Mesmerized

crystal1993

Aug 16, 2010
Japan, Tokyo
68828_1666283381023_1355451962_31758299_6676742_n.jpg

1. in what area is critique to be sought?
Composition and feel.

2. what one hopes to achieve with the piece of work?
Show the little girl's feelings. I saw her staring at the art work for quite awhile as though mesmerized by it.

3. under what circumstance is the picture taken? (physical conditions/emotions)
Handheld. No PP done. At about 8pm+? Quite a lot of people pushing me too. =(

4. what the critique seeker personally thinks of the picture
Can be improved but i lost the chance. The girl ran off a few seconds later when i'm trying to compose the 2nd shot. So this is the ONLY shot i have off her. =(

P/S: I'm still a noob, still learning so yeah. Sorry if the photo is not good. :embrass:

the first impression is that the bear and the white stand it is on, is the main and intending subject with the girl as the secondary subject with somehow some relating elements between them....

For shooting small children, try to shoot from their eye level and not from yours. For me, I will get behind her (if possible) and move down to her level looking up towards the light.

PS. Be sure to ask the parents for permission when you are shooting young children.

The lighted pillar with the bear standing on top, is just too strong and a subject to be included in the frame. It will become the point of interest, irregardless of the name of your title. Not a good picture at all. Better luck next time.

the composition is a bit too cluttered

add that to the top-down point of view, and the perspective distortion that you have introduced by your choice of height to take this photo at.... and the fact that you have one huge big blown highlight that hogs all the attention in the photo - all these add up to one uninteresting photo.

cheers.

Thanks guys for the feedback!

Will try it again when i get the chance. ;p

How could we get her feelings in this picture ?