Need help resizing PDF

wainism

Apr 15, 2004
Beeshan
hi all

any idea how do i resize pdfs? wanna have a small and handy file to send out to my colleagues. they just need the details and wont be printing the document out.

my original file is just a microsoft word doc. it came up to abt 93kb. and for some reason, gmail takes forever to upload it when i want to attach it as a file. any problems?

thanks!

hi all

any idea how do i resize pdfs? wanna have a small and handy file to send out to my colleagues. they just need the details and wont be printing the document out.

my original file is just a microsoft word doc. it came up to abt 93kb. and for some reason, gmail takes forever to upload it when i want to attach it as a file. any problems?

thanks!

93kb is chicken feed size man. heh.. On a daily basis I am attaching4-5mb files with my GMAIL and it goes out pretty quick on a broadband. With a 93kb, it will take less then a minute at the slowest. Sometimes it is not slow as your broadband is slow as per say but connecting to the GMAIL server..there might be a problem so it just hang there for the longest time.

I can't see why you want to make the file anymore smaller in doc or in pdf. It is really small as it is. Using standard font in pdf is already pretty small. It gets abit bigger if you convert the text to curve. You can also convert the page as jpg within the pdf format...and then you lower the compression quality to make it abit more compact and with a lower resolution. (but I suspect you will find it might actually be bigger then your doc or in full font text. Converting a doc into a jpeg is really upping the size.

But to do all this you can not use the free acrobat reader. You will need the PRO version with the distiller feature or you can find other pdf file maker program to make it smaller.

But again....93kb..that is bloody small I see no reason to make it smaller. I think you just have a problem with your GMAIL access that is why it is so slow to get it out of your system.

thanks sammy.

i dunno whats wrong man. i am on SNBB 3Mbps

running ut0r**nt in the background. after speedtest, my download is 2188kbps and upload is 148kbps. but i cant seem to upload the file!

even when i off my ut0r**nt, i still cant upload! :(

any ideas?

Hey DCA!

Its kb lah! dunno what is wrong leh. how to check if i have any prob with my gmail server?!

sibei pek chek!

thanks sammy.

i dunno whats wrong man. i am on SNBB 3Mbps

running ut0r**nt in the background. after speedtest, my download is 2188kbps and upload is 148kbps. but i cant seem to upload the file!

even when i off my ut0r**nt, i still cant upload! :(

any ideas?

There is a slim chance but very unlikely..I notice that some attachment that contain certain text or file extension that is deem spam or possible a virus...some email server actually would reject it. I have not know this to be so with GMAIL but as I say...this is rare with online email client.

What is the file name and extension if you can mention it here? 93 kb is as I say chicken size heheh... I just send 5 artwork ffrom 12mb to 18mb to my KL office's GMAIL account and they all went out without any problem this morning.

Don't you have any other account with like Hotmail or Yahoo or your regular email account to test emailing this same file?

You accessing your GMAIL from Thunderbird or directly from the web?

Okay...I just surf the web abit and it seem GMAIL does have some kind of filter that would actually reject certain file type and size.

Check out this small thread link : http://groups.google.com/group/Gmail-Problem-solving/browse_thread/thread/6a579e2e9db8c626

You might want to ZIP the file then sent. Never have a problem with ZIP file. I also read that some people attaching pdf file and use Thunderbird IMAP and sent out has problem. Not sure if this is related to you.

but i have been sending pdfs without a hitch leh.

dunno what is the damn problem!

i think there really is some problem. cos now even when i just try to send an email out. it also kinda hangs.

it shows Done at the base of my firefox window, but then it doesnt send! :(

hv you tried using other browser to send?

i think there really is some problem. cos now even when i just try to send an email out. it also kinda hangs.

your system problem, off your antivirus, anti watever...

probably u can zip it then send... or your file is actually a virus?

just curious...

your pdf happen to be virus.pdf or viagra.pdf or etc? lol...

Something else to think about...have you put in any special plug-in? Anyone of them could be buggy and causing this?

http://groups.google.com/group/Gmai...ad/28f5c7328725fa6e/67f95b8605703a48?lnk=raot

i have solved the problem. very dumb.

had to clear my cache and use the encrypted gmail. which is the https://gmail.com instead of http

thanks to DCA and Sammy for your advice though! :)