my comp keeps restarting for no reason ! why ??


Status
Not open for further replies.

glennyong

Senior Member
May 2, 2004
5,587
0
0
Singapore
#1
i juz recently replaced my motherboard and ram to a new one. however after installing the motherboard and ram, the windows keep restarting for no reason !!

may i know what is problem i am facing ? is it the hard-disk is failing or what ?
hope u guys can help me. i cant tahan the every hour restart on my comp~
 

caseytan

Senior Member
Dec 16, 2002
620
0
16
home
#3
format the hard disk, reinstall windows and see if the problem still happens
 

erwinx

Senior Member
Jan 18, 2002
2,423
0
0
Visit site
#4
glennyong said:
i juz recently replaced my motherboard and ram to a new one. however after installing the motherboard and ram, the windows keep restarting for no reason !!

may i know what is problem i am facing ? is it the hard-disk is failing or what ?
hope u guys can help me. i cant tahan the every hour restart on my comp~
http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?topic=30497.0
 

Del_CtrlnoAlt

Senior Member
Feb 15, 2003
16,268
0
0
Outside the Dry Box.
Visit site
#6
just now my system at home also, all the browser hang & such, even bitcomet hang as well... must be the new cable modem connected raw get worm or trojan... but i have NIS liao leh... firewall up as well..
 

Sjourn

Senior Member
Aug 9, 2004
967
0
0
Punggol 21
#7
If you change motherboard, you will need to reinstall your OS for sure.
 

Apr 29, 2005
221
0
16
Singapore
#8
Hi glenn,

Maybe you can provide more information.

What OS are you using?
Is the processor fan running?
Have you tried to swop the ram?

:)
 

simon80

Deregistered
Oct 8, 2004
1,469
0
0
#9
If overheating the system will auto shut down. And wont restart . .

espn said:
Might be overheating.

U must reformat your system when u change your mobo.
Pls ensure u configure your bios.
 

jbma

Senior Member
Dec 28, 2003
3,287
0
0
Tampines
#10
It is always better to reformat your HD when you replace your MB. Do that first and see if this will solve your problem.
 

Nisa

Senior Member
Aug 13, 2004
1,286
0
0
#11
Got virus liao lah!
shouldn't have talk bad behind others' back! :devil:
 

glennyong

Senior Member
May 2, 2004
5,587
0
0
Singapore
#12
i changed my mobo because the previous one was fried by me.. and the best part was that it caught fire and the capacitors were like *aarrgghh.. dunno wahd to say..*

so went to get one new mobo and a new ram, and installed a ram cooler plates. and what i truely believe is that could there be a possiblity of hard disk failure ?

ram-failure is rather impossible coz its a new one leh...

over heating worse, coz its well ventilated, more ventilated den any place in my house, with a 6 sets of fans running at a same time. overheating is ruled out then.

now i am reformatting the comp.. but nt sure if the restart horror will happen again.

and before reformatting, the comp was on to test the restart problem, and before i could do anything a trojan horse came and *tah-dah* all the virus start coming in like crazy...

now i am reformmating it...

thanks all for ur inputs, will update this thread once the reformat is done..

peace... and sigh.. all 20gb of pics gone!! coz cannot back-up, once backup restart again.... sob..
 

glennyong

Senior Member
May 2, 2004
5,587
0
0
Singapore
#13
Nisa said:
Got virus liao lah!
shouldn't have talk bad behind others' back! :devil:
where got... dun anyhow say leh... i where gt talk bad about others ?? :nono:
 

Nisa

Senior Member
Aug 13, 2004
1,286
0
0
#14
isn't there a software to reinstall your jpg files? ;p
 

grantyale

Senior Member
Oct 4, 2004
1,798
0
36
Bedok
#15
Capacitors on fire and restart after changing mother board...
Sounds to me like a Power Supply problem. Ever tried another metal box?
 

icer

New Member
Mar 15, 2004
311
0
0
West
www.icezworld.com
#16
I also think its either over-heating or virus. Had that experience before and it happened after I tried to defragment my PC overnight........

After that, I scanned for virus and then it is back to normal. :)
 

tokrot

New Member
Jun 2, 2003
1,345
0
0
#17
sigh* My graphic card fan also die... :(
 

Drudkh

Senior Member
Mar 2, 2004
6,129
0
0
lulu island
#18
if you use winxp and your new mobo chipset & old mobo chipset is of different series, you need to reinstall winxp.
 

mpenza

Senior Member
Jan 18, 2002
12,938
0
0
Singapore
www.instagram.com
#19
Sjourn said:
If you change motherboard, you will need to reinstall your OS for sure.
actually not really, even though it's the preferred way. I upgraded 2 PCs at home to new motherboards, CPUs and rams and Windows handled the upgrade without much fuss (which was good for me cos I don't have the installation of some programs).
 

ryan84

New Member
Nov 1, 2003
571
0
0
#20
software conflicts.
Format C: the whole HDD is the best choice.
If you think is too "ma fan", uninstall all the drivers from the previously motherboard and install new drivers.
Best is still format...
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom