Microsoft XP


Status
Not open for further replies.

reachme2003

Senior Member
Oct 6, 2003
3,735
0
0
#1
what are the differences between XP Professional Edition and XP Home Edition?
inputs appreciated.
 

Feb 3, 2002
1,741
0
0
Singapore
#2
The main difference is that XP Pro comes with IIS5.0 (web server) and XP Home doesn't.
 

reachme2003

Senior Member
Oct 6, 2003
3,735
0
0
#4
yaoxing said:
Windows XP Professional supports Dual-CPU SMP, Home edition does not. :)
what does dual-CPU SMP do? Hyper Threading?
 

yaoxing

Senior Member
Feb 16, 2003
687
0
16
42
Bedok, Singapore
Visit site
#5
Hyper-Threading is single-CPU disguising as dual-CPU and the OS is fooled by it. :blah:

Dual-CPU is really two processors sitting on the motherboard. You can visit www.2cpu.com forum to see what dualie geeks there are. :D
 

sbs99

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 17, 2002
2,024
0
0
#7
dun use pirated versions.....microsoft will hunt u down, block your os and refuse all updates. :p

:nono:
 

jsbn

Senior Member
Jul 24, 2002
2,944
0
0
Planet Eropagnis
#8
sbs99 said:
dun use pirated versions.....microsoft will hunt u down, block your os and refuse all updates. :p

:nono:
Yeah. Nice one for the noobs ;)
 

reachme2003

Senior Member
Oct 6, 2003
3,735
0
0
#9
no intention to get pirated version. comes with Dell's desktop.

thanks for your inputs. one question. what is the price diference between the two?
 

Prismatic

Senior Member
Feb 25, 2003
1,323
0
36
38
In the void.
Visit site
#10
reachme2003 said:
no intention to get pirated version. comes with Dell's desktop.

thanks for your inputs. one question. what is the price diference between the two?
If you are getting it with a Dell desktop, the price difference is meaningless. Cos Dell has the licence to sell OEM versions with the desktop, so the price difference does not reflect the actual price difference for the software on the market.
 

XXX Boy

New Member
Jan 11, 2004
1,159
0
0
43
GEYLAND LOR 15 LO
#11
sbs99 said:
dun use pirated versions.....microsoft will hunt u down, block your os and refuse all updates. :p

:nono:
Did anyone here mention that they want to use pirated versions of OS??? :dunno:
 

Apr 10, 2002
550
0
0
photos.yahoo.com
#12
So having pentium C chipsets and dual rams doesn't automatically mean you can hyperthread? w/o XP PE having all these in place means you're still functioning as per normal? goodness, all these while and I tot I was having hyperthreading function!
 

reachme2003

Senior Member
Oct 6, 2003
3,735
0
0
#13
hoppinghippo said:
So having pentium C chipsets and dual rams doesn't automatically mean you can hyperthread? w/o XP PE having all these in place means you're still functioning as per normal? goodness, all these while and I tot I was having hyperthreading function!
so, XP PE is necessary for HT function?
 

sbs99

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 17, 2002
2,024
0
0
#14
XXX Boy said:
Did anyone here mention that they want to use pirated versions of OS??? :dunno:
Dun stir ish. :nono:
 

sbs99

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 17, 2002
2,024
0
0
#15
reachme2003 said:
no intention to get pirated version. comes with Dell's desktop.

thanks for your inputs. one question. what is the price diference between the two?

no prob. its a one-off mention. By the way do u happen to know anything bout the two mentioned os and their upgrades? Juz wondering if they come with sp3? (2?) :dunno:
 

blurblock

Senior Member
May 30, 2003
3,827
0
0
ytphoto.clubsnap.org
#16
yaoxing said:
Hyper-Threading is single-CPU disguising as dual-CPU and the OS is fooled by it. :blah:

Dual-CPU is really two processors sitting on the motherboard. You can visit www.2cpu.com forum to see what dualie geeks there are. :D

Hyper-Threading is single-CPU disguising as dual-CPU and the OS is fooled by it. ????

Wow ...... I guess I must have been behind time ..... when I was in University, I was only taught it is a technology of simultaneous multithreading, where the code of the program is threaded in parallel mode to achieve maximum performance. However, the program got to be written and compiled on Parallel processing compiler......... etc etc ...... it was possible only on Unix then and not available to Windows until recently.
 

yaoxing

Senior Member
Feb 16, 2003
687
0
16
42
Bedok, Singapore
Visit site
#17
Windows NT Workstation 4.0 (1 to 2 CPUs) was the first Microsoft OS that supports SMP. Windows NT Server 4.0 (1 to 4 CPUs) as well.
Then followed by Windows 2000 Pro (1 to 2 CPUs), W2k Server (1 to 4 CPUs) and Win2k Advanced Server (1 to 8 CPUs).
And then Window XP Pro (1 to 2 CPUs)
Then Windows 2003 Server, etc...

Windows 95 (all releases), 98, 98SE, ME do not support SMP. Having two CPUs in your system does not give you any advantage.

I also read somewhere also that Intel P4 HT works only on Microsoft Windows (correct me if I'm wrong). Try installing Redhat on your HT-enabled PC and see whether it will detect the system as an SMP system. If not, then you should know what it means. :) It seems more like a "software" SMP. Perhaps it takes a Linux geek to come up with a new kernel for that purpose.

Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong. :sweat:
 

tokrot

New Member
Jun 2, 2003
1,345
0
0
#18
reachme2003 said:
what are the differences between XP Professional Edition and XP Home Edition?
inputs appreciated.
as far as i know Pro edition does not require you activate but home edition does.. Any hardware u changed within Home edition OS would prompt you for activiation which requires you to call MS support. You can only change 3 times your hardware configuration. :)
 

yaoxing

Senior Member
Feb 16, 2003
687
0
16
42
Bedok, Singapore
Visit site
#19
tokrot said:
as far as i know Pro edition does not require you activate but home edition does.. Any hardware u changed within Home edition OS would prompt you for activiation which requires you to call MS support. You can only change 3 times your hardware configuration. :)
Windows XP Pro (Retail and OEM version) REQUIRES you to activate, but Windows XP Pro (Corporate version) does not.
 

tokrot

New Member
Jun 2, 2003
1,345
0
0
#20
yaoxing said:
Windows XP Pro (Retail and OEM version) REQUIRES you to activate, but Windows XP Pro (Corporate version) does not.
SORRY! Thanks for the correction... ;)
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom