Need advice: TV antenna & TV cable together?


Status
Not open for further replies.

TrailsofLife

Senior Member
Jul 6, 2004
8,884
0
0
Singapore
#1
Hi guys,

Haven't post in CS for awhile, how's everyone?

Need some advice. My home area can receive some indonesian & malaysian channels if I use a external antenna, but the trouble is I have to pull out the TV cable from my TV to plug in the ext. antenna. I scared in the long run, this action will spoil the connection point on my TV.

So I got a combiner switch kinda plug from my neighbourhood store where I can plug both ext. antenna and TV cable in and switch between them without physically plugging in and out from my TV, but the signal weakens alot.

So my question is, how can I plug in both ext. antenna and TV cable into my TV and still get good reception and signals? Is there a better switch out there that amplified signal? If any of you come across something like that or used before some good gadget, please recommend me. I'm alittle too tied up by work to go shopping or hunting for it.

Thanks for your help in advance;):thumbsup:
Max 2.8
 

lsisaxon

Senior Member
Nov 29, 2004
11,941
0
0
#4
Hi guys,

Haven't post in CS for awhile, how's everyone?

Need some advice. My home area can receive some indonesian & malaysian channels if I use a external antenna, but the trouble is I have to pull out the TV cable from my TV to plug in the ext. antenna. I scared in the long run, this action will spoil the connection point on my TV.

So I got a combiner switch kinda plug from my neighbourhood store where I can plug both ext. antenna and TV cable in and switch between them without physically plugging in and out from my TV, but the signal weakens alot.

So my question is, how can I plug in both ext. antenna and TV cable into my TV and still get good reception and signals? Is there a better switch out there that amplified signal? If any of you come across something like that or used before some good gadget, please recommend me. I'm alittle too tied up by work to go shopping or hunting for it.

Thanks for your help in advance;):thumbsup:
Max 2.8
Get an old VCR, plug your antenna into it and use it to tune to your air stations and use the AV outputs to your TV.
 

TrailsofLife

Senior Member
Jul 6, 2004
8,884
0
0
Singapore
#5
Get an old VCR, plug your antenna into it and use it to tune to your air stations and use the AV outputs to your TV.
but like that my TV cable will be useless. The ext antenna doesn't receive local channels well, so the TV cable is still needed. The ext. antenna is more for malaysian and indonesian channels.
 

Del_CtrlnoAlt

Senior Member
Feb 15, 2003
16,268
0
0
Outside the Dry Box.
Visit site
#6
no use? Is it not good? How does the booster look like? How to use it?
mine got 2 channel in, 1 channel out, with a tuner to amplify. its blue in color.

bought for fun, thought can increase power of the starhub signal... cos i see the digital set top when its out was 90+% so i wanna see can hoot 100% anot, then i boost it, totally see nothing...lol
 

TrailsofLife

Senior Member
Jul 6, 2004
8,884
0
0
Singapore
#7
mine got 2 channel in, 1 channel out, with a tuner to amplify. its blue in color.

bought for fun, thought can increase power of the starhub signal... cos i see the digital set top when its out was 90+% so i wanna see can hoot 100% anot, then i boost it, totally see nothing...lol
Hmmm... so can plug TV cable and ext. antenna and plug into TV with a boosted signal? if you don't mind, can shoot a picture and show me? so I can go SL tower to look for it.

Thanks hor:sweatsm:
 

lsisaxon

Senior Member
Nov 29, 2004
11,941
0
0
#10
but like that my TV cable will be useless. The ext antenna doesn't receive local channels well, so the TV cable is still needed. The ext. antenna is more for malaysian and indonesian channels.
Your TV cable goes into your TV and use your TV to tune the local channels. Turn on the VCR only when you want to watch the M'sian, Indon channels.

I am using SCV, so here is how I connect..

Wall SCV box -> Set Top Box
-> TV RF in

External antenna -> DVD Recorder RF in

Set top box AV out -> TV AV in
-> AV switch to RF Transmitter to room TV
-> DVD recorder AV in

DVD Recorder AV out -> AV switch to RF transmitter to room TV
DVD Recorder YUV out -> TV DVD in

If I want to watch local channels, I just select the channel on the TV.
If I want to watch SCV channels, I select the appropriate AV in from the set top box.
If I want to watch channels from external antenna, I select DVD and select channel from DVD.
If I want to record local/SCV channels, I select AV in from set top box using the DVD recorder.
If I want to record from external antenna, I just select the channel from the DVD recorder.
 

TrailsofLife

Senior Member
Jul 6, 2004
8,884
0
0
Singapore
#11
Your TV cable goes into your TV and use your TV to tune the local channels. Turn on the VCR only when you want to watch the M'sian, Indon channels.
Orh....good idea leh. But my tiny tv shelf is full liao...Thanks for your advice, anyway. :thumbsup:
 

Canew

Senior Member
Jul 26, 2005
2,229
0
0
Tampines
hjgoh.spaces.live.com
#13
Your TV cable goes into your TV and use your TV to tune the local channels. Turn on the VCR only when you want to watch the M'sian, Indon channels.
Errrr. I a bit lost with your suggestion Bro. So the TV cable goes to the TV. And the external antenna goes to the VCR, but how does the VCR connect to the TV?

TIA for clarifying. :)
 

TrailsofLife

Senior Member
Jul 6, 2004
8,884
0
0
Singapore
#15
Errrr. I a bit lost with your suggestion Bro. So the TV cable goes to the TV. And the external antenna goes to the VCR, but how does the VCR connect to the TV?

TIA for clarifying. :)
The Audio/AV input on the TV, I think...usually its represented by red, white for audio and yellow for video. correct or not huh?:dunno:
 

Del_CtrlnoAlt

Senior Member
Feb 15, 2003
16,268
0
0
Outside the Dry Box.
Visit site
#16
The Audio/AV input on the TV, I think...usually its represented by red, white for audio and yellow for video. correct or not huh?:dunno:
thats composite...

for higher end vcr, there is s-video.

if dvd-hdd recorder, there is component. alot better than composite and s-video.

but for input of the coaxial... all these seem overkill...:sweat:
 

TrailsofLife

Senior Member
Jul 6, 2004
8,884
0
0
Singapore
#17
Your TV cable goes into your TV and use your TV to tune the local channels. Turn on the VCR only when you want to watch the M'sian, Indon channels.

I am using SCV, so here is how I connect..

Wall SCV box -> Set Top Box
-> TV RF in

External antenna -> DVD Recorder RF in

Set top box AV out -> TV AV in
-> AV switch to RF Transmitter to room TV
-> DVD recorder AV in

DVD Recorder AV out -> AV switch to RF transmitter to room TV
DVD Recorder YUV out -> TV DVD in

If I want to watch local channels, I just select the channel on the TV.
If I want to watch SCV channels, I select the appropriate AV in from the set top box.
If I want to watch channels from external antenna, I select DVD and select channel from DVD.
If I want to record local/SCV channels, I select AV in from set top box using the DVD recorder.
If I want to record from external antenna, I just select the channel from the DVD recorder.
Should have consulted you earlier...I just bought a dvd player liao... cannot buy recorder...wasted...:(
 

Canew

Senior Member
Jul 26, 2005
2,229
0
0
Tampines
hjgoh.spaces.live.com
#18
via composite/svideo/component cable lor...
The Audio/AV input on the TV, I think...usually its represented by red, white for audio and yellow for video. correct or not huh?:dunno:
Ah! Got it! Thanks for the clarifications, DCA & Max. :)
 

TrailsofLife

Senior Member
Jul 6, 2004
8,884
0
0
Singapore
#19
My TV audio & video input still free... Is it possible or is there any kind of convertor that convert the TV cable kinda plug to a video and audio cable?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom