my singnet 1500 dl spd so slow..

newbiegrapher

Jun 18, 2005
westz
elo guys n gals..need to ask u all something..my tis singnet 1500 nowadays the dl spd is quite slow for its "high" standards..when i dl animes, the spd is around 10-20kb/s nia...this has been going on for like 2mths liao. BUT on some occasions in the early mornings, the spd can Shoot up to 200kb/s....I find it weird tats y wanna ask u guys y on earth tis is happening :confused: ..
So should i ring up singnet n ask them wats happening or is there any configuration i can try 1st b4 calling them cause...i duno wat sort of funny questions they gonna ask me :sweat: ...
thanks for the replies in advance :think:

when did you signed up for the 1.5k plan? I was on the 1.5k plan and I upgraded recently to a faster plan (at a lower price I was paying) while under contract.

Singnet keep dropping price one so sometimes the faster plan becomes cheaper than the slower plan signed up a few months back.

newbiegrapher said:
elo guys n gals..need to ask u all something..my tis singnet 1500 nowadays the dl spd is quite slow for its "high" standards..when i dl animes, the spd is around 10-20kb/s nia...this has been going on for like 2mths liao. BUT on some occasions in the early mornings, the spd can Shoot up to 200kb/s....I find it weird tats y wanna ask u guys y on earth tis is happening :confused: ..
So should i ring up singnet n ask them wats happening or is there any configuration i can try 1st b4 calling them cause...i duno wat sort of funny questions they gonna ask me :sweat: ...
thanks for the replies in advance :think:

What tools you use to download can make a different.

Best check up with help desk mine quite alright.

YMMV

wind30 said:
when did you signed up for the 1.5k plan? I was on the 1.5k plan and I upgraded recently to a faster plan (at a lower price I was paying) while under contract.

Singnet keep dropping price one so sometimes the faster plan becomes cheaper than the slower plan signed up a few months back.

ermm i tinking of changing plan mayb when tis contract over la, will b over soon in a couple of mths..tink i signed it up going to 1.5yr ago liao

longkangman said:
What tools you use to download can make a different.

Best check up with help desk mine quite alright.

YMMV

i only use bit tornado for dl animes..i've used this all the way..its juts recently duno y the spd ar... slow till duno like wat..

kilobytes (KB) or kilobits (Kb) per second? 1500 is kilobits per second. if you reach 200kilobytes per second (KB/s), it's more than 1500 Kb/s liao.

But 10-20KB/s is still pretty low. Is it faster for other types of downloads? Bit tornado relied on other users' bandwidth to share files, so the limit could be on other users' too.

mpenza said:
kilobytes (KB) or kilobits (Kb) per second? 1500 is kilobits per second. if you reach 200kilobytes per second (KB/s), it's more than 1500 Kb/s liao.

But 10-20KB/s is still pretty low. Is it faster for other types of downloads? Bit tornado relied on other users' bandwidth to share files, so the limit could be on other users' too.

hmm its listed as kB/s so its in kilobits but tats alot of difference wheareas the rare 200kB/s in the early mornings compared with 10-20kB/s (but usually its around 10kB/s only) as always..all my friends use bit tornado without any problems unlike me with this kind of speed... ;( ..

Change to Starhub lar.......I sign up for the 2000kbps package and last night Starhub upgraded to all 2000kbps users to 4000kbps............:thumbsup::bsmilie:

Just downloaded a few stuffs at 350-450kbps........:sweat:

newbiegrapher said:
hmm its listed as kB/s so its in kilobits but tats alot of difference wheareas the rare 200kB/s in the early mornings compared with 10-20kB/s (but usually its around 10kB/s only) as always..all my friends use bit tornado without any problems unlike me with this kind of speed... ;( ..

Hi newbiegrapher , i do not have that problem ... even trying on a 512kbps singnet, it is downloading at 60kilobytes / sec.

Maybe the site you are surfing is pretty slow ?

newbiegrapher said:

Hi newbiegrapher , i do not have that problem ... even trying on a 512kbps singnet, it is downloading at 60kilobytes / sec. Manage to download a 3.2gb of file with that line yesterday (12 hrs).

Pro Image said:
Change to Starhub lar.......I sign up for the 2000kbps package and last night Starhub upgraded to all 2000kbps users to 4000kbps............:thumbsup::bsmilie:

wah lau..shiok...
but heard got faster speed at cheaper prices later tis yr..so mayb i wait awhile more b4 changing?
i duno if i call singnet helpdesk they will ask me wat m i downloading or not...duno dl of animes consider illegal to them or not heh? :dunno:
how how how?

kitkat said:
Hi newbiegrapher , i do not have that problem ... even trying on a 512kbps singnet, it is downloading at 60kilobytes / sec. Manage to download a 3.2gb of file with that line yesterday (12 hrs).

site? no leh, i dun surf any site..i just let it dl while i MIA but with this kind of spd, i rather off my pc better to let it rest n watsmore save electricity.. :sweat:

1500kilobits does not mean 1500kb/s...

it's in actual fact 188kb/s

Before whinning. I suggest you check your torrent settings ala firewall. Personally, I wouldnt advise using bit tornado. Go for Azureus or Bitcomet. Also, it depends on the torrent tracker you are downloading from. Anyway, change your plan. Get a faster connection if you want to download.

newbiegrapher said:
wah lau..shiok...
but heard got faster speed at cheaper prices later tis yr..so mayb i wait awhile more b4 changing?
i duno if i call singnet helpdesk they will ask me wat m i downloading or not...duno dl of animes consider illegal to them or not heh? :dunno:
how how how?

Maybe you may ask Singnet helpdesk to help you to download ? They may have faster access themselves :bsmilie:

Using maxonline at home, it is pretty slow at times. ;( I feel all the ISP in singapore are about the same , having used Singnet BB and maxonline and magix

newbiegrapher said:
site? no leh, i dun surf any site..i just let it dl while i MIA but with this kind of spd, i rather off my pc better to let it rest n watsmore save electricity.. :sweat:

Most likely it is your client. Change another client or download from another site.

Klose said:

small b is for bits while capital B is for bytes. Singtel 1500 plan is for 1500kbps (kilobits per second).

yeah thats right. 1 bytes is equal to 8 bits. so if your plan says 1500 kbps .....dividing by 8 gives you 188 kilobytes per second.

But most should not expect download speed at 188, the bottleneck may not be your local broadband link but at the sending stations or internet providers.

Klose said:

Before whinning. I suggest you check your torrent settings ala firewall. Personally, I wouldnt advise using bit tornado. Go for Azureus or Bitcomet. Also, it depends on the torrent tracker you are downloading from. Anyway, change your plan. Get a faster connection if you want to download.

oh yes thanks for the replies so far..

kitkat said:
Maybe you may ask Singnet helpdesk to help you to download ? They may have faster access themselves :bsmilie:

Using maxonline at home, it is pretty slow at times. ;( I feel all the ISP in singapore are about the same , having used Singnet BB and maxonline and magix

heh if only singnet is generous enough to even lower down the price plan lo..haha then i confirm change liaoz

Klose said:

im not whinning but i tahan tis for 2mth+ liao so no choice :sweat: .. ok regarding bitcomet, b4 i use the singnet1500 plan, i was using singnet256kb..no problems with using bitcomet, very steady n fast speed all the way. But after i changed to 1500plan, they gave me a wireless modem bundled with the plan and i found out i cant dl stuffs using bitcomet anymore, speed stuck at 0 all the way :sweat: ...Another of my friend who uses wireless modem also happened to encounter this problem which i also duno y :sweat: ..

Any advisors/specialists care to help me with this problem(although i've learnt networking but i forgot my stuffs that i've learnt in poly..)?

Pro Image said:

Starhub is pretty good, my average with them is about 650kbps with occasional jumps up to 1300kbps, and on a bad day its around 200kbps

wildstallion said:
Starhub is pretty good, my average with them is about 650kbps with occasional jumps up to 1300kbps, and on a bad day its around 200kbps

woaz although its share bandwidth, but so high ar? power...
mayb i need to change soon too :bsmilie:
but mayb call singnet on mon n c bout it...
dun wanna spoil my wkend calling them :rolleyes:

newbiegrapher said:
woaz although its share bandwidth, but so high ar? power...
mayb i need to change soon too :bsmilie:
but mayb call singnet on mon n c bout it...
dun wanna spoil my wkend calling them :rolleyes:

although it's shared but it really depends on the block that you are living. If you are lucky, the whole block, maybe less than 30 users. So it depends on your luck too. For my side, I think there is not so many people using it and even if it did it's night time.

I was using BB with Pacnet......their support was ok but their offers SUCKS big time. Starhub is definately better than Singnet in terms of technical support.