New lenses!! + Pricing!

hammer_400

Nov 13, 2003
Sg
From DCresource ....

* F3.5, 35mm macro lens; get as close as 15 cm to your subject; captures at 1:1 (life-size); ships next month for $229
* F3.5-6.3, 18 - 180 mm lens; compact 10X zoom range; ships in January for $499
* F2.0, 35 - 100 mm lens; super fast lens has F2.0 max aperture throughout the zoom range; ships next month for $2499
* F2.8, 90 - 250 mm lens; great for sports and nature shooting; ships in November for a whopping $5999

how much do u think we can expect the 35mm macro at ? $400?
the 35-100? $4k?
35mmMacrocrosssection.jpg

35mmMacrocMTF.jpg

hammer_400 said:
From DCresource ....

* F3.5, 35mm macro lens; get as close as 15 cm to your subject; captures at 1:1 (life-size); ships next month for $229
* F3.5-6.3, 18 - 180 mm lens; compact 10X zoom range; ships in January for $499
* F2.0, 35 - 100 mm lens; super fast lens has F2.0 max aperture throughout the zoom range; ships next month for $2499
* F2.8, 90 - 250 mm lens; great for sports and nature shooting; ships in November for a whopping $5999

:eek: i need to control myself....argh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :sweat:

I like the sound of 90-250/2.8 :D
NMSS_2, u buy leh
:bsmilie: :bsmilie:

35mm lens is a cheaper version compare 50mm ED, not that fantastic...normal !!

Sp9914957 said:

from the MTF it looks excellent! it should'nt lose to the 50mm by much if at all wide open...
and for a 1:1 macro it is CHEAP!

Sp9914957 said:

normal? sure or not? i think its going to be another legend for ZD collection. if sharpness is ur cup of tea, juz look at the MTF chart, its really fantastic!! i have no doubts with Oly ZD glass, they r definitely great with distortion & CA control as well. :thumbsup: & mind u, this is a prime lens, if their zooms r already such record breaking, i really dun see this prime lens anywhere short of excellent. most importantly must have good pricig for me to grab.(of cos will be cheaper cos its a F3.5) :devil:

F2.8 would be a better lens...if around $400, i will get it too ...but getting my 11-22 first :)

Sp9914957 said:
F2.8 would be a better lens...if around $400, i will get it too ...but getting my 11-22 first :)

ya! ya! ya! get the 11-22mm first then get the 18-180mm. u r all set to travel the world in 80 days!! :bsmilie: yet another deadly combo from Oly.

BUY LAH!!

now i m very very curious as to how the 10x zoom lens perform compared to the other 10x zooms. how about a comparison with the Canon 35-350mm L?:think: or the Sigma 50-500mm?

nightpiper said:
now i m very very curious as to how the 10x zoom lens perform compared to the other 10x zooms. how about a comparison with the Canon 35-350mm L?:think: or the Sigma 50-500mm?

looks suspiciously like the sigma 18-200.... which may not be that bad as it seems to have won some awards...

44_small.gif

18-180mm_crosssection.jpg

thier mtf charts differ but oly's mtf charts are slightly different...