More questions on the D30....

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

camera1001

I'm a film SLR user so would appreciate any input on the D30. Thanks!

1. When comments and reviews say the D30 has slow AF, exactly how slow are we talking about compared to film SLR (eg EOS 30 + 28-135mm lens)? You mean it tends to hunt for say 1 sec before focus is achieved?

2. When viewed thru the viewfinder, is the view similar to film SLRs (again EOS 30 as an eg) or is it a digital image of the subject that I'm looking at?

3. Since the image is digital, does it make a lot of difference whether you're using a "consumer" or L lens? It does in films, eg, we'll notice less resolution or sharpness, especially in large enlargements.

4. Is there a shutter time lag? Read from dpreview that the D60 is a bit faster.

Appreciate your views and advice very much. :) Been shooting with films (lots used and wasted!) and still hesitant if I should plunge into digital.

Hi, I am a newbie here but would like to share some thoughts with u.

1. Slow AF mostly happens in low light. It's generally okay at daylight. If you shoot indoor sports or low constrast objects, the d30/d60 are more difficult to focus than EOS30. I am using both EOS30 and d60, and I can tell u eos30 is much faster to focus in low light condition and it doesn't use AF assisstant beam to improve AF, which could be quite distractive to your subject.

2. Digital SLR is also SLR so you can see a full size image (normally 95%-100%) recorded on its digital film, ie the CMOS/CCD sensor.

3. Yes, good lenses produce better quality given the same camera body. Some reported an increasing need to use better lenses to cope with high pixel DSLR, like d60.