Monopod

Status
Not open for further replies.

ernie1984

Apr 23, 2006
Hi, a noob here.. may i know whats a monopod used for? gt tripod alerady wat..wat for need monopod..where it has only 1 leg..balance meh?

adamadam

Feb 9, 2004
Perth
www.flickr.com
More compact, portable, easier to carry around.
I think of course it won't be as good as a tripod, but for situations with limited space where you are unable to set up a tripod, and moving around. Or for using with heavy lenses. :)

bahibo

Aug 6, 2006
monopod usually use for long tele, sometimes macro , not for real low light situation, shoot at night still need tripod but monopod easier to move around,fast,reduce some shaking and sometimes help if u use big and heavy lens that u can't hold with ur hand.

Maltese

Mar 21, 2005
Singapore
I swear by monopod and I will rather go without a tripod then a monopod.

A monopod in essense is your third leg...with your the other 2 leg u have a tripod already.

A monopod helps me to achieve a lot of space constraint, muscle aching, temperature soaring, height limiting as well as life threatening conditions.

I use them on convocations, performances where u are not the official photographer and need to confine to a place. How to use a tripod?

Also when u pan, u track or constantly be alert, where u rest your gear?

In very cold temperature where my 1 series metal alloy body freezes, I merely uses the monopod to hold them over my shoulders.

In hot temperature when my hands are sweating, the monopod also helps to stablise the body and lenses.

Also with a monopod u can push your camera up above crowds using your remote shutter release or wired cable to shoot.

And lastly whenever I go out at odd timings or unfamiliar places, my 2.5m monopod not only serves as my walking cane but as a pole for hitting robbers and weird looking foreigners.

Also, u are 10 times more likely to use a monopod than your tripod when weight is concern.

Don't leave home without it.

Witness