More ram or faster processor?


Status
Not open for further replies.

adamadam

Senior Member
Feb 9, 2004
3,637
0
0
32
Perth
www.flickr.com
#1
Hi hi hi!
I'm still using my laptop (since January 2004) but it feels slow when using lightroom.
It is a Pentium M 1400MHz, 512mb ram.

It starts to become really really slow when using lightroom, so slow that the whole laptop slows down, takes many minutes to change windows etc. Takes so long for everything

Will adding more RAM help this?
Or must I get a faster processor?
Or is there other factors I need to be concerned about?

Thanks!
 

ricohflex

Senior Member
Feb 24, 2005
3,353
8
38
sing
#2
Check your Registry.
Always buy more ram than you think you need.
 

NoMoney

New Member
Mar 20, 2007
1,199
0
0
Ang Mo Kio
#4
Both play a part on the performance of the laptop.

But I think adding more RAM would help a little.

I had been using my laptop (bought in 2005) for photoshop.

Intel Centrino 1.73 MHz with 2 GB of RAM.

Quite laggy at times but does not take a very long time to load.
 

raptor84

Senior Member
Dec 6, 2005
4,726
1
38
Singapore
www.furry-photos.com
#5
I think getting 1gb or even 2gb of ram would help your system :) Then again your processor also quite slow so maybe a full overhaul might be more cost-effective hehe.. I'm still surviving on a 1.8ghz M750 with 1.5gb of ram.
 

adamadam

Senior Member
Feb 9, 2004
3,637
0
0
32
Perth
www.flickr.com
#6
Thanks for the advice :)
I think upgrading the RAM would be easier than upgrading the processor right? (or getting a new laptop?)
I'm guessing that more RAM for now should be the answer then!
How do I know which RAM to get?
 

ricohflex

Senior Member
Feb 24, 2005
3,353
8
38
sing
#7
Many free or free trial registry fixers on the internet.
You can download.
It does make a big difference.
Don't be surprised if it finds more than 100 problems.
 

adamadam

Senior Member
Feb 9, 2004
3,637
0
0
32
Perth
www.flickr.com
#8
I'll check 'em out :)
Do you have any recommended registry fixers?

I format my laptop maybe 2-3 times a year to clean up the problems and rubbish :D hehe... :D and everytime after it's formatted, feels like a new computer again. I think I may do that again soon.
 

Dec 14, 2003
808
0
0
37
Toa Payoh
Visit site
#9
No matter how much RAM you put, there is a thresehold in every computer. Laptops are not really meant for doing heavy workload. So, putting more rams does help a little but after a while it will still slow down.

One way is to always do a clean format on your OS. What I always do to run faster, I will do a clean wipe on my OS and do a clean install. After updating everything, use a defragment program (not the one that came with windows are it's lousy). You can download a trial version of O & O Defragment software (can purchase it at USD$44.95) and it actually speed up your pc quite significantly.
 

adamadam

Senior Member
Feb 9, 2004
3,637
0
0
32
Perth
www.flickr.com
#10
No matter how much RAM you put, there is a thresehold in every computer. Laptops are not really meant for doing heavy workload. So, putting more rams does help a little but after a while it will still slow down.

One way is to always do a clean format on your OS. What I always do to run faster, I will do a clean wipe on my OS and do a clean install. After updating everything, use a defragment program (not the one that came with windows are it's lousy). You can download a trial version of O & O Defragment software (can purchase it at USD$44.95) and it actually speed up your pc quite significantly.

Thanks for this advice!
I think I will get more ram, as well as another clean format, clean install and defrag!
Thank you
 

Feb 23, 2007
250
0
0
#11
Thanks for this advice!
I think I will get more ram, as well as another clean format, clean install and defrag!
Thank you
Try Tune Up Ulitlities and CCleaner,should help as they clean up your computer
 

dEthANGeL

Senior Member
Jun 20, 2004
1,652
0
36
Siglap
#12
Is your hard drive the old model - 4200RPM?

Try upgrading your hard drive and maxing your RAM. It'll help alot.
 

Bluestrike

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 17, 2002
4,784
0
0
41
There lor~
bluestrike.clubsnap.org
#13
512MB is just nice for normal application esp on a lappie. I would recommand at least 1GB if not 2GB. I'm sure ur lappie using DDR333 class of ram. Also get a faster HDD if you really wan to increase ur lappie perfomance. Its the HDD that the bottleneck, too much swapping going on. Defrag the HDD once in a while help too. Set your Vitual Memory to 1 fixed size ie : 1024 to 1024MB. Do not let the OS decide how much it need.

Hope all these helps.
 

tao

Senior Member
Jan 7, 2005
3,767
1
38
Beach Road
#15
RAW processing using any software is taxing on BOTH the processor and memory.

As such, an upgrade to any of the recent Core 2 Duo models, even a low end 1.6Ghz model will make a lot of difference in processing speed.

As for RAM, most recent laptops already comes with 1GB and as long as you are running Windows XP (avoid Vista as it is a resource hog) 1GB is good enough for RAW processing even though 2GB will make things fly.
 

Dec 14, 2003
808
0
0
37
Toa Payoh
Visit site
#16
RAW processing using any software is taxing on BOTH the processor and memory.

As such, an upgrade to any of the recent Core 2 Duo models, even a low end 1.6Ghz model will make a lot of difference in processing speed.

As for RAM, most recent laptops already comes with 1GB and as long as you are running Windows XP (avoid Vista as it is a resource hog) 1GB is good enough for RAW processing even though 2GB will make things fly.
4GB will really make things fly but depends on the processor too.
 

satay16

Senior Member
Jan 14, 2006
3,067
0
0
#19
overclock your processor. laptops can be overclock slightly only cos of its not-so-good heat dissipating performance.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom