Mirror locked up when shutter button is pressed


Status
Not open for further replies.
Mar 26, 2009
241
0
16
#1
Hi,

Anyone facing this problem? have not use the cam for weeks and today wanted to shoot for fun. but after pressing the shutter button, mirror locked up and remain there until I pressed the shutter button again to release the mirror. no image is recorded onto the memory card. what is the cause of this problem? tried on both Auto Focus and Manual Focus lens, same problem.

Thanks.
 

May 4, 2013
485
0
0
singapore
#2
Hi,

Anyone facing this problem? have not use the cam for weeks and today wanted to shoot for fun. but after pressing the shutter button, mirror locked up and remain there until I pressed the shutter button again to release the mirror. no image is recorded onto the memory card. what is the cause of this problem? tried on both Auto Focus and Manual Focus lens, same problem.

Thanks.
Menu is set for sutter release for "lock up mirror for cleaning"?
 

ricohflex

Senior Member
Feb 24, 2005
3,353
8
38
sing
#3
Built-in feature by manufacturer. They hint to you that it is about time you upgraded to the latest camera model made by them.
 

huatman

Senior Member
Nov 27, 2010
2,537
3
38
East
phleephoto.com
#4
What mode u using to shoot? (bulb mode?)
Did u activate the mirror lockup? (for cleaning etc?)
If say memory card not faulty, u may had activated mirror lock up for cleaning?

Or camera know u intend to buy new one & it giving u a reason to do so.?
 

Last edited:

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,515
29
48
Pasir Ris
#5
Anyone facing this problem? have not use the cam for weeks and today wanted to shoot for fun. but after pressing the shutter button, mirror locked up and remain there until I pressed the shutter button again to release the mirror. no image is recorded onto the memory card. what is the cause of this problem? tried on both Auto Focus and Manual Focus lens, same problem.
Have you checked all settings using your camera manual? It could be more successful than fiddling with Auto Focus ...
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#6
Hi,

Anyone facing this problem? have not use the cam for weeks and today wanted to shoot for fun. but after pressing the shutter button, mirror locked up and remain there until I pressed the shutter button again to release the mirror. no image is recorded onto the memory card. what is the cause of this problem? tried on both Auto Focus and Manual Focus lens, same problem.

Thanks.
Are you shooting in Bulb mode? And why on earth do you think this has to d with AF?
 

Mar 26, 2009
241
0
16
#7
Thank you for all your contribution.

Camera is not set at Bulb Mode. Same problem when set at M, AV, TV, P Mode. whether camera accidentally set at mirror lock up for cleaning, this I have to check on it tonight. but I did not fiddle with any function at all.
 

user12343

Senior Member
May 15, 2005
1,032
2
38
#8
Thank you for all your contribution.

Camera is not set at Bulb Mode. Same problem when set at M, AV, TV, P Mode. whether camera accidentally set at mirror lock up for cleaning, this I have to check on it tonight. but I did not fiddle with any function at all.
Read the manual again. Most DSLR have this mirror lockup (MLU) mode to suppress vibrations from mirrorslap which is useful when taking telephoto shots. Check the custom function to confirm MLU is not enabled.
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,515
29
48
Pasir Ris
#9
Camera is not set at Bulb Mode. Same problem when set at M, AV, TV, P Mode. whether camera accidentally set at mirror lock up for cleaning, this I have to check on it tonight. but I did not fiddle with any function at all.
The manual will also have the reference to the 'reset to factory settings' function. This helps to remove all settings you might have done accidentally.
 

Last edited:

giantcanopy

Senior Member
Feb 11, 2007
6,232
2
0
SG
#10
I am assuming you have read the manual and it is not some accidental camera function that was activated.

Was there an error displayed on the lcd?
My 5d2 had similar issues, mirror assembly swings up and freezes when shutter button depressed, turned out to be an expensive motherboard failure.

Ryan
 

May 4, 2013
485
0
0
singapore
#11
I am assuming you have read the manual and it is not some accidental camera function that was activated.

Was there an error displayed on the lcd?
My 5d2 had similar issues, mirror assembly swings up and freezes when shutter button depressed, turned out to be an expensive motherboard failure.

Ryan
TS mentioned mirror release after shutter pressed second time.. definitely sounds like mirror lock up
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#12
TS mentioned mirror release after shutter pressed second time.. definitely sounds like mirror lock up
For mirror lock up function, the first depress of shutter release button, mirror goes up. Second depress of shutter release button, shutter door open, and the mirror will return after shutter door closed.
 

fatigue

Senior Member
Sep 26, 2005
2,924
14
38
49
Blk138 Bedok North Ave3
forums.clubsnap.org
#13
Hi,

Anyone facing this problem? have not use the cam for weeks and today wanted to shoot for fun. but after pressing the shutter button, mirror locked up and remain there until I pressed the shutter button again to release the mirror. no image is recorded onto the memory card. what is the cause of this problem? tried on both Auto Focus and Manual Focus lens, same problem.

Thanks.

TS mentioned mirror release after shutter pressed second time.. definitely sounds like mirror lock up
But at mirror lock up mode, there will be an image stored in memory card

I am assuming you have read the manual and it is not some accidental camera function that was activated.

Was there an error displayed on the lcd?
My 5d2 had similar issues, mirror assembly swings up and freezes when shutter button depressed, turned out to be an expensive motherboard failure.

Ryan
This is also my suspect. Quite similar to D80 err problem
 

aeeruth

New Member
Jan 31, 2013
29
0
0
Singapore
#14
Can you check Custom Function Settings?

On my 650D, function C.Fn-5: mirror lockup:
0: Disable
1: Enable
 

Mar 26, 2009
241
0
16
#15
Thank you for all your contributions to help. Problem finally solved when i removed the battery grip. when i re-attached the battery grip to the body, mirror lock up happens again. without battery grip attached, shutter functioning as per normal.

Once again thank you so much.
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#18
I think most probably that's why I always prefer the originals having peace of mind.

Yes, agree with you.
the original battery grip for D800 is expensive than the rest of the Nikon DSLR, so I rather go without battery grip for the D800 than use a third party one.
 

Mar 26, 2009
241
0
16
#19
Just to clear all.your doubts on 3rd parties grip. It is the original battery grip that causes the problem. Thank you so much.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom