my records bah? I used to have some backaches then but wasn't downgraded. My condition just got worse along the way. :( Not sure if they can refer to my old records.

Hmm, last time I take care of NSmen Medical records. So far they would keep any record of your injuries during ur enlistment. But not when you had some injuries after NS. So basically, u got to report it yourself. Get a specialist letter stating ur back problem and also request to be downgraded or exempted. then call the division you posted during Reservist and request for medical review. Tell them about your problem so they can prioritized it, if not they will delay2 one. Just say u want to be downgraded or best exempted.

When meet MO, just show every document u got la. Must be solid. Or MO ah, sometimes always think of people malingering one. haha. You will recieved one letter either you downgraded. but sometime they dun downgrade u but only give exemption of IPPT, Heavy work etc. Probably u will be in clerical job lor.

Dun forget to check the specialist letter properly. Especially the DATE! last week I also give this advise to my colleague. He did everything but never kena downgraded coz...the bloody letter the specialist indicated a wrong date. Supposed to be 2010...but he stated 2009. Only kena exempted from IPPT only. :bsmilie: . Now he have to go again.

- Call up your Reserve Unit
- Speak with the Chief Clerk
- Explain to the Chief Clerk your issue
- Ask the Chief Clerk what is the next procedure
- DO NOT tell the Clerk Chief you want to downgrade as this will create an impression that you want to keng
- most likely the Chief Clerk will make an appointment on your behalf to see the MO first
- when you go see the MO, also, DO NOT ask for downgrade
- show the specialist letter to the MO (make sure you make a few copies of the letter)
- give the photocopy and keep the original if can
- MO will make an appointment on your behalf to see the Medical Board
- Medical Board ususally comprises of 2 to 3 MOs
- again DO NOT ask for downgrade, let them make the decision first
- if no downgrade or exemption, then you explain to them how it hurts and so on, and ask if the condition worsen, will you be able to claim compensation from SAF :)

Hope that helps

NS portal got a health corner. bk appt to go back see MO.

Give letter. then they will bk appt for u to go board with the panel of specialists. in e meantime MO can give MC or excuse for u.

I just did mine for a knee injury...I only had a MC from my specialist. then next thing i went to do the Op. i fax the letter to them and mail some pictures...annd i got my Downgrade.

ok thnx guys! I hate it when you got a genuine case and they say you try to malinger so also want to know the proper procedures. that helps. :)

I too have a slipped disc. Good news for you is that you submit your x-ray/MRI scan and medical report from a specialist from a government hospital to your chief clerk. They will arrange for a medical review with MO and most likely you should be downgraded to pest C9. However, the bad news is you will not be exempted from ICT entirely. Instead only excused from IPPT.

It happened so long ago that i cannot remember the procedure. But it is not with too much hassle.

a specialist letter should help.

you can call your reserve unit first - the S1 or DyS1 is the person in charge of such matters. if that doesn't work, you can try contacting HRSC. they will be in a good position to advise/help you, since they are the ones handling ns men's injury reports now.

I believe you can call up your respective S1 and they will give you proper advise. Usually, a medical board is needed to assess your condition. Bring whatever specialist document that helps to explain your condition.

I almost had to threaten my MO on his medical career, but fortunately he checked my condition to make sure that I wasn't kenging.

NS portal got a health corner. bk appt to go back see MO.

Give letter. then they will bk appt for u to go board with the panel of specialists. in e meantime MO can give MC or excuse for u.

I just did mine for a knee injury...I only had a MC from my specialist. then next thing i went to do the Op. i fax the letter to them and mail some pictures...annd i got my Downgrade.

Hey thanks iMac. I have booked a medical appt thru the ns portal. But I didn't know we can do "self-referral" on our own, despite having a specialist letter. I thought the unit will want to arrange for us...

Anyway, as advised by others here, I should also inform the chief clerk of my reserve unit regarding my medical condition. Problem is, and... sorry if I ask a silly question, try as I might, I cannot find the direct number to my unit on the ns portal!

I read that I have to call some 1800-number and they will be the middle person to connect me with my unit?

Does anyone know how I can find the direct number? Haven't done this b4... :embrass:

Thnx so much!

hmm...i don't think it's necessary to inform chief clerk. for me, i just book both my unit medical appt and outside medical appt...get the specialist letter and show it to the MO.

Maybe a more specific instruction for you since I recently went through the whole process.

First, confirmed that you indeed have slipped disc. Lower back pain can be due to strain muscles also. If x-ray is unable reveal any abnormal disc spacing, your next best option is go for MRI. Specialist letter these days have little power without hard evidence to support your case.

Once you have your MRI report confirming your slip disc problem, log on to ns.sg. There is a option available for you to book a medical review with your unit MO. Get an appointment and bring along supporting documenting during review with MO. If you case is strong, your MO will be able to downgrade you on the spot. You just have to submit your documents to them and wait for your 'mc' stating you are downgraded to whatever pes level.

The record system will take some time to be updated though. For my case, after a month or so, i receive another letter confirming my downgrade and subsequently i can see in my ns.sg that my new pes status is reflected.

hope this helps.

Hey thanks iMac. I have booked a medical appt thru the ns portal. But I didn't know we can do "self-referral" on our own, despite having a specialist letter. I thought the unit will want to arrange for us...

Anyway, as advised by others here, I should also inform the chief clerk of my reserve unit regarding my medical condition. Problem is, and... sorry if I ask a silly question, try as I might, I cannot find the direct number to my unit on the ns portal!

I read that I have to call some 1800-number and they will be the middle person to connect me with my unit?

Does anyone know how I can find the direct number? Haven't done this b4... :embrass:

Thnx so much!

i can't either. just go for the appt and give them your letter. the guy will do a board review,i mean the MO will arrange. then you will go to MMI(near NUH) for the panel of specialist review. In the mean time the MO can sort of give u ''MC'' to excuse u from IPPT etc.

hope that helps.

PS: when i realise there is a delay fr them notifying me the board review appt. i only emal ns.sg...pretty fast they will reply to u.

Thnx bros baggiolee, gizmore & imac08..

Yes, I've had mri done and confirmed it's slipped disc. The specialist wrote a letter based on the mri findings.

The problem is, i also have ict coming up in 3 weeks' time. the pain/discomfort can be a nuisance sometimes. i guess i need to at least inform my chief clerk so that they can make the necessary arrangments?

I dunno why these days they don't allow us to call our units directly. i think they don't want to accept too many calls from NSmen?

iMac08: may i know who did you email in ns.sg when you realized the board review was slow? Right now, i just set an appointment with the unit medical centre which will be after next week. will see what they say then...

thnx for all the info... it certainly helped me a lot. :)

is just a general email. there is no specific person to direct mail to.

can u get a mc from your specialist? your chief clerk(as mighty as he may be or as screw up as he can be) u need sthg official so that they can excuse u. i know you got the letter...but best to have an MC from him.

Thnx bros baggiolee, gizmore & imac08..

Yes, I've had mri done and confirmed it's slipped disc. The specialist wrote a letter based on the mri findings.

The problem is, i also have ict coming up in 3 weeks' time. the pain/discomfort can be a nuisance sometimes. i guess i need to at least inform my chief clerk so that they can make the necessary arrangments?

I dunno why these days they don't allow us to call our units directly. i think they don't want to accept too many calls from NSmen?

iMac08: may i know who did you email in ns.sg when you realized the board review was slow? Right now, i just set an appointment with the unit medical centre which will be after next week. will see what they say then...

thnx for all the info... it certainly helped me a lot. :)

if that is the case, then i suggest you get ready all your medical documents. go for your ICT, first day ict, report sick. if mo can downgrade you on the spot, then you are in luck.

and depending on if you call pull some strings here and there, you might just be able to out-proc on the same day.

I checked with the ns.sg person. He said they won't release unit's tel number. Oh man...

I just got to wait for the medical review and let the unit MO endorse the letter.

oh forgot to ask... Do you all know on that day, do I have to wear No4 or can go in civi attire?

My specialist did mention he can give me MC if those guys decide to "play punk". He said my condition is not suitable for ict and needs treatment.

Ok thnx guys....

I checked with the ns.sg person. He said they won't release unit's tel number. Oh man...

I just got to wait for the medical review and let the unit MO endorse the letter.

oh forgot to ask... Do you all know on that day, do I have to wear No4 or can go in civi attire?

My specialist did mention he can give me MC if those guys decide to "play punk". He said my condition is not suitable for ict and needs treatment.

Ok thnx guys....

you mean for medical review?

iMac08:

Yah hope so. I think I got a case bah...

Cos you know, anything goes in SAF. Heard lots of stories. I remember last time during BMT, the buay song MO made the recruits do push-ups as a sort of punishement! I can't remember what it was for, but it's crazy. What if someone collapses? I dunno how the MOs these days are like. I did encounter nice ones in the past, but there were a few who behaved or thot they were gods!

Gizmore:

Ya, I was referring to the medical review at the medical center. Not the medical board one. I just made an appt. Not sure if they will refer me for medical board yet.