Method to easily remove colour noise in Photoshop


Status
Not open for further replies.
Oct 16, 2003
984
0
0
Visit site
#1
Hihi. Mebbe you guys have Neat Image/Noise Ninja etc for noise reduction, but if you don't, and PS's noise-removal function doesn't cut it for you, here's a link to help you reduce colour noise.

http://luminous-landscape.com/tutorials/color-gremlins.shtml

Enjoy =) I think it's really nifty, and I could de-noise my ISO 1600 files even after just 20 seconds.

QX
 

deslim27

Senior Member
May 23, 2003
2,614
0
0
SG
Visit site
#2
Timber Wolf, you got any sample? The example the site gave is not so convincing leh.. hahaha..
 

willyfoo

Senior Member
Jan 18, 2002
2,048
0
0
43
North
willyfoo.com
#3
Interesting... have to try it later..
Putting in some keywords to make it easier for me to search
keywords: Colour Gremlims, High ISO Noise, noise removal, median
 

sulhan

Moderator
Staff member
May 11, 2002
4,028
0
36
45
Melbourne, Australia
www.md-sulhan.com
#4
Hiee Pals...

Great tip.....

Tried it out....and it works.
As far as i know there is one digital still camera that may have used this method for noise reduction in high ISO.

Do not overdo the pixel size as you will loose details in fine lines/textures..

The most important thing.....IT WORKS!!!!
Thanks mate!!!

rgds,
sulhan
 

chunger

New Member
Mar 12, 2004
683
0
0
Tampines
#6
Great way to remove noise. I just tried the PS CS2
Filter>Noise>Reduce Noise.. Which also do wonders, but I thnk will try both methods and get back to you guys on this.
 

Agetan

Senior Member
Dec 31, 2004
4,669
15
38
www.tomato.sg
#7
WOW!!! It works!!!

Just do a quick test...

100% crop section:


Going to create that as an Action...

Hart
 

deslim27

Senior Member
May 23, 2003
2,614
0
0
SG
Visit site
#8
Agetan said:
WOW!!! It works!!!

Just do a quick test...

100% crop section:


Going to create that as an Action...

Hart
Hart's one is convincing.. LOL! :thumbsup:
 

melnjes

New Member
Aug 12, 2003
1,198
1
0
#13
Thanks - this is good info! :thumbsup:
 

jOhO

Senior Member
Apr 20, 2003
6,485
0
0
41
Singapore
www.expressivelyjoho.com
#14
yo! this tute gives u DESTRUCTIVE editing results..

hahahah.. willy, i'm surprised u didn't point out. ;p

anyway for those of u who do not want to destroy the state of your editing prior to this step, make a new layer, and while on this layer, hold ALT and click on "merge visible" under the layers drop down arrow. u'll get a new layer of all ur other layers below, and these won't be touched by this colour removal technique. :thumbsup:
 

willyfoo

Senior Member
Jan 18, 2002
2,048
0
0
43
North
willyfoo.com
#15
jOhO said:
yo! this tute gives u DESTRUCTIVE editing results..

hahahah.. willy, i'm surprised u didn't point out. ;p

anyway for those of u who do not want to destroy the state of your editing prior to this step, make a new layer, and while on this layer, hold ALT and click on "merge visible" under the layers drop down arrow. u'll get a new layer of all ur other layers below, and these won't be touched by this colour removal technique. :thumbsup:
I've already incorporated this step into Intelli-Noise from the Intelli-Actions set .. :)
Will be releasing Intelli-Actions 2.1 soon..
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom